We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Cascadas”
Review of Cascadas de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascadas de Merida
Ranked #5 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I just returned from the Yucatan. We stayed at this hotel for several days during our visit to Merida. What a great place! From the street it's average, but inside it's absolutely beautiful. Apparently it has been in the family for four generations, and you can tell it was re-designed with great care and taste by a family craftsman/artist. The theme is cascades, and water runs around the entire hotel. The showers are glass walls facing out on stone waterfalls. Water flows under the glass topped night stands around the bed, it cascades down the walls around the pool.

There is nothing like coming home from a hot day of sightseeing in Merida to the coolness of all this water. And the host (only Ellyne was home, her husband was away) made it feel like you were at home. The rooms are modern, very nicely decorated, bed was great, and the breakfasts were first rate.

We actually planned a big day of sightseeing, but the Cascadas was so nice we ended up spending the whole day enjoying the hotel instead, swimming in the pool, and being lulled to sleep in the hammocks to the sound of the fountains. And we didn't regret missing a day of sightseeing to relax this much!

Our trip was to Vallodolid, Merida, Tulum and Akumal, and this was definetly the stand out accomodation of the trip. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank almal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2006

We decided to visit Merida since either my husband or I didn’t know the city and all the great cultural things around it. When we look for a hotel we found the web site of this WONDERFOUL place! The pictures convinced us but when we arrived there everything looks even much better! The place and the people were just AMAZING we had a great time there. The food is delicious, the rest time was great listening the waterfalls and the nice music (just if you want it) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gavaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My stay at Cascadas de Merida was a delight from start to finish. The casitas are spacious and light- filled overlooking the swimming pool. The showers are designed around a waterfall.

The breakfast is abundant and includes a hot dish.The location is fantastic.

Thanks to Chucho, Ellyne, Aurora and Miguel for a wonderful and hospitable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mem in miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

Hospitality reigns in this Merida treasure! Owners Mexican Husband Chucho and American wife Ellyne offer the perfect mix for guests as far as offering a warm welcome, local food and knowledge of the area. Great breakfasts include a hot dish as well as a wonderful variety of fresh fruit and local breads/pastries. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and the views of waterfalls from the shower is a unique touch. The full-size pool was a welcome addition after spending a day out in the heat of May (hottest month). The 4 casitas offer privacy since they are located at each corner of the property with the pool in the middle.

Cascadas de Mexico is truly a home away from home with the warmest hosts and best breakfasts in Mexico!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulineh271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, FL
13
Reviewed June 12, 2006

I came to Cascadas de Merida from Mexico City and it was truly a breath of fresh air! Ellyne and Chucho are wonderful hosts. The bed and breakfast is lovely--I didn't want to leave! The pool is great for swimming and relaxing. Cascadas is a great base for exploring the city and it is truly a wonderful "casa" to come home too after a long day of exploring Merida. I loved every moment of my stay--absolutely great!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank autumn_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
3  Thank SusanKayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#16 of 106 in Merida
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 106 in Merida
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 86 in Merida
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 86 in Merida
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascadas de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadas de Merida

Address: Calle 57 # 593-C , x 74A y 76, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: $89 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable bed and breakfast is located in the historic district of Merida Yucatan. Each casita has remote-controlled air conditioning, cable TV and internet access. Casitas are designed for maximum comfort and are surrounded by the soothing sights and sounds of waterfalls. A cool retreat from the tropical heat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing