We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Home in Merida...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Our Home in Merida...”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We finished a 3 -night stay here in mid-February. It was our second occasion, which by itself should tell you enough, but – judging from the other reviews - seems to happen a lot. And after this second experience, we have no doubt that we will come back again. Why wouldn’t we? As others have said, the accommodations are excellent, the pool is refreshing, the setting - with all its foliage - is an oasis in the middle of this charming city, the breakfasts are marvelous, and the décor and artwork are well beyond what we have found in any other B&B that we have ever encountered.
On both stays at Los Arcos, our days usually seem to settle into a very comfortable and enjoyable rhythm. We start the morning by opening the windows wide so that the musical sound of the chirping birds can filter into our room. We eventually get to our table (And there are 2 tables, one for each of the 2 rooms), on the patio by the pool, just steps outside our door, for a deliciously satisfying breakfast, accompanied by as much coffee as we can drink - a considerable amount for us . Unless we are on a daytrip away from the city, we pause at mid-day, then again late at night, for a silky swim in that pool, then back to our room and its extremely comfortable bed.
Los Arcos is one of the best and finest B&Bs at which we have ever had the pleasure to stay – And I haven’t yet mentioned its owner , David, and the wonderful way in which he approaches his work. He truly cares for the well-being of his guests, trying his best to insure they are satisfied. I have read many reviews that say something like “It was like being a guest in his home”, or some variation. With David, it is like you ARE home in that he will do for you just as you like it at home. Room made up every day/every other day/not at all - your choice…. Eggs scrambled/sunny up/poached - your choice…My wife has an allergic reaction to sugar, so he found yogurt without. Want a cold beer? Buy some, put it in the fridge, have it whenever you want. The list goes on and on, but the point is that he will do things exactly as YOU like. Quick story – After one sitting, I had a lot of something leftover. He asked if I were done, I said yes, then I said – “You know, David, if I were home, I’d just put that in the fridge, then put it in the microwave later.” So that’s just the way it went.
I have decided something about David. Los Arcos is filled inside with his works of art. He is also an architect, having designed the remodeling of the building, as well as last spring’s forced remodeling of the patio, when the huge palm trees had to come down - making it even nicer than it had been before. The man is an artist, in the best sense of the word, and clearly that carries over into the way he manages this B&B. It is another canvas for his talent, and to experience the art that is Los Arcos, all you need do is stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
199
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just got back from Los Arcos after staying there 7 nights, and I wasn't ready to leave. We were very comfortable in the small garden room, enjoyed delicious breakfasts prepared by David and his Mexican housemaid/cook, Conchi, swam daily in the beautiful pool in the house's courtyard, and used his B and B as our "home base" in Merida. It was easy to do that, as his house is close to everywhere you want to be. The longest walk was perhaps 10 blocks to the Cathedral, and we took a horse-drawn carriage back that evening. Delightful.

David told us that he has been described as a Jewish mother, and I can see why! He wants to make sure you know where you're going, and wants to have an idea when you might be back. He asks you if you have the key as you're leaving. He asks if you need a bottled water to take with you. He wants a signal (like turning on or off a lamp) that lets him know if you've returned at night and he doesn't happen to see you come in. This did not feel smothering at all. It was nice, and sweet, really. I would send my parents to David, and he would take care of them, I'm sure. Very, very nice experience all the way around. And a great value, I might add.

Room Tip: The small garden room was perfectly fine for 2 people for 1 week
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniekifft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

When you stay at Los Arcos you feel you are a guest in Davids home. A fascinating collection of art and collectables are yours to enjoy along with his delightful pets. Any information you want to know about Merida, David is able to give you an informed opinion which makes your exploration so much easier. The breakfasts are great and tailored to suit your taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed 8 nights at Los Arcos and could have stayed forever. It's in a perfect location for walking all over Centro which we did daily. David was a perfect host, attentive and knowledgeable, and very relaxed and laid back. We really enjoyed his company, and his artwork. He gave us a tour of his incredible art and antique filled home and I just couldn't get enough of it. It was such a vision - this is how I want to decorate - exotic, and full of colour and life. Along with fabulous breakfasts with different dishes every morning, (omelets, huevos rancheros, huge fruit bowls, and huevos motulenos, - I could go on...) which we enjoyed poolside, and his adorable pets that we fell in love with, and the gorgeous jungle-like garden, there is nothing not to like at Los Arcos. It was absolute perfection. I would give it more stars if I could - we LOVED staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandrews57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We enjoyed a few days here earlier this month and decided to come back. David has been a very gracious host. He gave us good advice on where to eat and where there was some good local entertainment. His home is decorated with some lovely Mexican and US heritage pieces. He also does some wonderful paintings especially his old Mexican faces. It is very well situated here to walk to Santa Lucia Square for some great eating.

Room Tip: The single room has a double bed that was so comfy. We also were in the double room that we had book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Spent New Year's week at Los Arcos for the second straight year and again it was a fantastic experience. David Reed, the owner of Los Arcos, has created an exotic paradise in Merida. Since last year, he has added a back balcony to the main residence with a screened in sitting room underneath - beautiful. The large palms cornering the swimming pool had to be removed due to their roots cracking its bottom, but the gardener David hired filled things in wonderfully and the added sun light coming in has allowed the other plantings to grow out nicely, Breakfasts were huge and delicious. The art and artifacts were as intriguing as ever. David's suggestions for lunch and dinner were right on the mark like last year and his attention to your every need is marvelous. I could easily make this a New Year's tradition.

Room Tip: One residence in the back is a little smaller, so if you're a big person you'd want the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

While this was our first trip to Mexico, we are not unfamiliar with the bed and breakfast experience. I can't express how pleased we were with Los Arcos. The Bed & Breakfast experience alone was phenomenal - everything from the food to the decor was amazing. It is festive, luxurious and comfortable, all at once. The owner, David, is welcoming and warm, with an impeccable eye for detail. The location is perfect for city site-seeing, Maya Ruins-viewing, and beach-going. Do yourself a favor, and stay at the Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast!

Room Tip: *Fitness Center is n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessie_boops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 84 in Merida
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast

Property: Los Arcos Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle 66 # 448-B | (49 x 53 ) Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate bed and breakfast in Merida, Yucatan. Enjoy a private pool and lush tropical gardens in our luxurious oasis. Within easy walking distance of colonial El Centro, yet quiet and isolated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Bed And Breakfast
Los Arcos Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing