We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Hacienda Sotuta de Peon
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.33*
and up
Private Tour: Sotuta de Peon Hacieda Day Trip
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Private Tour: Uxmal and Sotuta de Peon from Merida
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Sotuta de Peon Hacienda Cultural Tour
Ranked #3 of 116 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sotuta de Peon, Live Hacienda, is the restoration project of a landmark located in the heart of the ancient henequen zone in the Yucatan state, and gives a true glimpse of what was once a fully operational Henequen Hacienda in the grand style and tradition of this period.
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked my visit to Sotuta de Peón through Mayan Ecotours and I consider this tour one of the highlights of my trip to Mexico.
You are picked up at your hotel by a minibus and the tour starts with a visit to the house. Afterwards you visit the area with all the machineries needed to process "henequén" and you get detailed explanation about the whole process.
Then you take a mule-driven carriage and visit the amazing agave fields and a Mayan house where you can learn something about Mayan culture.
Then comes the lovely cenote, that is very accessible also for people who are not so sporty like me :) The water of the cenote is crystal clear and fresh and it is really a pleasure to swim there.
At the end you are driven back to the restaurant. The food was simply fantastic here. You have a three-course meal with several dishes to choose from: I had empanadas with cheese, grilled fish and flan. Absolutely delicious :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    161
    26
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This working hacienda still produces a little sisal but is primarily maintained as a tourist attraction now. The visit is a little pricey 700 pesos for transportation, tour and a not so great lunch. But it is quite interesting to see how the origin of the sisal frowns and is turned into rope, both manually and by machine. Our guide Jose was incredibly knowledgeable about the process and was able to answer all of our questions. Before we went, I thought that the wagon ride would be boring but it wa actually a very interesting part of the tour. The restored hacienda is great and provides a really good idea of what life used to be like there. Several people took advantage of the time allocated to swim in the cenote. We chose, instead, to sit in very comfortable, shaded chairs and sip margaritas. After the tour and the break for cenote swimming, etc., lunch ( beverages not included) was served in the pleasant dining room. Neither of us had any complaint about the quantity of food. There was almost too much - an appetizer, soup, main course and dessert. And, first, chips and some interesting dips. But the quality of the main course and dessert left a little to be desired. I had the grilled fish. It tasted like it had been doused in butter and lemon - which left it greasy and a little strange tasting. And what was billed as cocoa flan turned out to be some kind of coconut pudding. My friend had the pork dish - it was just pork, no side dishes or anything. And her dessert of fresh papaya turned out to be papaya hardened in sugar and served wiand rated cheese. However, the sopa limon aand the empanadas were excellent. If you have an extra day in Merida, this is a worthwhile away to spend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crosswycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A trip into the past...”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hacienda is a working farm that still raises and processes henequen, the specific type of agave that produces the fibers misnamed "sisal", when the port of origin was confused with the shipped product in the first half of the last century. The henequen plantation tour starts in the fully restored (and never lived in) mansion, which fell into disrepair in the 60's when the farm was abandoned, then proceeds to the various stations where the plant's leaves are crushed and their fibers combed out, dried and spun into string, then twine, then rope. A donkey ride on a railed tramway then takes you to a traditional thatched hut complete with hammock, and an old Mayan gentleman, Don Antonio, who worked in the fields in the plantation's heydey demonstrates how the henequen was planted and cared for. The next stop is particularly refreshing; a descent into a subterranean cenote where you swim in crystal clear water with a single shaft of light illuminating the cavern. For those who care less for spelunker aquatics, an excellent little bar topside (also pulled by mules) serves margaritas made with the fermented liquor distilled from the henequen variety of agave. After the refreshing dip, back we went onto the BurroTram for the ride through the agave fields. The tour concludes at an attractive, thatched, open-air restaurant which we decided to forego. (There's a great place to eat, Hacienda Teya, on the way back to Merida, but that's another review.) The tour lasts a couple of hours and is a pleasant and easy, if sometimes hot and noisy, excursion into the forgotten world of the Green Gold of the Yucatan, hosted by an enthusiastic, knowledgeable and well-spoken guide. As a history buff with a real appreciation for well-built and well-maintained late nineteenth/early twentieth century machinery, I enjoyed it and found it well worth the just-under-$30 admission.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pondman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting but not as good as we'd hoped!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I went on this tour today, costing us $700MXN each. For that amount of money you'd expect something special and though the tour is quite unique, there were a few let downs.

Our problems started at the very beginning. We were told we would be picked up at our hotel at 8:30. The bus showed closer to 9:30, with no prior notification, so we got off to a bad start. Once we had arrived at the house, we were again subject to delays, with the tour starting half an hour after the arranged time. We were then part of a group consisting of about two dozen people, so the whole experience was quite impersonal, despite the attempts of the multilingual tour operator to engage with some individuals.

A lot of what you'll see is unique and interesting - essentially the whole process of creating the various ropes and bindings from scratch. You will be introduced to very old machinery and will get to see them up close - a good spectacle, which would fail health and safety checks in most countries due to the lack of barriers, rails, guards and emergency stop switches (amongst other things). You will be introduced to someone who has worked at the hacienda since he was young, whose role nowadays is as a charismatic storyteller, who won the hearts of much of our group. You also get to swim inside a bat cave, which is a refreshing break in the tour where you can also buy a cocktail. Towels and snorkelling gear are available to rent, but you can bring your own if you'd prefer.

The food was just about okay, nothing special, and despite me stating I have an allergy to dairy produce they proceeded to serve up an appetiser of quesadilla both stuffed and topped with cheese. No drinks were included in their inclusive dinner option. Additionally, one of the waiters stamped on a baby lizard at one table's request and proceeded to kick its dead body along the floor out of the restaurant. Perhaps capturing and releasing it would have been a better solution, particularly in a restaurant that is very open to the outdoors.

All in all, we felt the visit was worthwhile but were ultimately disappointed, particularly because the reviews here are so excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Hacienda”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

It was was interesting to see how sisal was manufactured long ago. The food was also very good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Sotuta de Peon also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Sotuta de Peon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing