We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Casa Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Santiago
Ranked #32 of 82 Merida B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Based on all the favourable reviews on TA, we stayed at this B&B for 4 nights. The positive things are the location - its centrally located, a short walk from the bus station and the main square, and the rates are very reasonable.
The room was fine, had some problems with hot water - but not a big deal. We wished that the safe (basically a metal cash box) was screwed onto the shelf in the closet. We didnt have any incident, but it was very easy for anyone to just pick up the box and walk away with it.
I think the main reason for not having a more positive stay was the manager, Sergio. He met us when we arrived and for the 2 minutes he spent with us he basically just gave us the keys and told us the time for breakfast. No overview or orientation - which is usual at most B&Bs. We asked him for a recommendation for dinner and he simply told us to head to the main square where we would finds lots of restaurants. Not once during our stay did he ask how was our stay, or if we were ok with the room - again, things that are typically asked by managers. In fact, he never even thanked us when we checked out. We have usually found B&B managers or owners to be the "host" during the stay, but Sergio is no host. Saying that, he did seem to enjoy hanging out for beers with some of the other guests. I would put this down to lack of maturity and experience? I am not saying that he was rude or unpleasant, but just lacking in making us feel like we were welcomed guests.
The overall experience was ok, but not the experience that other reviewers here seem to have had. We wouldn't stay here again,

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitbyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
22
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
le Tarn
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We are a well travelled couple in our early 60s. We found the Casa santiago noisy from the road - the front door doesn't fit properly - and the rooms dark - there was no natural light in the two rooms we had. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable and the sheets such poor quality they had a sticky feel to them. On the positive side, the breakfast was very generous with fresh fruit and pastries. Use of kitchen and honesty system for beers. The garden and pool was very nice. Sergio gave us 2 rooms when the twin bedded room i had booked was not available. The casa is a 10 minute walk from the centre in an unattractive area. We would have preferred to stay in a more central colonial style hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Casa Santiago for two nights before venturing forth to see the ruins--it has a convenient location and very nice rooms--and we went back for two more nights later because of the hospitality; it had become a second home, thanks to the friendliness of manager Sergio and the extraordinary bonhomie of owner Frank.

Room Tip: Get one with an ourside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My father and I came to Merida to visit friends. We were overwhelmed by beautiful yet homelike feel of Casa's Santiago, and Casa Feliz. We were fortunate enough to be there when the owners were there. I mean that as they are wonderful people to spend time with. I'm sure things still would have been wonderful if they were not there.
If Casa Santiago is the "Crown Jewel" of the Yucatan, then Sergio, the manager of Casa Santiago is the "Crown Jewel" of Casa's Santiago, Feliz and Navidad. He speaks fluent English and Spanish. He has a grasp on the history of the city. I was impressed with his knowledge of Mayan history at one of many museums in Merida. He is also well versed in the history of the city itself.
Roberto took us on a trip to the Mayan ruins. We had a great time with him also. He knows a lot about the history of the area. He took us to a hacienda, his hometown, and we had lunch at a fine restaurant. He is also fluent in Spanish and English,
Just make sure you have insect repellant. Skeeters are a Yucatan thing. They're low fliers. They normally don't bite any higher than mid-shin.
I definitely look forward to going back.

Richierich

Room Tip: I would recommend the Persia Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I just spent 3 night at Casa Santiago. The hotel is made up of 3 renovated Spanish colonial style homes that are connected through their inner courtyards/patios. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We were the only people there during our stay and enjoyed the luxury of having the house and pool entirely to ourselves. Sergio was very polite.

It occurred to me that the stay may have been much less enjoyable if there had been other guests since noise carries very easily as a result of the architecture.

It is a little difficult to get a taxi just outside the hotel and most often we had to walk a few blocks toward the center of town before we found one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlapperWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I had a wonderful time in Merida. It is a beautiful city. I heard about the B&B from my sister and she has been wanting me to go for years. I'm just sorry I waited so long and will definitely be back! The staff...Frank & Tom took great care of us. The manager Sergio saw to our every need. The owner (Frank) has built an impressive network of associates and friends that makes it their personal mission to take us 'tourists' to see all the best things Merida has to offer. The accommodations...the grounds are also so beautiful and include a unique array of plants and flowers. The rooms are spacious and you just feel like you're at home. Please visit Casa Santiago...you will NOT be disappointed!!! Beware of el Gato (inside joke)!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and it just depends on your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed for two weeks. Nicest people imaginable. Teutonic clean. Very jolly and friendly. Sergio the manager is just the best. Get ready for the best uncle in your life, Roberto who does the day trips. You will love the Mayan guys, Pedro and Alberto, brothers like the hobbits from the middle earth. They do breakfast and take care of the place. Frank the owner was there and that was a bit of university again. I love this place and I hope that unpleasant people never read this review. Just the absolute best.
Thomas

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea3440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#32 of 103 in Merida
273 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
62 St. Guest House
62 St. Guest House
#14 of 82 in Merida
152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 82 in Merida
349 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 82 in Merida
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santiago

Property: Casa Santiago
Address: Calle 72 # 562 | #517 Calle 70 x 63 y 65, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santiago is a home and a bed and breakfast in Merida, the capital city of the Yucatan which was founded in 1542 on an ancient Mayan site. It is charming. There are 8 spacious air conditioned suites and all have ceiling fans, private baths, work desks, and original pasta tile floors. There are two pools and beautiful gardens. We are just three blocks from the main square and everything is in walking distance. We offer great tours. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing