We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
363
10
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house tamales consummate host an oasis guest rooms are b and b the perfect place to stay site seeing ten minute walk within easy walking distance stayed longer reed art museum concha mexico yucatan
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 375 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After staying at David's delightful bed&breakfast with my husband several times over the past years, I think it is finally time to write a review, although not wanting to repeat what everyone has already written will be almost impossible.
He is indeed very generous and will go out of his way to provide you with anything within his power, including pastries and snacks for the ungodly early flight out of Merida on United.
He is witty and dare I say charming and lives with the most adorable babies(dogs and cats) you will meet in a long time. He must be so tired of hearing the same old joke about Isabella being kidnapped, although every one of us means it. His rooms are always clean and the towels are a-plenty. He is never too busy to chat or help with advice or dinner suggestions. His assistant is a sweet and handsome man from Argentina, who is married to a local girl and has made Yucatan his new home. And his cooking's not too shabby either! The pool is deliciously refreshing in the summer months, which makes it hard to leave, but the true beauty of this place is if you don't feel like leaving for the day, you don't have to, because you are always welcome in David's little slice of paradise.
And that is what I think of David and Los Arcos!

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank didibobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

La Casa de los Arcos is truly a magical place. You would never guess that such a beautiful oasis existed beyond the walls from the street. The rooms are gorgeous and both they and the house are filled with beautiful art. If you really wanted to relax, you could spend the day by the pool and just enjoy the wind through the palms.

Los Arcos is located in Centro north of the Plaza Grande within easy walking distance of many good restaurants. A little further in the opposite direction is the Paseo de Montejo with its mansions.

David is a very gracious and helpful host, and Lucas prepared wonderful breakfasts all three days we were there. One of our party fell ill and David made every effort to ensure his speedy recovery.

The time we spent there was well worth it and we'll be back.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wong-pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have now stayed at Los Arcos twice, and will keep coming back for long weekends! It's a perfect measure of relaxation and comfort. The location is far enough from the main square that the neighborhood is quiet and not overrun with tourists, but close enough that a short-walk gets you to restaurants and attractions. Thanks to David's hospitality, it already feels like a 'second home'.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank FullPassportTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What more can a reviewer say about Los Arcos and it’s owner/operator David Reed. The location is ideal for exploring the Centro, the décor in the main house is a combo of art gallery and museum. And I should mention David’s generosity: upgrading us to the spacious quarters in the upstairs of the main dwelling at no extra cost since he had overbooked the first night of our stay. And dare I say, he even shared with us a little of his tequila prior to a dinner outing. Be sure to get one David’s hand drawn maps of the neighborhood highlighting restaurants and plazas (this is not a Xerox copy, he seems to relish hand drawing a guest map, apropos for the artist that he is.) His able assistant Lucas was a delight and a great breakfast cook.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful tour of the Yucatan - we stayed for 3 nights in this B&B and were treated like special guests.

Our host - David Reed - was pleasant and let us enjoy his lovely home as if it were our own. He also gave us a tour of his marvelous old Merida house - fully restored and showed us his collection of antiques and art - his own works were very good too!

The bed was comfortable and the room suited our needs perfectly - not too big yet fully functional and private.

A special thanks though for his taking the time to listen to our unique dietary needs - he was able to prepare a wonderful custom breakfast every day that wass just great and kept us going all day.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews