We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Peregrino
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful little place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I will come back here. It is a nice hotel with the community feel of a hostel. Clean and friendly and a free breakfast. The room was quaint and I loved the mosaic tiling in the bathroom. The staff was helpful with everything. Location is quiet which is hard to find this close to downtown Merida.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    132
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
97
220
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This manages to tick several boxes for accommodation - it's great value with a location within 10 minutes walk of Plaza Grande. The rooms are spacious and spotless and the showers are hot! We visited around Easter and whilst it was 35C outside, the air-con was first class. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and I'd have no hesitations staying here again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter but wi-fi is intermittent...decisions, decisions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is a hidden gem in Merida. The value was amazing! For around $50 a night we got a great room with breakfast for 2 included. The service was comparable to a 5 star hotel and the place was very clean. Breakfast is simple but tasty and all that you need to begin a day of sight seeing. Alexander and Fernando at reception were both excellent and will give you lots of help and advice if you need it. I would recommend to request a room upstairs if possible as a couple of the rooms are very close to the breakfast area which starts to get noisy at 8am. We will definitely go back to this hotel if we return to Merida. It has lots of Mexican charm. The rooms and hotel are brightly coloured and it has that hacienda feel unlike some of the concrete monstrosities that we saw around town. It is also located very close to the main sights in the old town but if you are very lazy you can take a taxi for $2! Progreso was a nice day trip from here 30 mins away in a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loooove_de_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed now at several hotels on our Mexican vacation and this is by far the best. The hotel is as ¨Mexican¨as you can get. The colours and decorations give you that feeling of a warm and cosy home. The staff are excellent in every way. From recommending restaurants to booking tours they were extremely friendly and helpful. Even the housekeeper said good morning to us every day with a big smile and maintained our room and other areas spick and span.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinton falls, nj
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful staff. We rented a house up the street and the staff at Hotel del Peregrino "adopted" us. They severed as our concierge in Merida and were very hospitable to us despite the fact we were staying elsewhere. We had made (and paid for) reservations closer to the airport; however, because they were so awesome, we decided to stay here for our last night in Merida. Beds were ROCK hard, but everything else was great. Lovely deck upstairs (no pool, no hot tub) and the rooms were spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruovick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yimijandro, General Manager at Hotel del Peregrino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
You bend over backwards to help people out when their not even staying at the hotel.....and that's the thanks you get?

PS - Have you ever slept on rocks?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family is staying near Hotel del Peregrino. Our Internet is down and they allow us to use the wifi in the hotel's beautiful lobby. We also booked an amazing trip to Uxmal through them. Whenever we have a question about Merida, the staff helps us in English or they patiently listen to our halting Spanish. Everyone is warm and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel during a trip to Mexico in December 2012. The hotel itself is fine however we opted for the cheapest available room which meant that we were placed in one of the ground floor rooms, right next to reception and communal areas which were noisy! If you do decide to book this hotel, double check that you can book a room that is up on the first floor to avoid getting disturbed, especially if you are a light sleeper.

The breakfast was basic however anything included in the room fee I feel is a bonus!

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are down stairs and very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJenkins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yimijandro, General Manager at Hotel del Peregrino, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
The hotel was completely full at Christmas and most of our guests were in festive moods so that conversations during breakfast were lively and fun. For those light sleepers with rooms close to the courtyard, sleeping past 8am may have been little difficult however this is usually not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#34 of 103 in Merida
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 103 in Merida
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Peregrino

Property: Hotel del Peregrino
Address: Calle 51 No. 488, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#10 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#12 Business Hotel in Merida
#17 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Peregrino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Peregrino is a colonial house that has been tastefully remodelled into a beautiful hotel located in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Hotel del Peregrino is ideal for the discriminating and frugal traveler. All of our lovely, Mexican style, private rooms come with a new private bathroom, 21” cable television, mini-split air conditioning, ceiling fan, security box, off-site swimming pool and much more. In Hotel del Peregrino we have a long standing reputation for amazing service and cleanliness. These are qualities we strive to maintain and always improve. Hotel del Peregrino is located in the Historical Center of Merida, Yucatan it is walking distance to all the attractions in town, including La Plaza Grande, Governor’s Palace, Saint Idelfonso Cathedral and Paseo de Montejo. There is parking and the neighbourhood is quiet. We also have our own travel agency where you can book tours to visit the surrounding area, including Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Dzibilchaltun, Uxmal, Celestun, cenotes and much more. Or if you want to do it on your own, we can arrange for your car rental and help you with directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Peregrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing