We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Arecas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Peregrino(Merida)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa del Balam(Merida)(Great Value!)
$57
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique(Merida)
$150
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Merida(Merida)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luz En Yucatan(Merida)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
60
20
2
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
20
2
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful colonial houseevery morningguest roomswe've stayedwonderful hostsmaurototoplazamexicocourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 87 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Travelling independently at the end of January 2007 I arrived in Merida after easily booking the Arecas room to be met by Raul who is very helpful and friendly intending to stay two nights but ended staying five nights. Las Arecas B & B is spotless with a lovely court yard with fountain court yard where you can have breakfast with Raul and Mauro the owner. The location is 10 minutes walk to the centre of the city centre Plaza where on Saturday and Sunday the streets are blocked to cars and which is taken over with people dancing, drinking and enjoying life which Meridan’s seem to do with great gusto. I overlapped with the arts festival so there were lots to do but could always go back home(felt like home) for a break. All in a very enjoyable place to stay in Merida.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank TravellingWelshChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2007

Wonderful place. Mauro, the owner, was incredibly helpful to me when the airlines lost my bags, making numerous calls on my behalf. Morning coffee and fresh-orange juice are served by the ever-elegant Raul, who speaks beautiful English. Rooms are clean, simple, quiet. Lovely interior courtyard. I will most definitely go back.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank PatriciaSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed with the guys at Las Arecas over New Years' week 2007 and have the highest regard for their operation -- if you can call it that. They run the place like you've all been invited to stay in guestrooms in their house. No swanky furniture, appliances, electronics, etc., just the basics for comfort in a handsome colonial style. Breakfast is prepared when you appear in the courtyard in the morning (or by prior arrangement). Friendliness is a given, but you can snag a quiet table in the front parlour if you like. Guests each get a front door key; be aware that there may be times when nobody's home (unless your initial arrival is anticipated).

The location is excellent for getting around in town and is not far from bus stations for getting out of town. The street can be busy during the day, but all the living quarters are in the rear, flanked by a well-tended garden (frequently decorated with your sheets drying in the sun). It's a fine old colonial house, colorfully and neatly maintained by a fine bunch of folks.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nellWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We arrived at the guest house and were greeted at the door by Raul a very gracious host and by now a dear friend. Mauro was immediately behind him and we were whisked into the interior courtyard of this wonderful place. We were surrounded by a lush feel of plant life and hominess. Mauro showed us to our first room which had high ceilings and was just beautiful. (we stayed there three weeks and stayed in three different rooms all of them just fine by us) Mauro was very friendly and a fine host. It takes a special person to allow strangers into your home and to embrace them if they are open to the experience. We did meet some lovely people while we were there. I think if you demand to be catered to then stay at a hotel , there were a few guests with this attitude. However for the most part, The other guests who came and went during our stay were kind and laid back and took to the feel of the place. We will certainly stay here again and look forward to being back in Merida. So glad to have found you Mauro Raul and Las Arecas.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JaredAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We spent a week in Merida over Christmas and found it to be a great central place for sightseeing. Las Arecas (bed and breakfast) was a great home base and a good price. Mauro speaks very limited English but was always willing to help. Raul's English is very good, and we had great fun chatting with him - and - he booked some of our tours for us making it very convenient. The rooms are bright and big with high bright ceilings. The furnishings are basic, but very clean and comfortable.The location was awesome - only about 3 blocks from the central square. The fruit and bread every morning for breakfast was a bit repetitive, but fresh fruit is always good down there.

Merida is an awesome place to visit - a beautiful old colonial city with very friendly and helpful people. We'll definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews