We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best lodging and service in Merida!”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best lodging and service in Merida!”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a 10 day trip in the Yucatan/Mayan Riviera and we loved our stay at Hotel Julamis. Mel was so kind and helpful. Truly amazing service!! He is very knowledge with the area and mentioned some outstanding activities to go on. He went above and beyond to welcome us and celebrate our special occasion.

The place is very cozy, I'm thinking around 7 rooms total. Mel and his staff provide breakfast every morning, free internet, and have nice patio/pool area for relaxing. And hooks to tie up a hammock! Very close and convenient to downtown Merida. The rates are very very reasonable too. Parking is safe and secure in the area.

The day we left we had a 7 am flight. They even get up early to get you breakfast if you like and make sure your cab is there on time!!!

We can't wait to return to Merida again and stay at Hotel Julamis!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    59
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
447
65
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The best feature of our stay was the personal attention we received from the hotel personnel - Mel and Erid. Every morning Mel would check in with us during breakfast to make sure that we were not about to do anything foolish, such as visiting Chichen Itza during the early afternoon rush. All of our questions regarding things to do and see, transportation, food etc. were patiently answered.

The hotel itself offers several high quality rooms with fridges that get stocked every day with water, soft drinks and beer! It gets no better than that. On top of that, guests can use a PC with an internet connection right in the hotel lobby - that's also definitely not a feature I saw in other hotels.

The location is only a short walk away from the historical and cultural center of Merida and also a short walk away from the Paseo Montejo - a long boulevard lined with restaurants.

Overall, two thumbs way, way up!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THACO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My wife and I reserved 13 nights for our early March stay in the Colonial View Suite at Hotel Julamis. We were attracted to this hotel by its very high Trip Advisor rating, and by the well-designed website accessible at www.hoteljulamis.com. It was also well-priced, and after staying there, we would call it an outstanding bargain, since it is so people-friendly, includes a nice daily breakfast, arranges local tours, and contributes proceeds to worthy charitable organizations. Although called a hotel, it is more like a small, intimate seven room B&B, with breakfast served every morning in a cozy open-air courtyard, where you get to talk to, and compare notes with other residents about their daily activities. Our suite was very spacious and comfortable, and had the heaviest duty safe for valuables (including our computer) that you could possibly imagine! What makes the Hotel Julamis experience so totally enjoyable is the very generous, friendly, and exceptional service provided by Mel, Erid, and their support staff. Mel is very knowledgeable about local activities, events, musical entertainment, and eating establishments. You can even contribute your ratings to his list of local restaurants. Our favorites were: La Chaya Maya (have the fish and seafood cooked in banana leaf dish), Portico del Peregrino (very romantic, with fantastic menu --- order in German for the fun of it!), Restaurante Amaro (with trova singers), and Los Almendros (very near the hotel). An example of Mel’s unparalleled, conscientious service, is that he got up at 3:00am on the day of our departure, to be sure that the airport transportation that he had arranged for us the day before, arrived as he had requested to pick us up! His back-up plan was to drive us in his own car if need be! Hotel Julamis is well-located to be able to walk to almost all the sights one would wish to see in the Merida Centro historic area. One can easily walk northwest to the mansion-lined Paseo de Montejo boulevard area, southwest to the Plaza Grande, directly south to the Mercado, and southeast to Parque Mejorada. We had the good fortune of being in Merida during Carnaval and getting a great view of one of the parades (three hours long) by virtue of being temporarily adopted by a Mexican matriarch who invited us to sit in bleachers that she had reserved for three generations of her family! Such is the kindness and generosity that we experienced throughout our stay in Merida. My wife and I highly recommend Hotel Julamis and hope to stay there again in the future. When you stay there, be sure to tease Mel about how bad his oatmeal cookies taste (they’re actually oatmeal soap squares placed in the bathroom toiletries basket!). Don’t be surprised if he tells you they taste better with milk!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Not much to add after all the positive reviews.
The place is nice, intimate and clean. We arrived late and they had made arrangements, as per our request, at La Chopera, the restaurant around the corner.
Our room had really high ceilings and unique hand painted murals, which I can vividly remember.
The owners and Lidia were very knowledgeable and helpful. Mel’s recommendations were spot-on in every way.
They have been almost to every village, ruin and cave in the Yucatan , take advantage of their non-touristy tips.

I highly recommend Julamis as a home base to explore Merida and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnwalkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Merida and our stay at Hotel Julamis. In the mornings, we were treated to fresh fruit, good bread, eggs, juice and great coffee in a beautiful courtyard. The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. The dipping pool was a very welcome treat in the afternoons. Our "home away from home" was an echanted and tranquil place to rest before our next big day.
The best part of our stay at Hotel Julamais however were our hosts Mel and Eddie. They were extremely helpful in making the best of our one week stay. They helped us plan our daily excursions, and made many great recommendations - Cenotes at Cuzama, Uxmal, Grutas de Loltun, Hacienda Yaxopoil, and Sisal. Mel helped us get a rental car for a couple days on short notice, and he acted as interpreter on many occasions as well.
The two pets in residence were an unexpected treat - Kiko and Felix were good hosts too.
I strongly recommend Hotel Julamis to anyone visiting the beautiful city of Merida.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights at Julamis during Carnaval week in Merida. It was a perfect choice for us. The owners, Mel and Enid, were perfect hosts and made sure that all our needs were met.
Each morning started with a great breakfast ( and the best coffee in Mexico) served in an intimate open air area off the kitchen where you could meet and talk to other guests. Mel was also available to answer questions or give you hints on things to see and do in Merida and area.
Julamis's location is in a quieter area of Merida, yet within walking distance of Centro and many other attractions of this very safe and captivating city. At the end of each busy day of sightseeing it was a very good feeling to know that we were returning to a very tranquil and serene setting with a well stocked room refrigerator of beer, water and sodas to relax and get ready for the next day.
The owners make you feel like family and that they are truly happy you chose to stay in their home..Even the resident beagle, Kiko,( although he basically keeps to himself,) never refuses a pat on the head.
I could go on and on about this place but would only be repeating the many great things already stated by former guests. Suffice it to say that you can't go wrong choosing Julamis as a place to stay in Merida.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

LOVED this place!! the owner was so helpful...breakfast started at 8 but when he found out we had to leave at 7 (both mornings), he offered to make us breakfast at 6:30am. what a delicious breakfast!!! a bowl of freshly cut up fruit, orange juice, coffee/hot chocolate and the most delicious pumpernickle bread!!! YUM!! very quaint and authentic! great bathroom, great a.c. (which you absolutely need in merida!) enjoyed visit immensely!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Property: Hotel Julamis
Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing