We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suites del Sol, an excellent starting base to explore Merida sans car!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suites del Sol

Suites del Sol
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suites del Sol
Ranked #55 of 103 Hotels in Merida
new york, usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Suites del Sol, an excellent starting base to explore Merida sans car!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are a well travelled retired couple who has been staying at the Suites del Sol one month each year in 2012 and 2013. Our 1 bedroom apartment is spacious, safe, clean, well equipped, reasonable, and conveniently located near the Paseo de Montejo. The manager Thelmy is exceptionally efficient, helpful and caring towards her guests with excellent English. Her staff (Pancho with a scowl, German with a perpetual smile, Juan the do-all, and Florencio the night watchman) is friendly, and helpful although mostly in Spanish, and numerous little chores. We take daily walks on the Paseo, mornings on the East side, and afternoons on the West side to avoid the direct sun while benefitting from the warm weather.We take bus to go to the zocalo, listen to Trova concerts at Santa Lucia on Thursday nights, and walk to the theater Contreras for Sunday concerts with the Yucatecan Symphony orchestra. We provision weekly at the Walmart nearby, coming back to the apartment through taxis. We walk to have occasional lunches and dinners at the Trattoria, great for pasta, or the Hennessy, an Irish pub serving Sunday prime rib roasts! The convenience of the Suites del Sol, its central location, its friendly staff more than compensate for a minor annoyance of the early ruckus of the primary school next door around 7 am, which affects us less than some other tenants, as we are early risers.
We have already reserved for next year 2014, and looking forward to coming back to the Suites del Sol!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
14
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a great holiday staying at Suites del Sol. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Pancho, German, Juan, Florencio and Thelmy (who speaks very good English).
They supply us with lawn chairs so we could sit on the sidewalk and talk to locals. The carnaval was a great experience and only a few feet away from our street. On Valentin's day, the owner greeted me with a rose. The apartment was huge and very comfortable. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at Suites del Sol several times. Every time we felt at home. All of the staff are courteous, happy, and helpful. Our first time in Merida and Mexico we stayed for six weeks and although we were in a foreign environment we always felt safe and were provided help with settling into the area and becoming comfortable with our new surroundings. Every time we return to Merida we stay at Suites del Sol. I cannot compliment the location, the quality, the price, and the staff enough. We highly recommend Suites del Sol to anybody visiting the beautiful city of Merida!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

For several years I have been staying at the furnished apartments of Suites del Sol in the colonial city of Merida. I usually visit Merida for at least one month at a time and the price, friendliness, safety, and cleanliness of these apartments have gotten my repeat business. My first contact with Suites del Sol was by email with Thelmy of the Terrats family, owner of the apartment building. Thelmy reads, writes, and speaks fluent English and is particularly humorous with her email messages. She is a pleasure to work with in person or by email. The Suites del Sol apartments are clean and large. They are fully furnished and have large kitchens and bathrooms.

I particularly like the location just one short block from Merida’s magnificent boulevard, Paseo de Montejo. This street is lined with very wide sidewalks and beautiful street trees. There are sidewalk cafes, indoor/outdoor restaurants, banks, boutiques, bicycle rentals, and even a Starbucks. Merida residents and tourists stroll the street day and night. It makes a pleasant experience to go out in the evening to a restaurant on the Paseo de Montejo knowing that when you return to your apartment building you will be greeted by the friendly Suites del Sol night watchman. In all, Suites del Sol is a great place for a longer than normal stay in Merida.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are in Suites del Sol for our second year. We arrived December 31st, and it was like coming home! Our first morning started with ringing of our doorbell. We opened the door to two of our favorite smiling faces. German and Pancho were delivering our box of personal items we had left behind last year. I cannot say enough about the kind, caring attitudes of the people of Suites del Sol. Thelmy is perfectly bilingual and so helpful to everyone, especially to my husband, who does not speak spanish. Pancho, German, Florencio and Juan are my generous helpers while I learn more spanish! One special touch this year was Senor Terrats (owner, and father of Thelmy)...who greeted me on Valentine's Day with a single rose...Just a special treat for all the women visitors! We will be back next year for sure, in this place we call our second home!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meridachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is my fourth year at Suites del Sol. The apartments are fully furnished, including sheets, towels, cookware. The furnishing and drapes are fairly neutral so it´s possible to personalize your apartment if you plan to stay awhile. Wireless and cable are included. If you stay for a month or more you pay your own electricity which I appreciate because it means that I´m not paying for other peoples air conditioners. There is plenty of cross ventilation so I rarely use my AC. The rooms and hallways are very clean, the staff is friendly and responsive. I am surprised by the BayRidgeCouple that claimed that Thelmy´s English is not particularly good. She is completely fluent in English. She is also extremely helpful and friendly. As for StealthTraveller who has stayed at Suites del Sol 5 times and only the first two years were a good experience, well I´m just kind of wondering why he kept coming back. As for bugs, there are, in fact, ants. It´s a tropical climate. I imagine there are ants in Fiesta Americana if you leave food out. Over half the people in this building come back year after year which speaks well of Suites del Sol. I expect to keep coming back. If you´re here in the winter you can ask for Pina. I gave only a 4 star rating for sleep quality because there is a bit of noise from outside so if you´re accustomed to country quiet Suites del Sol would not be the place for you. Most of the noise is pleasant, music from nearby restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you have a room in the back 03 or 04 you will be awakened by the nuns at the school at 7 or 7.30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pina1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Convenient, helpful, economical. A winning combination for a wonderful 3 month stay in Merica, Yucatan. The staff are so willing to help with phone calls, reservations, and your comfort in general. One street away from the beautiful Paseo Montejo and numerous bus routes. Free wifi available added to the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
5.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#60 of 103 in Merida
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#56 of 103 in Merida
29 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#57 of 103 in Merida
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Suites Imperial
Suites Imperial
#88 of 103 in Merida
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Espanol Paseo de Montejo
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maya Yucatan
BEST WESTERN Maya Yucatan
#69 of 103 in Merida
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites del Sol

Property: Suites del Sol
Address: Calle 58 No. 405 por 39 Y 41 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments for long and short term rental. We specialize in providing excellent service for business professionals on extended stay, people seeking relocation to the Yucatan or travelers looking for long term accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suites del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing