We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great vacation!”
Review of Casa Santiago

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Santiago
Ranked #21 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“What a great vacation!”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Been to Casa Santiago a handful of times. Had a fabulous time every time. Lovely location. Great hosts. Relaxing pace. Side trips to ruins and haciendas. So fun. Will be returning soon for another visit. Can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromtheloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
68
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Having read the reviews of this B&B before going the stay turned out to be a disappointment. Lack of cleaning, horrible (but really horrible) beds, bad taste (plastic flowers just don't do it for me - especially when you can buy fresh flowers at the market for 20 pesos). The free wireless internet doesn't work in the rooms - only in the commun space. You get the impression that you are there to pay the rates and nothing else. And please get the door bell repaired ! - stayed outside the house for 20 minutes to get to check in (got let in by a handyman who was on his way out).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmovoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicovince, Owner, manager at Casa Santiago, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
WE ARE BACK UNDER OLD MANAGEMENT. Unfortunately due to an illness I was forced to take some time off. The replacement manager did not work out. I am sorry that you were not able to experience the REAL CASA SANTIAGO.
All this items have been addressed with the exceptions of the BEDS, they have been written up several times as the best beds in Merida. I am a LEO and like the BEST. The beds are the same brand that I sleep in…Peace, Vince Gricus
You can contact me at Mexicovince@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Sometimes in our lives we make a wonderful find. This was it for us last week when we visited this amazing B&B. The comfort, the quality, the food, but most of all the friendship we found was out of this world. We slept, ate, visited, talked and enjoyed this city and this B&B as much as we have anywhere in Mexico (if not more).
Dante the manager is outstanding and spent time each day visiting with us. Frank the owner was on hand and he was awesome. He shared his friends, cooked us dinner and sent us off with a wonderful care package. Who could ask for anything more???
If in Merida you would not be disappointed with this spot...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveToTravelMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

This is much more than a b and b - if you seek culture, calm, beauty, and great conversation.... look no further. If you're looking for a quick, anonymous visit... go elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyleHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We loved every moment of our stay in Merida and still remember it! Thanks to Frank (the owner), Dante (the manager) and Stephan (the chef on a vacation from Greece!) for sharing their passion for this beautiful city with us and for whipping out amazing breakfasts for us! They went out of the way for us as we were vegetarians. As other reviews pointed out -- the location is excellent, right in the middle of the historic section of Merida, just 5 blocks or so from the town center. It is also only a few blocks (about a 10-15 minute walk) to the Ado main bus stop of Merida. This part of the city is very walkable, safe and alive!. The B&B Is housed in a 1800's building and a lot of the original construction still remains: the rooms are large, with tall ceilings and have beautiful tiled floors and really tall doors!. We had the Patio room -- which you must get if you can, though all the rooms seems to be excellent. This has a beautiful private patio with a hammock under a very shady tree a few yards away from one of the two swimming pools. The pools themselves are in a tropical setting.

Merida can get very hot - thankfully, our room (and looks like all the rooms) are equipped with very powerful A/C's that you can control with a remote. The A/C cooled the room within a few minutes!. The bed was exceedingly comfy and seemed to be a feathertop.
This is one of the few places I cannot find any thing negative to write about! It was just perfect! H

Don't miss going to Uxmal on a full-day trip. We went there using the Mayaland tours which we contacted over the net,. The tour was very good --they were prompt and everything clicked!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed at Casa Santiago in early February and we were the only guests at the Inn. Unfortunately, the much-talked-about Vince and Frank were not there. I am sure we would have enjoyed meeting them.

Casa Santiago is well located, just a few blocks from the inter-city bus terminal (our means of arrival), two blocks from Los Dos Cooking School and a short walk from the Zocalo.

The garden is beautiful and well tended, with colorful plantings. The home is in excellent condition, with Merida's famous pasta tile floors, nice furnishings and comfortable beds.

Casa Santiago Manager Dante explained that here is wine and beer available for purchase in the refrigerator. It's on the honor system. The guest marks a list on the door of the refrigerator and then the cost is added to your bill at the end of your stay. That's a nice feature when you do not feel like schlepping to a liquor store.

Breakfast was fresh and delicious, consisting of orange juice, fresh cut papaya, bananas, pineapple and canteloupe, served with yogurt, granola, nuts and raisins, warm bread with strawberry jam and coffee.

Dante was kind and available to answer questions about Merida, restaurants and nearby attractions. When we unfortunately had to delay our arrival in Merida by one day because of illness, Dante was available to assure us that our room would be held.

Housekeeping was a bit spotty - we did not get any soap after the first day (fortunately we had some liquid soap from the previous hotel) and the pool could have used a cleaning.

Otherwise, this was a very good place to stay in Merida at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandCPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Casa Santiago is a little bit of home just 5 blocks from the square in wonderful Merida. We spent 4 days in this wonderful B&B run by Dante with attention to every detail. Clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms. A fridge with beer and wine that you help yourself to and just tick the numbers of bottles next to your name. Delicious breakfasts, refreshing pool, and gorgeous gardens that make you feel like you are in the country. Opt for a guided tour of near by attractions with Roberto and you will leave with a new friend. Indulge yourself with Ray's 2 hour Mayan massage - a spiritual experience! We will return!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnutangelicany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#30 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
3.1 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#44 of 103 in Merida
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
432 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santiago

Property: Casa Santiago
Address: Calle 72 # 562 | #517 Calle 70 x 63 y 65, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santiago is a home and a bed and breakfast in Merida, the capital city of the Yucatan which was founded in 1542 on an ancient Mayan site. It is charming. There are 8 spacious air conditioned suites and all have ceiling fans, private baths, work desks, and original pasta tile floors. There are two pools and beautiful gardens. We are just three blocks from the main square and everything is in walking distance. We offer great tours. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing