We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Early Bird”

Dzibilchaltun Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Dzibilchaltun Ruins Tour and Progreso Beach Break from Merida
Ranked #6 of 116 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Early Bird”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Again, when visiting any site that has a reputation of being magnificent both in a historical aspect and a beauty buff aspect, get there early. My group entered the ruins as soon as the park opened, and we were just about the only ones there. Also, bring a bathing suit! Their cenote is crystal clear and a wonderful way to cool down on a hot day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    381
    88
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great ruins to visit without going too far from the port”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I were on a cruise and decided to book their Dzibilchaltun Ruins excursion as it was closer to our port than the other ruins, which needed a 2 hour coach ride to get to.

The ruins are spread out over a good distance and there is a lot of walking so make sure you are wearing some comfortable shoes. We really enjoyed the small museum at the beginning of the tour and really enjoyed getting to see these ancient ruins up close and personal.

We have seen so many of these types of places on the Travel channel etc. It was really cool to be able to walk around and see them for ourselves.

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture and even knew how to speak their language. Which I thought was really cool.

The cenote was closed when we were there so we did not get to go swimming there. Over all, if you are in Progresso (Meridia) and looking to see some great Mayan ruins without a lengthy coach ride. The Dzibilchaltun Ruins are a great place to visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank target32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“To The Temple of the 7 Dolls”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lots of grounds to walk and few ruins to truly enjoy, most definitely the temple of the 7 dolls was most impressive, worth a pit stop on the way to Progreso to enjoy the beach,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cesar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We took our 8 year old daughter here and although it was tremendously hot we had agreat time, so quiet and peaceful, good facilities to change into swimming suits etc, the cenote was lovely, about half was waist deep and then the rest was very deep so lots of places for children to play. The water was so clear you could see the little fish swimming eveywhere. The ruins were lovely and alot of the areas were accessible to visitors.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank emma284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Prettiest Little Pyramid I've Ever Seen”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This darling little pyramid is easy to climb and is a Paladian example of Mayan architecture. Please remember to take your swimming suit so you can go swimming in the blue cenote. The proximity to Merida makes this a good stop either before or after a delicious fresh fish-cevice dinner at Progresso. The museum is interesting for adults and children alike.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dzibilchaltun Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Dzibilchaltun Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing