We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but needs better customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Ranked #63 of 103 Hotels in Merida
nsb
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great, but needs better customer service”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Upon our first stay at Piedra de Agua (Dec 2011), we found everything to be perfect. Valet parking was free (except tip of course), the building is romantic colonial style, small pool with hammock for an afternoon siesta, good food, bar, and the room was calming and made us feel we'd walked into a spa. Location and price are the main draw, as many hotels around the corner are three times more expensive.
However, upon our second stay (April 2012), there was only one staff when we arrived, and we had to take our own bags in and wait for the staff to explain their 'new' parking policy (which cost us $20 USD per day). Then, we found the room to be stuffy, noisy, the phone did not work, and our air conditioner leaked all night (using all the towels to soak the water). We were moved to another room on the courtyard side, which was 3 times bigger and quieter. Should have been assigned this room to begin with.
In addition, our simple breakfast meal took one hour, because the waitstaff did not attend to us for ordering or for the check.

This is the best deal in Merida, BUT the staff need to work harder to keep their clients happy and attend to basic needs.
Will think twice about returning.

Room Tip: Make sure your amenities are in order before accepting the room. Courtyard side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eps_nsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    99
    58
    35
    37
See reviews for
72
161
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel and found it charming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room (queen) was small and the bathroom a tight fit but fine for a solo traveler or a short stay. The room smelled nice, there was a balcony looking down on the main street, the bar fridge was full and the bed with a mosquito-net-slash-canopy made me feel like a princess.
This hotel was a much better value and experience than my stay at Hotel Casa Lucia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anasaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here on the recommendation of friends, and they were so right! The hotel is beautiful and perfect for walking around the historic center of Merida. Staff were helpful and friendly. We had a room on the second floor and had two beds instead of the king we'd reserved. But it was comfortable and our bathroom wasn't small like others said. We didn't have hot water in the sink though and told staff a couple of times. Later were told they may not have hot water in the sink. Friends stayed in a 3rd floor room (Presidential Suite) and they had balconies overlooking the street, which was great on Sunday night with the activity in the square. We recommend this hotel to others wanting a convenient place to stay in the historic center of Merida.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed for a week and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. The located is great - a few feet away from the main square and cathedral - and the staff was very helpful and courteous. Every evening we would receive a small snack (cookie, brownie, or gelatin). The rooms are a bit on the small side and the beds are small as well (and not the most comfortable) but the room was nice and clean. On the weekends the main streets are closed and filled with vendors and musicians so it can get a bit noisy. They offer free internet and free valet service. The internet was not working on the 3rd floor for the last days of our trip but we were still able to connect in the hallway and on the second floor in their "business center." If you rent a car there is a parking lot a few blocks away from the hotel that is open 24 hrs (we paid $100 pesos a day). We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay in Merida, having never been there before, I had to guess. I saw the pictures of this place and read some reviews. Some reviews were good and a couple were not. I can tell you that the bad reviews have NO merit. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and historic, although not a large place. The staff is incredible when it comes to service and making you feel like you are their only customer. The rooms are small but very nice. We enjoyed the veranda that overlooks the street which is closed to traffic at night and fills with street vendors. The hotel is next to the Cathedral and the large, beautiful park. We will always stay at this hotel when visiting Merida!

Room Tip: if you want a veranda, ask for it. these rooms are a little small but really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location!! Our room was small yet had everything we needed with a relaxed, comfortable and romatic feeling. Their location in "el centro" is perfect! It is a very short walk to the main square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed when carnival was on Feb 2012 lovely gardens with pool and great band played friday &saturday night also had a pizza there they have a pizza oven in the garden also breakfast was included in our price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#42 of 103 in Merida
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique

Property: Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 60 # 498 61 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only boutique hotel in Merida's downtown. We have 20 suites with king size beds, queen size beds or twin beds. We offer all the boutique hotel services such as free parking, free WIFI in all the rooms, fitness center, restaurant and bar open from 7 am to 2 am, lounge and pool area, laundry service, tours and transportation service to all touristic attraction in the state. Besides we have a romantic underground wine cellar where we offer romantic gourmet dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing