We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marionetas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marionetas
Ranked #11 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carugate, Italy
Level Contributor
420 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Nice stay in a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Big comfortable rooms with many services, nice swimming pool, good breakfast served in a stylish portico. The garden has plenty of flowers. The door of the bathroom was a "saloon door" so the bathroom was constantly in direct communication with the bedroom. Quiet place, 10 min walk from the centre, in a district with no restaurants. The bed was a bit hard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    86
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
154
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My son and I had made reservations to stay at this hotel. Unfortunately our plans changed last minute. We had already provided a credit card number to hold the reservation with the understanding that last minute cancellations warranted a one. night charge. My son was charged for two nights and despite his constant communication with them for over a month he has yet to be refunded for the extra night although they kept saying that they would. We do plan to travel to México but will NOT be staying at this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a 6 night stay here on one of our many trips to beautiful Merida and our 1st stay at Marionetas. It was truly a great experience. Our room was very comfortable with a good bed and was very clean and neat, just like the rest of the hotel. It is quiet and very comfortable with only 8 rooms. The room was on the relaxing patio secluded from everything so it was peaceful. The staff was always helpful and very friendly. Easy walking to everything so we didn't need a car. Walked to the bus station and took a $3.00 round trip bus to Progresso for a day trip.
Would highly recommend this great value!

Room Tip: Get one in the back on the main level like #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnZOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scharbeutz, Germany
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

While there are numerous hotels in Merida that cater to tourists and my wife and I are regular visitors of this lively town it took us years to discover the Marionetas. To those who come to Merida by car driving in this town may seem a nightmare and will only end once one has made it safely to the hotel parking space which in the center of town may often be away from the hotel. There is normally no parking on the street in the downtown area. What a surprise at the Marionetas. Guarded guest parking in a private parking area right across from the hotel entrance.

The hotel offers only nine comfortable and individually decorated rooms in Mexican style. Free WiFi works super in each of the rooms and throughout the hotel. In addition a free cold breakfast with fresh juice and fruit as well as toast and super coffee are served on the terrace near the little pool. The staff and general manager go out of their way to please their guests. Although located six blocks from the zocalo, main cathedral and entertainment and shopping area we gladly accepted the 15 minute walk to the historic center and took a cab back to the hotel at night for less than US $ 3 including tip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Juergen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we chose the suite (didn't cost a lot more than the other rooms). It was indeed a nice place, the courtyard is nicely kept, and the pool is great on warm days.
The suite was a very large room, with two bathrooms and a kitchen(ette) with a fridge, and it had a TV, fans and AC. Outside there is a private terrace.

I think it is better to stay here than in the downtown area, because it allows you to see a little more of Merida on your (5-10 min) walk into the centre of town.

Nearby: Just across the street is a small bar (La Negrita) witch is very cool/nice, and a little further is a great pizza place, a small convenience store and La Chaya Maya (local and very low price with great food restaurant).

I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great little hotel just a short walk to the city's main plaza. Just sorry that we only spent one night there.
Many nice places to eat and drink nearby. Beautiful colonial architecture and wrought iron everywhere. The people couldn't be nicer.
Merida is a beautiful place and we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatdaddy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marionetas for 2 nights and really liked the atmosphere and style of the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. A hammock, water, fridge and safe it provided. We didn't try the hammock but the water, fridge and safe were much appreciated. The bathroom was a slightly odd layout, but did not detract from the charm of the place. The breakfast was very nice and was served in a palapa next to the pool. It consisted of juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, fruit and warm bread with jam. The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly - we had a problem with our rental care which they helped us sort out by phoning a garage and help us liaise with them when we had a phone call in particularly quick spanish! They also recommended a lovely restaurant - Chaya Maya - was was great value Mayan food and was a mixture of locals and a few tourists. The pool was a decent size and was an absolute necessity in the heat! If you are driving to the hotel, they have use of a small public car park directly opposit the hotel which you can use for free as a guest. Would definitely recommend this hotel and found the price to be very reasonable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nat-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 84 in Merida
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marionetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marionetas

Property: Hotel Marionetas
Address: Calle 64 Centro 62, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marionetas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel in Merida Yucatan in a colorful garden setting. Every room has a phone, air conditioning, new bed, and spacious bathrooms. Amenities include pool, cafe and bar, internet and fax access, safe boxes and parking. Enjoy the charm of a colonial home without giving up the conveniences of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marionetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing