We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The boutique hotel concept does not apply to this hotel, it is rather an inn of good quality but not a sophisticated boutique hotel as the pictures make it seem.

The service is so-so, the rooms are very small, the bathroom is tiny. No natural light, no closet and TV is so last century.

The hotel is a beautiful building well maintained and pleasant. While highlighting the backyard of the property, without a doubt the nicest place around the hotel. It features a refreshed by a pool bar where you can spend the afternoon or night, can be very enjoyable.

It is also noted the location, just steps from the main square and the main attractions of the city. Maybe that's the issue that could save it.

If you ask me, I wont return.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony to the 60th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes , sentimos que la habitación que le asignaron fue una habitación pequeña , como tenemos un edificio de 1845 y es un edificio protegido por el INHA a la hora de la remodelación del edificio nos quedaron 2 habitaciones mas pequeñas que son Queen Size , las demás habitaciones están muy espaciosas , es por esto que le queremos ofrecer en su próxima estancia con nosotros una noche de cortesía y ofrecerle una habitación Suite Presidencial para que pueda disfrutar de su viaje a la Hermosa Ciudad de Mérida Yucatán ;

Todo el personal se esfuerza para ofrecer el mejor servicio por lo que lo invitamos nuevamente a que disfrute de nuestra hospitalidad

todos los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son importante

Muchas Gracias

Carlos Fernández R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    55
    31
    35
See reviews for
68
154
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Piedra de Agua is a perfectly fine hotel. The building has a fantastic romantic colonial feel, and the location could hardly be better (a block from the central park and cathedral). The room was perfectly clean, if not a bit beautifully decayed. Our room faced Calle 60, which was quite loud. However, closing the interior window doors shut out most of the noise (but also all of the light!). Guest service was also perfectly fine, if not outstanding. Overall Piedra de Agua will charm those with a penchant for wabi-sabi aesthetics. But then again, such a feel can be achieved in other hotels for a bit less money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street are loud without the light blocking shutters, but motor traffic dies down at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank signs-wonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Piedra de Aqua is a wonderful hotel not even a block off the Plaza in the Centro neighborhood of Merida. It is a wonderful place to either base your day trips out of or just chill in their beautifully tranquil courtyard. Chill in the hammocks or take a dip in their pool. Has a wonderful restaurant on site with a resident Italian Chef, even has an outdoor pizza oven! The rooms are romantic, updated yet speak of their long history. It also has live music in the courtyard several days of the week, usually jazz or easy listening. It is my go to hotel when I visit Merida!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlbeene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friends and I arrived for happy hour at 6:45, which was advertised from 7:00 to 8:00 p.m. Sadly, the waiter was not aware of any happy hour. After consulting the owner, the waiter realized that he had not been informed of any happy hour so we ordered a bottle of wine; we found out later that a bottle is not included in happy hour. After my friend had one beer he was told that there was no more of that brand. They also ran out of the type of wine the rest of us were drinking. The only had one bottle of each. We made do with another type of wine and beer. NO communications between owner and waiters.....One bottle of Montejo beer and one bottle of Pinot Grizio ON THE PREMISES, knowing that you had advertised happy hour on that evening? It was even worse than that but I really liked our waiter, poor guy, and won't say anymore. Not in my plans to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Gloria , le pedimos una disculpa por nuestra falta de organizacion en nuestro primer dia que organizabamos la hora fecliz mas temprano , tiene razón no hay pretexto ahora ya todo nuestro personal esta enterado que los jueves hay hora feliz de 6:00p.m a 8:00p.m y que en la hora Feliz entran todos los productos que anunciamos de la barra y que nuestro barman tien la responsabilidad de tener suficiente stock para segurar el servicio , le pedimos nos de la oportunidad de demostrarle que ya estamos preparados para atenderlos como se merecen

Nuevamente Mil disculpas

y los esperamos de nuevo este Jueves 23 de Mayo , personalmente los estaremos esperando para darles la bienvenida

Carlos Fernandez R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is on a very noisy street right next to the Cathedral. The windows don't have glass and have been blocked off with heavy modern doors. So the room is dark with traffic noise or light with deafening noise and heat. The bathroom was built in the corner with no ventilation and a horrible smell. The wifi was weak, had to sit next to the door or in the hall to get reception. Saw one couple having breakfast and no one having dinner in the expensive restaurant with bad atmosphere. There is a small square a block away and Merida Mansion hotel has good breakfast on their terrace. Best thing about this hotel was lying in a hammock in the garden with a margarita on the rocks and watching the church towers through the palm trees.
We could sleep ok with good bed and airco, position good. But of the 5 hotels we stayed in in Mexico this holiday, this was the most expensive and by far the worst. It has been very badly converted from an old gran hotel to a boutique and prices are too high.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room which is not on the front and does have a window. They say no parking but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaffelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Everything was AMAZING. I was really impressed and pleased by stylish and clean room with beautiful view from balcony, central location, nice ambiance, friendly service and warm hospitality. Should I come to Merida again, definitely I would go to Piedra de Agua ONLY.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Piedra de Aqua Hotel in the beginning of April. I had book with, I think Expedia, which was fine. No unforseen additional charges of any nature. Check-in was simple and quick which was great because I had a 4:00 p.m. appointment in the north end of the city so time was tight. My room was on the second floor with a King bed and a smallish main street balcony. Room was very small which has been noted by other but it had a very high old style beamed ceiling. Big mosquito net over the bed, which thankfully was more for show, although I have heard horror stories as to bug problems. Had a very small armoir that also housed the mini-fridge that was stocked with a few beers, sodas, etc. No closet for hanging things other that a rod in the corner, not really a big deal but it may be to others.
The bathroom was tiny, and I mean tiny!! I have been in sailboat heads that were bigger than this one. Small sink with no hot water, a standard shower with very good water pressure and lots of hot water, in fact scaulding if you weren't careful. Without going into too many details, if you are a long-legged person sitting on the toilet would be challenging to say the least.
Location wise, you cannot really get better if you want to be close the La Plaza Grande, it's right there. It is though, a very busy area, lots of traffic. Buses, cars, horse and buggy and lots of people, but that's what staying in proximity to all the actiion is about.Although fron Thursday and Friday at nine Calle 60 is closed to vehicle traffic and all day Sunday. It is great for people watching from your balcony.
There are rooms in the back but without windows, only the window in your room door. I never had any issues with sleep however, that's what earplugs are for!
The staff are all great, helpful and for the most part english speaking although my spanish is easily good enough to get by.
I never ate in the restaurant and only used the pool on one occasion, which is quite small but fine for a dunk and a cool down. Some great views from the back of the church top.
Overall I may stay here again but, as I said the rooms are very small and if you are staying with more than one it would be tight.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel would I imagine, would be quieter. Rooms on the higher floors in the front have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan11855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.1 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#44 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique

Property: Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 60 # 498 61 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only boutique hotel in Merida's downtown. We have 20 suites with king size beds, queen size beds or twin beds. We offer all the boutique hotel services such as free parking, free WIFI in all the rooms, fitness center, restaurant and bar open from 7 am to 2 am, lounge and pool area, laundry service, tours and transportation service to all touristic attraction in the state. Besides we have a romantic underground wine cellar where we offer romantic gourmet dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing