We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecclectic & friendly, but hot & buggy”
Review of Hotel Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Santiago
Ranked #27 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2006

The Hotel Trinidad (not to be confused with the Hotel Trinidad Galleria) was booked for us by our hosts in Mexico. Unfortunately, when we arrived my wife had the stomach flu and was very sick. The interior of the hotel is very ecclectic with a mix of traditional, colonial, and modern art, plus plants galore which made for a very fun environment. We got into our room which had 2 open windows and a fan, but no A/C. The windows could be kept open thanks to the walls around the hotel and room, but even then the fantastic Merida breeze barely crept into the room and so the room was about 10 degrees hotter than outside. The heat of course made my wife that much sicker. There was a bathroom in the room which had a screen door on it. There were a few tiny dead ants in the sink and a couple of small bugs in the batthroom, though fortunately no roaches or big spiders.

As the night progressed and my wife continued being sick I went to the lobby to get water. There was someone on duty 24 hours, but they had no water. He was very friendly and got us an extra electric fan and directed me 3 blocks down the street to a 24 hour Pemex convenience store. On my way to the convenience store I passed the hotel Los Aluxes and found out they had air conditioning, so took my wife there. The rooms at Los Aluxes were very clean and the A/C very, very good, so we stayed there and were very pleased.

I liked the authenticity of Hotel Trinidad and it was close to some lively parts of town, but the heat and bugs were too much. I was told they did have air conditioned rooms but that night those rooms were all full.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SVOSHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank hypnogaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank marianiuxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sebastian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Goede locatie , prijs kwaliteit meer dan goed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hab 206 con dos camas, 4 pax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#54 of 105 in Merida
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
2.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Carmita
Hotel Casa Carmita
#8 of 86 in Merida
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Piazzetta
Hotel La Piazzetta
#3 of 86 in Merida
173 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde Merida
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maria Jose
Hotel Maria Jose
#12 of 86 in Merida
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santiago

Address: Calle 62 #464 x Calle 55 y 57 | Calle 62 NO.464 X 55 y 57, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Trinidad)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santiago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinidad Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing