We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay was as good as the 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“2nd stay was as good as the 1st”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My husband and I just returned from an 8 night stay at Piedra de Agua and just loved it! We booked this trip based on the wonderful experience we had at this hotel when we attended a wedding in Oct/Nov. Everyone is friendly and bends over backwards to please. For us, any imperfections are negated by everything that is perfect. From picking us up at the airport to obtaining theater tickets and putting them in our room, how can you go wrong? One employee came in very early to take us to the airport when we left and we ordered coffee daily which was delivered to our room within a few minutes for a reasonable price. The rooms are extremely clean and the A/C is more than sufficient. It's a lovely old hotel in the best spot in Merida. We made acquaintances in the neighborhood and took buses to Celestun and Progreso with the help of the staff. Merida is a great place to use as a base of operations for exploring the Yucatan. We will definitely be back and we look forward to staying at the Piedra de Agua again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cottonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    99
    58
    35
    37
See reviews for
72
161
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I was attracted to this hotel by its beauty -- a combination of historic and chic. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The problem, for me, came in the details. The first room they gave me had a bathroom so small I could not turn around in it. I'm a big guy, so that wouldn't work. Then they took me to a room with a larger bathroom, but everything leaked -- air conditioner, lavatory, shower. Hard to sleep with the constant dripping of water on tile floors. The third room was better but had no windows. I've stayed at hundreds of hotels the world over but never one without a window in the room. I took it anyway, because all other rooms were taken. The feeling I got is that the management is just not top notch -- not terrible, but the hotel only has 20 rooms -- shouldn't they know, for example, that everything is leaking profusely in a certain room? Outdoor restaurant and bar very cool, with good food. Inside restaurant for breakfast? Terrible service. I waited at least 10 minutes for a waiter to at least acknowledge my presence, but none did. I left and walked up the street and had a lovely breakfast in the outdoor courtyard of the Casa del Balam Hotel. Highly recommended. All this being said, though, I have to admit the price was right -- 900 pesos a night, taxes included, about $75US. Location can't be beat -- a half-block from the Plaza Grande.

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank eecumings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lquiroz, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for you comment. It is comments like yours that help us impprove ourselves. We are stablished in building that dates back to 1841. During the restauration we tried to do our best to make rooms as comfortable as possible but we are aware that, because of regulations for historical buildings, we cannot make as many changes as we would like to make such as opening extra windows or changing size of some rooms and bathrooms. Thanks to your comment now we have a double maintenance program to make sure that this doesn't happen again. We wan to appologize again and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you againin one of our presidential suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Piedra de Agua is a fantastic choice rather than staying at a large impersonal hotel chain. I've stayed twice in 2010. My spouse and I originally stayed for a week in April whilst searching for a holiday home in Merida. The location was ideal, next to the zocalo and catedral. Being there on Sunday's is great with all of the festivities right at your doorstep. Great restaurants from the larger tourist favourites to the "cocina economicas" serving some of the best authentic food in Merida are all within walking distance of a few minutes. With inclusive valet parking and a welcoming and very friendly staff, we found it to be great value. The rooms are clean and well appointed. They have the benefit of rear garden with large plunge pool. In the evenings, this area turns into a smart outdoor cocktail lounge atmosphere that also serves delicious pizzas from their outdoor pizza oven.
I returned for 2 weeks in October to oversee the renovation of my house nearby. I wanted to return as I knew the service, location and value were, again, exactly what I wanted. I was graciously welcomed back to my "home away from home" by owners Carlos and Lyndia and their attentive staff! The owners are a lovely couple who have been running the hotel for many years, both having worked in the large hotel industry in the past. I do not hesitate to recommend the hotel, and am hosting a large gathering of friends in the New Year, in which in will be using the hotel for the guests that I cannot accommodate in my home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Hello,
We loved this 17th century castle, right in the heart od Merida The Plaza and catherdral. Rooms had aromatherapy products. Service outstanding at front desk. Valet parking free a big plus.
Rooms were updated gorgeous. Outdoor bar & restaurant exquisite! Wood burning stove for gourmet pizzas fatastic! Can't ait to go back!
Susan & Gabriel
November 2010

Helpful?
Thank susangringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

It's definetely not a boutique hotel.
The bathrooms are badly maintained, there's not hotwater in the sink, the faucet was loose. The general decor and function of the bathroom is much worse than a Holiday Inn or any other chain hotel. Very badly lit.
It is very noisy, you can hear the movement of the kitchen until the bar closes.
The illumination of the room is terrible, you can't control the lights from your bed, no reading lamps.
There are no electrical outlets close to de the bed or the table inside the room.
It's a typical mexican downtown hotel that is being advertised as boutique hotel.
The food is ok, edible.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinamiteroloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I went to Merida to decide if we could retire there. We are well aware that we could have gone through a travel agency and although an in person travel agency can provide more certainty with one's travel plans, we decided to use the internet to avoid having to get off our couch. We chose Piedra de Agua Boutique Hotel because of the perfect location, the middle of the road prices ($85-100./night) and the charming online photos. We found other hotels charging as little as $45./night and as much as $250./night. We made our resevations starting with online and then also called the hotel directly to confirm. Now, anyone that travels outside the U.S. should already know that that online reservations are not completely reliable. Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline (etc.) do contribute to overbooking of hotels and you are naive to think that their confirmation numbers are worth the paper they are printed once you get to your destination. They're really best for shopping for hotel's pricing, locations and features. So, during our phone confirmation with Piedra De Agua (with Raul who was very polite and spoke Engish!), we agreed we would email him our request and then he would email us our confirmation with their letterhead. So simple! Then we printed it to bring with us. We also called the week before we left to request a kingsized bed and we were told we could upgrade to the Presidential Suite the 2nd week of our stay once a wedding group had left. Once we arrived in Merida, we took an inexpensive taxi ride to the hotel arriving aound 10PM (10/23/10) and there was Raul waiting for us! We did not have to do anything more than say "Hola! We're Barb and Gus" and we were promptly checked in by very friendly and accomodating staff. We never had to show our printed reservation confirmations since we had done our homework ahead of time by phone and email. We were first shown a double room with 2 queen beds that was close to the back of the hotel, but it had no windows except the one in the entrance door that faced the inner courtyard. Then we were shown a room with a king bed with a balcony over the front street. We took the king room although they warned us that it wouldn't be as quiet as the double in the back. The king room was smaller, not as luxurious the the internet photos, with a tiny 3/4 bathroom but was still quite charming, comfortable with a rustic elegance. The room was very clean with historic 'pasta' floor tiles, dramatic 15' high colonial ceilings, a powerful AC unit that frosted us if we wanted with a remote control, a flat screened TV with remote, a hotel style phone and a double set of solid wood balcony doors that shut out the street noise quite well. There was no real closet but they had a cool little bamboo rod that hung from the high ceiling by sisal ropes in the corner of the room. The king bed was comfortable, romantically shrouded with a mosquito net (that was only for show since there were no mosquitos in our room) and was made up with fresh white hotel grade sheets that were perfectly clean. Each evening a tap on our door and a smiling face brought us a little snack on a china plate. Daily, our room and bathroom were cleaned, the bed was made with fresh sheets and new towels were left in decorative rolls in lined baskets on the freshly cleaned floor. The TV sat on top of a cabinet with a minifiridge inside that had a couple of beers and sodas (yet still had room for our market goods) and was built with 2 ample sized drawers below for our clothing. Two bottles of water with 2 glasses on doilies were kept on both bedsides cabinets that provided more storage space. The downstairs restaurant we used mainly just for breakfast (which was good!). There was also a cool bar lounge and pool area with hammocks to the back of the property.
The staff were amazingly nice, polite and eager to help at every turn. They helped us making (and breaking) restaurant reservations, called taxis or went outside and ran them down, gave solicited advice and directions, and once intervened to get our money back from a tour company when I was sick with a cold. The little guy went to the tour guide office, got the money and brought it back to our room! Amazing! My husband (and sometimes I) joked and teased with them at every turn and they dished it right back making the hotel feel like home.
What we most liked:
The staff and their eagerness to please without pestering us, the cleaniness, the peace and quiet, the center of town location, hearty AC units, wifi that worked 90% of the time, extra pillows (requested), the charm of a very old and elegant colonial building with marble staircases, our 3rd story balcony right over Calle 60 where we could watch the parades and world go by (and double check the weather), and the upgrade to the presidential suite with the rapid repair of the Presidential suite AC unit (in a matter of just hours!).
What we disliked:
Inadequate natural light in the rooms when the balcony doors were closed.The solid wood balcony doors could have glass windows in them so the guests can see outside and light can come in without letting in the heat and humidity on hot days and the noise and dust during traffic hours.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Our good experience at Piedra de Agua Boutique Hotel is part of the reason we have decided to buy a home in Merida to reitre in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbandGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Piedra de Agua and cannot say enough about the attentive and gracious service we received the entire time. The staff is friendly and anxious to please. The hotel is located in the best location in Merida and has been beautifully restored. The pool area and outdoor bar area are beautiful and a great place to relax. Our room and bath were small but comfortable and immaculate, with a balcony facing the street - double doors kept the noise out and the air conditioning was more than adequate. Merida is hot and the buildings are old so many of the hotels don't air condition their common areas. We did not find this or the lack of an elevator to be a problem -- in fact, we booked another stay for January before we left. The reason for our trip was a wedding that was held at the hotel. They did an absolutely wonderful job and the outdoor pool and bar area was perfect for a small wedding. If you want to stay in a charming hotel with local flavor, I highly recommend the Piedra de Agua.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#43 of 103 in Merida
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique

Property: Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 60 # 498 61 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only boutique hotel in Merida's downtown. We have 20 suites with king size beds, queen size beds or twin beds. We offer all the boutique hotel services such as free parking, free WIFI in all the rooms, fitness center, restaurant and bar open from 7 am to 2 am, lounge and pool area, laundry service, tours and transportation service to all touristic attraction in the state. Besides we have a romantic underground wine cellar where we offer romantic gourmet dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing