We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was our favourite hotel on our trip to Mexico. The building is beautiful and we loved our room that was situated behind the pool - we even had two hammocks at the front! The room was a really good size, including a large robe and bathroom. There was even an English magazine in the room which was a really nice touch. The pool was lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfast and drinks before dinner. There is no restaurant at the hotel but it is close to several excellent restaurants, including Appoala and La Tratta at Santa Lucia Parque. The location is very good and the area very safe. There aren't many rooms at the hotel which is nice. It's also important to note that the staff here were excellent, very helpful and friendly. Its the type of place you just want to go back to, time and time again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    106
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
277
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The outside of this hotel does not do justice to the interior. It is located on a side street near the centre of Merida, so it is easy to walk to the cathedral, etc. The staff were all helpful and efficient and the property clean and well maintained.

Our room was a suite, so plenty of space with a separate dressing area, and a large balcony with chairs and hammocks. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom modern and spacious. The pool was small but welcoming with good sun beds and towels provided. Breakfast was good but not outstanding; it is served in the covered area to the side of the pool and garden. They do not serve any other meals, but I understand that the VIP sister hotel also serves dinner.
Several restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for the suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This property was one of the highlights of our stay in Mexico. The accommodations in this restored hacienda were great. We stayed in the newer room in the rear. This was right next to their garden and next to the pool. In the midst of the city, this was remarkably quiet and had easy access to old buildings and walkable to many places. The proprietors were very knowledgeable, helpful, and gracious. The breakfasts were gourmet and adapted to a special diet. The happy hour was great... a free beer/wine/soda and some great conversation with other guests. The pool was a nice place to take a dip to cool off... but not a lap pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A lovely little hotel 3 blocks from Merida’s main square. The name is not exactly accurate as this was never an hacienda nor does it have the size that comes with the implication of an hacienda. However, its construction style and lay out by the pool create a hacienda like atmosphere. The rooms are ample, well equipped and very clean. The personnel is very friendly and helpful.
Unless your breakfast is included, I’d suggest to take all your meals elsewhere, particularly if you’re interested in authentic Mexican cuisine (i.e. the tortillas are made of flour rather than corn and are bought in a bag in the supermarket rather than hand made). There is a wonderful restaurant just 2 blocks away called La Chaya, where the food, including breakfast, is excellent and authentic.
If you can, stay in Merida over the weekend as some streets are closed off and a nice fiesta ambiente lies in the air.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zoltan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

From welcome to farewell, this boutique hotel meets all the criteria for gaining more stars than it currently holds. It is situated very centrally in Merida, within easy walking distance of the tourist attractions and many restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is simply eight rooms set close to a pool with a loggia and garden which is also where breakfast is served. Two of the rooms overlook the pool and are well worth any premium but the other six overlook a rather dark courtyard. Whilst the rooms are well furnished with excellent bathrooms, some of the cushions and bed coverings could to with replacement. Sleep quality was excellent. Breakfast was very good indeed with freshly cooked a la carte food. There was also a small bar which was opened when you needed it. Sun loungers were provided around the pool. The young staff were excellent, both friendly and efficient. l would not hesitate to recomend this hotel to anybody staying in Merida.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed for 5 days. Very very nice. Located in the older part of the city 5 blocks from the Main Plaza and cathedral. Many good restaurants within easy walk. We two had a large double room with 2 large comfortable beds, large modern bath (no tub), ample closet space, safe, A/C and Mexican TV. Quiet and peaceful setting. Wonderful staff, especially Franco who offered lots of info regarding sights, restaurants, markets, and city tours. Generous breakfasts are offered for an extra $5-8 USD depending on your choice of the Continental, Mexican or American menu. A refreshing pool is available and drinks from the bar are yummy. The very comfortable 4 hour bus trip from Cancun cost $17 USD each one way, dropping you at the main station, about a 10-minute cab ride (50 pesos/$4.10 USD) to the Hacienda. A wonderful choice for your Merida visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

After a few times round the one way system on carnival day we found the car park and entered the calm of the interior courtyard with a small pool and loungers. Our room on the first floor at the back of the hotel was simple and a bit dark but very acceptable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well situated close to the historic centre and we very much enjoyed our two nights there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Property: Hotel Hacienda Merida
Address: Calle 62 No. 439 Por 51 Y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing