We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Start here”

Dzibilchaltun Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Dzibilchaltun Ruins Tour and Progreso Beach Break from Merida
Ranked #7 of 113 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
MarylandUSA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Start here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My opinion only, but before you set out on one of the all day tours to more famous ruins, do your self a favor and come here. Though not as grand or beautiful (nor as expensive and crowded), Dzibilchaltun is a wonderful and easy introduction to Maya culture. It is easily reached by taxi for under 150 pesos and less by colectivo. There are good guides available for reasonable cost. The walking is easy and the facilities are good. When done seeing all the ruins, go for a swim in the small cenote. But do not leave before you take a slow walk through the recently rehabilitated museum. It is extensive and alone is worth the round trip. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RLBlake_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    366
    81
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good for easy access ruins and the cenote is beautiful and cool to swim in. The museum has a lot of interesting information about the area and the time period. There are alot of artifacts which is really neat. We did the walk through the trees and found it wasn't really worth it. It was very hot and lots of mosquitos. You are better off to stick to the main path.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mayan mysteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

You can get a guide, but we did it on our own because we had time constraints. Bring your swimsuit if you want to take a dip in the pool. They don't allow large backpacks-- you are asked to check them at the visitor center, but they will allow small purses and such.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank neffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very natural”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I enjoyed these ruins because they are not busy like Tulum or Chichen Itza. It is a very natural setting and has a good little museum. It also has a beautiful cenote.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank freak4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience and still leaves time to explore Progreso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family and took the tour with AutoProgreso to Dzibilchaltun Ruins. We inquired on line before leaving on our trip aboard the Carnival Triumph. We corresponded by email with Guadalupe but exchange no money. We were told to meet her by the Auto Progressive tour booth in Progresso at 11am. We got off the ship early had plenty of time to check out the city then arrived at the tour booth. Guadalupe met us at the bus had our name on a poster card reserving our space. Nice bus ride over to the ruins was narrated by the guide who shared information about the history of the ruins. We arrived at the site. We did have to check our large back pack. The museum was closed because it was Monday but there were a few small shops open. We had the choice to stay with the guide or explore on our own. We chose to stay with the guide who went into more details about the specific buildings there are a lot of structures on the sight that you can explore we were then given time to tour on our own for about 2 hours. My kids swam in the cenote for about 45min we then walked over to the temple of the seven dolls. Then back on the bus. On they way home they give you the choice to be dropped off at the beach or back directly at the ship terminal. (There are shops there too) Everyone on our bus wanted to go back to the ship terminal.

Book this trip directly with AutoProgreso And save tons of money! This is the same trip you book through the cruise ship with the same company. Only difference is that the cruise ship tour leaves at 9am and the private tour leaves at 11am both last the same amount of time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasGirl1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dzibilchaltun Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Dzibilchaltun Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing