We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value”
Review of Casa Ana B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ana B & B
Ranked #8 of 88 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Things we loved: gay friendly, quiet, bilingual Spanish-English hosts, great tips on finding quality food at inexpensive restaurants, refreshingly cool small pool, super-clean, beautifully decorated, fresh breakfasts, the unobtrusive outdoor cat did not set off our allergies. Main square, groovy Santa Lucia and elegant Paseo de Montejo are all within a 15-minute walk in different directions.
I left feeling we should have paid more for all of this.
Don't be put off by the drab street -- this B&B is a hidden treasure tucked away behind high walls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesbianCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were visiting friends in Merida for a week and they recommended this B&B, what a lovely place. It offers a beautiful lush courtyard, with three or four nice sitting areas, a pool, and a fridge to keep your beverages cold.
There was a delicious breakfast included, in 8 days it was never the same, and bottomless cups of the best coffee.

With a days notice, they will make dinner for $12.00 each, we had our friends over for dinner one night, absolutely delicious. We had our own wine, and feasted on the most tender Pork Tenderloin, whipped potatoes, and a veggie, and dessert.

It is an easy walk to town where the Grand Plaza is, and if you want to make arrangements for tours, or just some information, Anna and Marianne, are a wealth of information, and will make arrangements for you.

I would not hesitate to recommend this little gem, in the heart of town.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Ana's B&B is a very good value for the price. Ana goes to great lengths to make the B&B cozy and relaxing.

Ana extends herself to serve you and make your stay memorable. She adds lots of little touches to make the place hospitable. There were four seating areas in the garden which provided privacy if you wanted it, but could also be combined for group activities.

Ana was always available to help and provide information If Ana did not know the answer to a question about transportation to sites or attractions, she would make it her duty to get an answer for you.

We were going to stay 10 nights but wound up staying 16 because the stay was so enjoyable. During the 16 days, Ana never once repeated the same breakfast and they were all delicious. She even tuned in to the foods we liked or didn't like and provided alternatives without being asked--- such attention to detail and customer satisfaction.

One caveat, the B&B is a little hike from the centro so be prepared to walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omabob1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

but I will try anyway. Ana's is an oasis of peace in a bustling city, on a relatively quiet street a short walk to the center of town and Plaza Grande. Every building on the street is built right up to the sidewalk, Ana's only stands out because it is nicely painted. But once you go through the door, you walk through several ante-rooms to the open garden area where the breakfast area and the pool are, with four rooms at the back and one before the pool (which is a nice place to cool off after a day of walking.) There is also a covered sitting area with chairs and a hammock in the middle of the garden area, with cold water and soda available in the fridge.

We stayed here the first three and last three nights of our trip to Yucatán, and the five of us, average age 70, walked everywhere - to the market, the cathedral and Plaza Grande area, restaurants, shopping - everything we wanted to see was near enough to get to on foot. Ana is the perfect host, friendly and a great help with suggestions, directions and information, and if she doesn't know something (rare) she'll call someone. The daily breakfasts she prepares are delicious and varied, and the coffee is real (a lot of places give you hot water and a jar of Nescafe).

I plan to return to Mérida, and I definitely plan to stay at Casa Ana when I do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Casa Ana was a brilliant place to start our trip around the Yucatan. The garden and patio area is beautifully done, a good place to read after a day's pottering. The room was clean and very tastefully decorated. Ana was enormously helpful, suggesting places to go and what free music was on in which square. Breakfast was lovely, a nice time to meet other guests and talk about what we were all up to.
The walk from town is only about ten minutes - I really enjoyed being that little bit away from the centre. We went to a lovely bar called Negrita - very near Ana's place, I would recommend that too.
All in all, great honest value and a little relaxing escape!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RaMa1London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had three nights in Casa Ana in late December, staying in the Buganbilia room. It was quiet, bright, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The courtyard garden and pool are quite gloriously colourful but tranquil, the breakfast in the airy dining area quite delicious. Ana said she doesn't offer eggs, because 'everyone wants something different' but the variety of bread fruits and jams we had was terrific.
Ana was a mine of helpful information and a really lovely host. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Merida if you want to feel really looked after and have value for money at the same time in a great central location.

Room Tip: the two first floor rooms are probably lighter and quieter than those on the ground floor, but it...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Casa Ana's location a ways away from the central plaza means a little more walking, but also that it's quieter at night. And, It's courtyard is so charming you are tempted to just hang out there anyway, rather than visit the wonderful plazas, churches and markets of Merida. Our room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Ana is very kind and accommodating, did our laundry, and helped us make arrangements for trips outside the city. A super bargain!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeb128118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 88 in Merida
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ochenta Y Dos [an urban bed & breakfast]
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 88 in Merida
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Piazzetta
Hotel La Piazzetta
#3 of 88 in Merida
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ana B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ana B & B

Address: Calle 52 # 469 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of the country in the heart of the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing