We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building - not a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful building - not a great hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

As we decided at the last minute to stay in Merida 3 rather than 2 nights therefore extended the booking we stayed in a queen and also a king room.

The beautiful building sold the hotel to me, and from reviews I was expecting it to be quite basic, however for me there were a couple of unforgivables but weigh it up for yourself:

Pros
Fantastic location
Beautiful building
Great air con (if not a bit noisy & damp smelling)
Powerful shower
Balcony from rooms which look out onto the main road
Great bar area out the back
Fridge in room

Cons
Both rooms had bathrooms so small I couldn't sit straight on the toliet
No windows in 2nd room so always dark - 1st room (queen) had patio doors then onto louvre doors so could have light, 2nd room just had a strange internal door which went onto lourve doors.
Noisy from road when doors open
No storage space & small rooms
1st room had the most dreadful drains smell from the bathroom
1st room had a dirty mosquito net - 2nd room just had rope dangling from the ceiling where it should be.

Certainly not a boutique hotel - quite expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benyon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    97
    56
    33
    37
See reviews for
71
158
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Df
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location is amazing. Building is cool. Rooms are tiny and uncomfortable and right in this moment I am in my little room listening to the guys of reception talking and laughing at 1 am after asking very nicely to low their voices down because guess what? I am on vacation trying to rest from a little trip. I was completely ignored. Pool is not nice and the hotel does not invite you to stay all day. Parking is not free and when tried to book a trip they did not give me the info complete.

Come to Merida but pls stay somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merida hotels

San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited in June 2013 - two couples. We arrived in Merida at 7am after a 12hr overnight bus. We were told at the time of booking that we would be allowed early check in, however when we got there we were told that this was impossible and we would have to come back at 3pm.

After check in, we were intrigued by the appearance of the hotel, the grand staircase and central atrium. Do not be fooled. We were shown to our room on the third level - like many hotels in Mexico, there are no elevators. Our room key did not work. We were let into our room by a maid and the bellboy told us he would return with a new key and our bags. These never came. My husband went down and brought our bags up.

The building and room is very very old. First impression was good, however, when you look at the details, you begin to see the flaws. Room is cramped and tiny - not to mention the bathroom. If you sit on the toilet, your knees are jammed up against the wall - TINY! We had a balcony onto the main street but the doors are old and do not lock securely. The area between the inner and outer balcony doors is dusty and dirty. Ceiling and AC unit are old and falling apart.

We were headed out for dinner later. Saw cockroaches on the walls coming down the stairs. My friend and I were waiting in the lobby for the guys when a giant cockroach flew onto her arm. She and I both screamed and were totally grossed out. All the staff at the front desk looked at us, but no one came over to assist or enquire if we were ok or even apologise for the cockroach.

After dinner, my husband and I got into our room only to find pieces of the ceiling lying on our pillow. Pieces of concrete and plaster on the pillow! Imagine if we had been asleep and this had fallen onto our heads! We immediately notified the staff, who took 20mins to come to our room to view the issue. We demanded to switch rooms, as this was a serious issue. We were told that there were no empty rooms in the hotel. We then demanded a refund, so that we could check into another safer hotel for the night. We were told that we had to wait on the manager for a refund. We waited close to an hour... by now it was midnight, before we were told that we could not get a refund as we had "USED" the room. We were furious! They offered us a complimentary dinner or bottle of wine. After refusing to leave until we met the manager, another 20mins and we were told that the manager was not coming and we would get a refund.

After midnight we were on the street in Merida looking for another hotel.

Do not stay at this hotel - it is old, cockroaches, falling apart and POOR service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Google Translation
Recuerdo bien que tuve oportunidad de atenderlos cuando se dio el problema que se desprendió unos pedazos de yeso de la habitación , ustedes estuvieron con nosotros en Junio
y eran fechas de fuertes lluvias , el problema se dio porque es un edificio protegido por el INHA que tiene en sus techos mampostería y viguetas de acero ; cuando llueve muy fuerte el yeso se cuartea del acero y se puede desprender por pequeños pedazos, ( solo pasa en 2 habitaciones del ultimo piso) .
esa noche cuando me avisaron del problema , subí a la habitación y decidimos cambiarlos de habitación para reparar al día siguiente la habitación , sin embargo teníamos un grupo y estábamos llenos al 100% tomamos la decisión de limpiar la habitación y ofrecerles una cena de cortesía y una botella de vino , pensábamos darles un complementary en la tarifa por esa noche y solucionar el problema por la Hora de la noche . sin embargo Ustedes decidieron después de unos minutos tomar la opción del reembolso y buscar otro Hotel por lo que lo sentimos muchísimo que nos dejaran en esas condiciones esa noche.

el tema de la Cucaracha que entro volando en la entrada del hotel , es un caso único que nos ha pasado y se debió por las fuertes lluvias recientes que se habían dado una noche antes .
nosotros todos los días fumigamos la propiedad pero no estamos exentos de que entre algún bicho de fuera esto se debe al clima cálido tropical de Yucatán

sentimos su mala experiencia y les ofrecemos que nos vuelvan a visitar y nos den al oportunidad de que se hospeden con nosotros para que aprecien los cambios y el esfuerzo que se le ha puesto a todos los detalles del hotel y sobre todo de las habitaciones.

y nuevamente que mencienen en este medio la experiencia que tengan son nosotros nuevamente.

Atentamente

Carlos Fernández R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I originally rented a room @ this hotel because of the New york times review. I did enjoy my stay but for the price there were a few things I was not comfortable with.

First I would like to say the staff were amazing and very helpful in general, except the kitchen staff we saw sitting on the floors of the kitchen area texting...I guess this means when there is a food order, they get up off the dirty floor and then make your food hmmm sanitary...I think not!
We ate some where else after that , not to mention the cockroaches climbing the walls as we were trying to have breakfast. I know it's Mexico and it can't be avoided completely but I have never had this happen to me at any other establishment in Mexico that try's to be as high end as Piedra de Agua.

My biggest disappointment with this hotel was the pool. In Merida it's hot and you may just want to cool down from time to time, but not @ this pool!
Forget that is so small that it barley exists, there is no filtration system in it !
The photos are beautiful and the hammocks are awesome although very dirty, but this has to be the murkiest pool I have ever seen!
It was so dirty I didn't even want to have my feet touch the water.
We were present the day they had some one bring in a machine to "filter" the water and even after that, the pool remained disgusting and we were unable to use for our one week stay.

My one other complaint was the decor hanging above the beds was nice in theory, but quite unsanitary.
We had pink stuff on ours that never got cleaned properly. Yogurt I am guessing but how often does something like that get laundered?

Apart from the things I didn't like, the location downtown was great, and the building itself beautiful. Rooms a little on the small side but nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
en el periodo de su estancia tuvimos cambios en la Cocina del Hotel por equipos nuevos con la finalidad de mantener la calidad de esta área , el problema se dio que personal externo al hotel que instalaba los ductos de extracción estuvieron el dia que usted los vio sentados en algún momento en el piso exterior de la cocina lo cual inmediatamente cuando nos dimos cuenta de esta tremenda falla les llamamos la atención y los retiramos del área .
este problema ya no se volvió a dar , la cocina se termino al 100 % , se fumigo nuevamente y el problema quedo solucionado , por lo que le pedimos mil disculpas.

en cuanto a el filtro de la Piscina , es verdad no se cuenta con este equipo ya que el hotel esta en un edificio protegido por el INHA muy antiguo y para meter los equipos es muy complicado , sin embargo la limpieza y filtración de esta se hace por un externo y se esta cambiando de proveedor para asegurar el filtrado y la vista transparente de esta.

por ultimo la decoración , en las habitaciones se están cambiando todos los canopies por nuevos , los comentarios de los huéspedes es que les agradan por lo que todos se están sustituyendo por telas nuevas .

nos gustaría invitarlos nuevamente al hotel y ofrecerles una noche gratis y que puedan ver los cambios estamos seguros que les van a encantar

les agradecemos sus comentarios y los esperamos nuevamente con nosotros

atentamente

Carlos Fernández R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were very happy with the value, location,service and restaurants bar at this hotel. The room is a little small and the bathroom even smaller than a modern cruise ship. The staff at the desk arraigned a great tour at discount! The view from the courtyard bar in the evening is nothing less than spectacular. We will return and have recommended this hotel to our friends who have had similar experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WafisGak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
les agradecemos sus comentarios y los esperamos nuevamente
tenemos la mejor ubicación del centro histórico y estamos en un edificio de 1845 precioso queremos que regresen pronto y vean los cambios que estamos realizando en la Cocina , mobiliari y habitaciones

será un placer atenderlos nuevamente

atentamente

Carlos Fernández R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellant location ,historical building with lots of character, Staff where helpful and accomodating,
Air conditioning excellant and beds comfortable and clean ,, but........................

We couldn,t get wi fi in our room , the shower was not hot and after reporting to management
he did try and sort out the problem ,, but to be honest it was still not hot, No parking so that was quite inconvenient, the room they call a gym was pretty dismal and very embarrasing,
I found the hotel to be over expensive and not worth the money they were asking ,, will not stay here again ,,,

Room Tip: room 202 had no window very dark room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwilbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
Le agradecemos sus comentarios , en los días que tuvimos su estancia , tuvimos problemas con un calentados solar que estábamos instalando es por eso que en algunas habitaciones estaba fallando el agua , le pedimos una disculpa y lo invitamos a que nos visiten nuevamente
el gym también lo estamos remodelando .

nos gustaría verlo pronto

Atentamente

Carlos Fernández R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The boutique hotel concept does not apply to this hotel, it is rather an inn of good quality but not a sophisticated boutique hotel as the pictures make it seem.

The service is so-so, the rooms are very small, the bathroom is tiny. No natural light, no closet and TV is so last century.

The hotel is a beautiful building well maintained and pleasant. While highlighting the backyard of the property, without a doubt the nicest place around the hotel. It features a refreshed by a pool bar where you can spend the afternoon or night, can be very enjoyable.

It is also noted the location, just steps from the main square and the main attractions of the city. Maybe that's the issue that could save it.

If you ask me, I wont return.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony to the 60th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes , sentimos que la habitación que le asignaron fue una habitación pequeña , como tenemos un edificio de 1845 y es un edificio protegido por el INHA a la hora de la remodelación del edificio nos quedaron 2 habitaciones mas pequeñas que son Queen Size , las demás habitaciones están muy espaciosas , es por esto que le queremos ofrecer en su próxima estancia con nosotros una noche de cortesía y ofrecerle una habitación Suite Presidencial para que pueda disfrutar de su viaje a la Hermosa Ciudad de Mérida Yucatán ;

Todo el personal se esfuerza para ofrecer el mejor servicio por lo que lo invitamos nuevamente a que disfrute de nuestra hospitalidad

todos los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son importante

Muchas Gracias

Carlos Fernández R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#43 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique

Property: Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 60 # 498 61 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only boutique hotel in Merida's downtown. We have 20 suites with king size beds, queen size beds or twin beds. We offer all the boutique hotel services such as free parking, free WIFI in all the rooms, fitness center, restaurant and bar open from 7 am to 2 am, lounge and pool area, laundry service, tours and transportation service to all touristic attraction in the state. Besides we have a romantic underground wine cellar where we offer romantic gourmet dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing