We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stilish and comfortable but service could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stilish and comfortable but service could be improved”
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed at la Hacienda at the beginning of February.
The hotel is lovely, very stilish and comfortable (was upgraded to executive room with terrace overlooking the pool).
Staff friendly and sweet but maybe not too in charge of the place. I felt like the hotel is concentrating mainly on its looks rather than on offering personalised and confident service. The hotel would benefit from a warmer atmosphere and a bit more specialised staff (one evening I asked to have a drink at the bar but the only member of staff available was not able to do it). Overall very nice with space for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritzDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    107
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
282
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed at this harming small hotel for four nights. It only has a handful of rooms but that doesn't stop them also having a charming small bar, swimming pool and a good breakfast (especially the huevos Mexicanos). The staff were always friendly and willing to help and the whole experience was of relaxation. For example, we'd foolishly arrived in town without a rental car yet had planned trips to the local ruins. The staff bent over backwards to help us find the last car in town and although it wasn't the best out there it was just what we needed. If ever we find ourselves in Merida again we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed here as part of our 20th anniversary celebration. This was a peaceful and very comfortable hotel. It was remarkable how quiet it was, compared to some of the other downtown hotels in Mérida. The tall walls and location ~4 blocks from the main square combined to cut down the sound of noisy traffic. Even though it only has eight rooms, it feels much bigger because of the way the hotel is laid out. The long corridor with arches, the garden, and pool gave it a spacious feeling. The staff was very accommodating and helpful – providing guidance on restaurants and local events. Henry and Armando were especially professional and friendly – a couple of the best hotel staff we’ve met. We really enjoyed the great coffee and orange juice at breakfast and delicious botanas (appetizers) with drinks in the afternoon.

The only quibble we had was the difficulty getting the manager to send us a written reservation confirmation via e-mail (he eventually did after a couple of e-mails from us). It would’ve been nice if he’d replied to our request for a car rental recommendation, as the company we chose on our own failed to provide us with our reserved car. Despite that, we’d stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is a lovely hotel right in the centre of Merida! The rooms have air con and fans and are really pretty. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the main square. If you're planning to go to Merida try and be there on a Sunday, when there's a massive street party in the main square - amazing experience! Breakfast is not included but is very good quality and good value for money. There's free parking two minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Me and my partner just spent 2 nights at the hotel and loved it! The vibe is very cool but not pretentious. You feel like you are in a boutique hotel with a mexican feel but still very comfortable. The location is excellent as you are just blocks away from el centro and good places to shop and eat - all walking distance.

Best of all, was the service and the room we had overlooking the pool. I think it was the best room of the place! The staff was very attentive and helpful and they spoke enough english that we had all of our needs met easily.

For the cost and the great location service and staff, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexIndio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Let me first admit that we may be a little biased - we were in the NICEST room in the place (upstairs room with large balcony overlooking the pool). And my husband proposed to me on that very balcony amidst candles and champagne. With that in mind - this place was AMAZING. We just loved the design of this place - the colors, the layout, the pool, even the champagne was amazing. The food for breakfast and the treats laid out for New Years Eve were just incredible. We really hope that they open a restaurant - the owners have an amazing eye for design, detail and art. For us, the little hotel was wonderfully appointed in the middle of the city and a welcome oasis from the noise outside. We felt spoiled to find such a wonderful place. And we cannot wait to go back to celebrate an anniversary there!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rld_xplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The hotel Hacienda Merida is probably the best hotel I have ever been to. It is cozy, romantic, charming, colonial and modern at the same time, and I simply loved it! The location was perfect so we could walk around everywhere in the city; the staff was unobtrusive and helpful at all times; the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable; and overall, our experience in this hotel was truly amazing!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Travel_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#12 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Property: Hotel Hacienda Merida
Address: Calle 62, No. 439 Por 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing