We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location a short walk from downtown”
Review of Hotel Marionetas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marionetas
Ranked #12 of 79 Merida B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location a short walk from downtown”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we chose the suite (didn't cost a lot more than the other rooms). It was indeed a nice place, the courtyard is nicely kept, and the pool is great on warm days.
The suite was a very large room, with two bathrooms and a kitchen(ette) with a fridge, and it had a TV, fans and AC. Outside there is a private terrace.

I think it is better to stay here than in the downtown area, because it allows you to see a little more of Merida on your (5-10 min) walk into the centre of town.

Nearby: Just across the street is a small bar (La Negrita) witch is very cool/nice, and a little further is a great pizza place, a small convenience store and La Chaya Maya (local and very low price with great food restaurant).

I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    88
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
29
159
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great little hotel just a short walk to the city's main plaza. Just sorry that we only spent one night there.
Many nice places to eat and drink nearby. Beautiful colonial architecture and wrought iron everywhere. The people couldn't be nicer.
Merida is a beautiful place and we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatdaddy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marionetas for 2 nights and really liked the atmosphere and style of the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. A hammock, water, fridge and safe it provided. We didn't try the hammock but the water, fridge and safe were much appreciated. The bathroom was a slightly odd layout, but did not detract from the charm of the place. The breakfast was very nice and was served in a palapa next to the pool. It consisted of juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, fruit and warm bread with jam. The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly - we had a problem with our rental care which they helped us sort out by phoning a garage and help us liaise with them when we had a phone call in particularly quick spanish! They also recommended a lovely restaurant - Chaya Maya - was was great value Mayan food and was a mixture of locals and a few tourists. The pool was a decent size and was an absolute necessity in the heat! If you are driving to the hotel, they have use of a small public car park directly opposit the hotel which you can use for free as a guest. Would definitely recommend this hotel and found the price to be very reasonable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nat-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two weeks at this charming, restored colonial hotel. This was our second visit this year and we will definitely book again. The hotel is in a restored puppet theater, which adds to its charm. With 100 degree plus heat, the good sized pool was a welcome respite. Our room was an exceptional find. We booked well in advance for their apartment sized king bed room, situated high above the hotel's old section. With a private terrace, dining and living room, a small kitchenette, two bathrooms and large king bed, this large space is the best value in Merida. The hotel's owner of ten years is a wealth of information, having spent his career overseas working in international development. His staff is helpful, responsive and accommodating. Enrique, the front desk manager, speaks fluent English and can do everything from booking a car or tour to making a reservation at one of Merida's fine restaurants. The hotel serves a simple breakfast of yogurt, hot rolls with jam and butter, fresh fruit which differs everyday, and any eggs to order for an extra charge. Breakfast is served in a delightful garden setting next to the pool. The coffee is good, but only two blocks from the hotel is a corner old word coffee shop with the best expresso in town. Good restaurants (Rafaello's Pizza, Chaya Maya, and the newly opened Tratto's) are just a few blocks away and the Plaza Grande is a 15 minute walk. This exceptionally clean and quiet hotel is a gem for those desiring an excellent room for an excellent price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for the first time this past February. We've rebooked for 2014....Hotel Marionetas met all our expectations and we met so many new friends. It's located centrally to everything...reasonably priced, what more could you ask for....

Room Tip: The King Suite is well worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our room had a lot of character. Clean and tidy. Large double bed and hammock in room. Free fridge for your own use. Free in room wifi (which is better then some of the larger hotels we have been in recently). Free parking across the road. 15 minute walk to the town centre. Very small swimming pool.

We did not have breakfast as they did not start serving until 8 o'clock. Staff friendly and helpful and understood English.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMum44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Marionetas is a small and cozy hotel located approx 6 blocks from the center of downtown. It only has 9 rooms, most of which have 2 queen beds.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel - the place feels homey, rooms are clean and nicely decorated, there's a small pool+garden in the middle and next to it a patio with a few tables (used for breakfast).
Here are some more of our impressions:
- In the beginning we stayed in one of the king-size bed rooms (there are 2 of these) but we didn't like it - our room had a leaking toilet which was also very weak (a common problem in Merida and they even ask you not to throw paper...). In addition, the king-size rooms have tall ceilings with windows all the way up so you can't enjoy any view. These rooms are located right next to the entrance which we didn't like either. We asked to move to a different room but the hotel was full so in the third night we were moved to one of the standard 2-bed rooms and things got better.
- The included breakfast was not bad - some buns+jam, yogurt, fruits and orange juice. You can order eggs but this will cost extra. Overall good quality and the waiter Jesus was really nice too.
- The hotel location could be better, but still not a deal breaker. It's a 15 minute walk from the center (Catedral area) but Merida is considered very safe and we didn't feel any problem walking in the evenings.
- Each room has a hammock which was a very nice addition. If they added a couple of these in the garden it would be perfect.
- The Wifi signal could really use a boost... The signal can vary from room to room, but from our experience you'll have to sit in the patio to get a decent signal.
- TVs are quite small so I'd definitely do some upgrade there as well. This is really noticeable in the king-size bed room. Don't forget your binoculars...
Overall - a clean hotel, friendly staff and good value for the money. If you just avoid the rooms with the king size bed - you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: try to skip the king-size bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marionetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marionetas

Property: Hotel Marionetas
Address: Calle 49 #516 x 62 y 64 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marionetas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel in Merida Yucatan in a colorful garden setting. Every room has a phone, air conditioning, new bed, and spacious bathrooms. Amenities include pool, cafe and bar, internet and fax access, safe boxes and parking. Enjoy the charm of a colonial home without giving up the conveniences of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marionetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing