We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in Central Merida (boutique hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem in Central Merida (boutique hotel)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is really one of the best (boutique) hotels we ever stayed. A very small but beautifully designed place in a wonderfull setting. Eye for details, extremely relaxing and really very nicel staff.

Setting: This is a beautifully restored building, with a patio and nine (?) rooms. In the patio there is a swimming pool and a covered walkway to the rooms. In this covered part breakfast tables are set and the lobby/bar/lounge part is partly outside but covered and inside. Everything has been styled with utmost eye for detail (let the photos speak for themselve).

Room: We had the room on the groundfloor adjacing the pool, and our own terrace including a hammock. The room was nicely furnished with 19th century stylish objects. Also artwork and other artifacts in the room made it well balanced. The bed was excellent and the bathroom is a piece of art as well, seperate toilet. everything worked perfect. Everything clean.

Staff and restaurant. The staf is extremely nice and "will to please", sometimes the proficiency of english language was a problem. Breakfast (not included) was made to order and with eye for detail, extra fruit, no problem etcetera.

It is also an expensive place to stay, but worth every peso.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenV1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    106
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
277
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, thoughtful in is use of space, decor, services and has sought to create an atmosphere of pampered elegance that makes you forget that the cramped, dirty and bustling streets of central Merida are just outside the door.

This hotel is really two separate establishments. We stayed in the VIP portion in which the rooms are larger and would recommend them at a few dollars more. On either side there is original art, a quiet lovely pool area , an open entry court that is most charming and a hide away library where you can have a sitting environment that is charming and not your room.

The staff are friendly, professional and speak excellent English. Meals are available in your room or at pool side as there is no restaurant in the hotel. We found their food to be the best we had in Merida.

The hotel provides free wifi internet and parking. At only four blocks off the main square the location is a good one though the area is transitional and the walking hindered by narrow sidewalks, heavy traffic and construction sites that spill out into the street.

This is a rare find. A Luxury hotel with great amenities that is a haven for the guest. We have rarely stayed at a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is really a very lovely little hotel, with a small pool, bar and quiet, comfortable rooms. Breakfast is served under a covered walkway, by the poolside. There is no restarant so its quiet at night, but you do have a fair walk to find a nice place to eat.

The staff were all very helpful, and pro-active. For example, we were asked at breakfast what our plans for the day were. On hearing we were going to Uxmal and Kabah the man serving breakfast suggested it would rain later and lent us two umbrellas. He was right - it poured down, and the umbrellas saved our day. Breakfast was freshly cooked, with a good choice. The yogurt and fruit were excellent. It was too cold and wet to use the pool, but I'm sure its usually wvery pleasant. The only downside of this hotel is that its in a dismal street, quite busy with traffic and five blocks from the main square. Not a nice walk.

Room Tip: Just matters whether you want to bother with stairs or not. Its a small hotel so everything is handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

On our trip of Mexico and Guatemala we have stayed in a number of boutique hotels. The Hacienda Merida is by far the best we have stayed. Nothing was a problem for the staff. They did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were immaculate and well lit but without losing the boutique feeling. Excellent breakfasts. 6 * standard. English speaking staff and the owners "on the job" full time. Well located. Clean and quiet pool environment. Congratulations to all concerned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patten, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our 3-night stay in Hotel Hacienda Merida and we were also upgraded to the VIP side. The room is roomy, beatuifully decorated and clean. Since our room has a balcony, we were able to have breakfast there and read the news from our computer every morning. The swimming pool is perfect for me because the water is not too deep. All the staff are very nice and helpful.

I had 3 small issues: (1) the safe is too small (I cannot put my iPad in it) and it had no instructions. We have been traveling in Mexico for 3 months and it seems many hotels dont have instructions. (2) We wish that we could lock the balcony door from the outside because when the wind blows, the door bangs and makes a lot of noise. (3) The lock in our room was not working and as we arrived on Saturday they did not fix it until Monday -- needless to say I was very uncomfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was by far the most elegant hotel we stayed at during our trip in Mexico. A small boutique hotel, it was recently named one of Condé Nast's best new hotels in the world under US$200.

The hotel is owned by French ex-corporate executive Alex Degoute, who travelled the world on business in his former life, but decided to settle in Merida when the opportunity to purchase a couple of derelict colonial houses arose, which now make up Hotel Hacienda Merida.

The hotel is on Calle 62, just a stone's throw from the main square, and has a very unassuming appearance from the street which adds to its charm, as few would anticipate such grandeur on walking through its doors.

The hotel is divided into two - the original building with 8 rooms having a reception area and small bar open to the public, and a second 'VIP' building with 6 larger rooms with no reception or direct access to the general public. It is quieter and more private, and it was in this latter section that we stayed.

It was a long, painstakingly hard process taking Alex's total devotion to bring the houses to their current state, but it has definitely paid off. Dotted with beautiful French antique furniture and paintings, the hotel has discreet indirect lighting, white drapes between the Romanesque columns, polished ochre floors, and crystal-clear, well-sized swimming pools with loungers.

Our room faced one of the swimming pools, and included a private veranda, a large separate closet and luggage storage room, and a very spacious bathroom. The room was huge, with high ceilings and was very elegantly furnished. I have stayed in a few 5-star luxury resorts that didn't have half the sense of style that the Hotel Hacienda Merida has but charge twice as much.

Breakfast is taken in the courtyard by the swimming pool, and includes individual cafetieres of good strong coffee, a generous platter of freshly cut fruit, pastries and a cooked breakfast of bacon, eggs and fried potatoes. It was wholesome and generous, and started us off on a good footing for both our days there.

A gourmand at heart, Alex was very friendly and generous with his time giving us excellent advice on things to do and eat in Merida. Hotel Hacienda Merida was one of the highlights of our trip to Mexico, and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Merida.

For full review and pictures, visit my website on www.thelondonfoodie.co.uk

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelondonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on the VIP side. Fewer, larger rooms, but disconnected from main hotel; you need to exit through front door and walk two doors down to get to hotel bar, which is in main part. In principle you can order a drink from the VIP staff, but on some days the lone staff person was not easy to find. The room decor is on the minimalist and more contemporary side, which we like, but this is not for those who want pure colonial architecture and decor. The location is quite convenient and it's easy to hail a cab on Calle 62. If the hotel management were more attentive to details, this would be a 5.

The good: 1) beautiful lobby on VIP side; on regular side it's also nice, but smaller; 2) nice courtyard with pool (in VIP side, the pool is only shared by 6 rooms); 3) large rooms, some with terrace or balcony; 4) wonderful honey bath products and a henequen body sponge; 5) welcome cocktail (on VIP side, at least); 6) quiet-hotel is an oasis of cool from the noise and heat of the city streets.

Where it misses the mark: 1) all of the staff were friendly and eager, but the first days/nights of our visit staff were not easy to find and were not very knowledgeable (e.g., no one could tell us how to use the safe, and there were no instructions in the room); the last day the staff person was exceptional and easy to find; 2) there were no room instructions or welcome/hotel guide (although we went into another room and did note that they had one)--nor did the staff member who showed us to our room explain anything or give us the internet code, note pool hours, etc. 3) most of the outlets are connected to a master switch. This is fine from a sustainability perspective, but we weren't told and woke up to discover our phones hadn't charged overnight. There are two outlets that can be used for charging things. 4) Otherwise, the hotel seemed indifferent to sustainability issues--new towels everyday even when we rehung, etc.; 5) Although we were told that we could order drinks, breakfast and other meals on the VIP side, it wasn't obvious how to do so, and we never saw a menu even after asking for one (in both Spanish and in English). 6) it's not enough to have friendly staff; they need to be attentive and knowledgeable too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smmphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Property: Hotel Hacienda Merida
Address: Calle 62 No. 439 Por 51 Y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing