We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at Cascadas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cascadas de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascadas de Merida
Ranked #4 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“New Year at Cascadas”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

When we, husband, wife and adult daughter, walked into Cascadas from a very ordinary looking street we amazed at the property and delighted by the warm welcome we received from Ellyne, quickly followed by a delicious fruit drink. We had 2 rooms, loved the brightly coloured floors, the quality of the furniture and furnishings in the public areas and throughout the property. Lovely, big comfortable beds, colourful furnishings in the casitas(self contained rooms) and huge shower cubicles and shower heads. The casitas were spotlessly clean and only a step to the pool. Amazing that a family back yard had been transformed into a private, secluded and delightful area with the pool, lovely waterfalls and hammocks to relax in. Breakfasts were eaten at a splendidly set table. Everything was first class from the crockery and cutlery to the healthy and wide ranging breakfast foods. Great tea, too. Ellyne was ever helpful and informative. We were there over the New Year and Elleyne provided each of us with wine and our twelve grapes to make wishes for each month of the coming year. We loved Cascadas and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only four casitas, each placed at a corner of the pool. The only choice to make is whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
88
341
41
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I wish I lived in a house like this one!! A friend and I visited Merida in early January and we stayed here for three nights. Ellyne and her staff made us feel like we were staying with family---what I enjoyed most was her breakfast of fresh fruits, stuffed omelets, scones and so much more. She also had great recommendations about restaurants and touristy things to do. There are four rooms, all beautifully decorated, that open into a courtyard of sorts, with a swimming pool and some hammocks and chairs which is great when you want to call it a night but don't necessarily want to retire to your room. It's located in a residential area, but its a short 15 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride from the main square in Merida. There is free wifi and a hairdryer in the room along with all the required toiletries. I'd say definitely ditch the generic hotels for this charming little B&B---you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are almost identical with one queen (?) sized bed except one room that has two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavithra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It is no wonder that Cascadas de Merida has won ANOTHER award; the hosts are absolutely wonderful. I live in Merida and so I do not have occasion to stay at the C de M but I have sent numerous guests there and they all rave about what a fantastic place I chose for them. Ellyne and Chucho go the extra mile for their guests... and this reflects well on our whole city

Room Tip: None necessary; all the rooms are perfectly appointed and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

There aren't enough adjectives for Cascadas de Merida, but let me try: the home itself is beautiful, convenient, spotless, super relaxing, calming, bright, modern, artistic … the breakfasts are delicious, colourful, healthy, abundant, varied, and feature local foods … and the amazing hosts are caring, kind, informed, super helpful, and a step ahead on everything. I've stayed twice now, this time with my 80+ year-old mom, and I wouldn't go anywhere else in Merida. It was safe to walk alone at night, there's local dances and music a few blocks away, and the hustle and bustle of the more touristy area (galleries, shopping, markets) is a ten-minute walk away too. We took day tours that Ellyne kindly arranged for us: Chichen Itza, Kabah, Uxmal, and a functional hacienda with cenote. I'd recommend it more, except I don't want it to be booked when I want to go again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This comfortable B&B will be our "home-away-from-home" when we return to Merida! Rarely do such places live up to their descriptions, but this one was even better than described. Previous reviews have said it all -- warm and attentive hosts, beautifully restored home, scrumptious breakfasts, and everything immaculately clean and well-kept. We've traveled throughout Mexico for the past 20 years, but our stay at Cascadas last month (Dec 2-10) might have been the best nights of sleep I've ever had in that country. Ellyne and Chucho pay attention to things that help guests feel pampered -- great beds, sheets, and towels. As others have noted, Ellyne was helpful in pointing out things of interest in Merida and the Yukatan, with exactly the right amount of assistance based on our interests. Absolutely no downside to this place!

Room Tip: All four casitas are equal, opening onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharBella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed two days, we loved our hosts, best breakfast you can get in Mexico! Safe and quiet area - just few minutes walk from the historic center. Elena was very helpful and fun, as well as her husband and their staff. Such nice people with exceptional worm hospitality. Place was clean quiet full of colors makes you don't want to leave the building. Lots of love is put into designing this place. We loved our room and time that we spend in Cascadas de Merida . We are highly recommending this beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksandarSRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The nondescript house can easily be missed from the outside but you will take notice once you enter. Beautiful decor inside!

Excellent B&B with a most helpful owner, great service, superb base for visiting Merida and touring nearby sites. Beautiful little house! Cannot recommend highly enough.

The breakfast, served at one table for all the guests - there are 4 rooms only - is a treat itself.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laszlo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 84 in Merida
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascadas de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadas de Merida

Property: Cascadas de Merida
Address: Calle 57 # 593-C , x 74A y 76, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable bed and breakfast is located in the historic district of Merida Yucatan. Each casita has remote-controlled air conditioning, cable TV and internet access. Casitas are designed for maximum comfort and are surrounded by the soothing sights and sounds of waterfalls. A cool retreat from the tropical heat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing