We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viva Las Arecas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Arecas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Arecas
Ranked #23 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Viva Las Arecas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2007

Wonderful place. Mauro, the owner, was incredibly helpful to me when the airlines lost my bags, making numerous calls on my behalf. Morning coffee and fresh-orange juice are served by the ever-elegant Raul, who speaks beautiful English. Rooms are clean, simple, quiet. Lovely interior courtyard. I will most definitely go back.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
9
23
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed with the guys at Las Arecas over New Years' week 2007 and have the highest regard for their operation -- if you can call it that. They run the place like you've all been invited to stay in guestrooms in their house. No swanky furniture, appliances, electronics, etc., just the basics for comfort in a handsome colonial style. Breakfast is prepared when you appear in the courtyard in the morning (or by prior arrangement). Friendliness is a given, but you can snag a quiet table in the front parlour if you like. Guests each get a front door key; be aware that there may be times when nobody's home (unless your initial arrival is anticipated).

The location is excellent for getting around in town and is not far from bus stations for getting out of town. The street can be busy during the day, but all the living quarters are in the rear, flanked by a well-tended garden (frequently decorated with your sheets drying in the sun). It's a fine old colonial house, colorfully and neatly maintained by a fine bunch of folks.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nellWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

We arrived at the guest house and were greeted at the door by Raul a very gracious host and by now a dear friend. Mauro was immediately behind him and we were whisked into the interior courtyard of this wonderful place. We were surrounded by a lush feel of plant life and hominess. Mauro showed us to our first room which had high ceilings and was just beautiful. (we stayed there three weeks and stayed in three different rooms all of them just fine by us) Mauro was very friendly and a fine host. It takes a special person to allow strangers into your home and to embrace them if they are open to the experience. We did meet some lovely people while we were there. I think if you demand to be catered to then stay at a hotel , there were a few guests with this attitude. However for the most part, The other guests who came and went during our stay were kind and laid back and took to the feel of the place. We will certainly stay here again and look forward to being back in Merida. So glad to have found you Mauro Raul and Las Arecas.

  • Liked — the great people and home charm
  • Disliked — a couple of obnoxious guests go somewhere else
  • Tips/Secrets — just kick back and enjoy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

We spent a week in Merida over Christmas and found it to be a great central place for sightseeing. Las Arecas (bed and breakfast) was a great home base and a good price. Mauro speaks very limited English but was always willing to help. Raul's English is very good, and we had great fun chatting with him - and - he booked some of our tours for us making it very convenient. The rooms are bright and big with high bright ceilings. The furnishings are basic, but very clean and comfortable.The location was awesome - only about 3 blocks from the central square. The fruit and bread every morning for breakfast was a bit repetitive, but fresh fruit is always good down there.

Merida is an awesome place to visit - a beautiful old colonial city with very friendly and helpful people. We'll definitely be back someday!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing really - the rooms are very basic but quite comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — Las Arecas is a great home base
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

Las Arecas wasn't our first choice when booking for a Merida vacation but, since we've stayed there for 5 days, we'd do it again. Mauro Ruiz, the owner, speaks a little English and is very helpful. Raoul, his helper, speaks many languages, including fluent English; he's a major resource.

The room we stayed in (first floor rear) has a small kitchen area, good bathroom, tile floors, ceiling fans, hot water 24/7. About 3-4 blocks from main square, this place is a solid, reliable, safe place.

Helpful?
11 Thank jewellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2006

We choose Las Arecas after reading the reviews and after checking out their webpage ----. What a good choice!!! We found people in Mexico really friendly, but the LasArecas staff even topped that! Wherever there is a problem or you need trip advice Mauro or Rauol are always keen on helping you!
The location is really central, only a couple of blocks from the main square and at most a 10 minutes walk away from the 1st and 2nd class bus terminal. However beeing so central it's really quiet. Therefore you could think its pricey; no Mauro only charges a really fair price. Included is also a breakfast containing a wonderful fresh squeezed orange juice!!!
We stayed at Las Arecas a couple of nights and used it as a base for exploring the area with Chicchen Itza, Celestun, Campeche with Edzna and of course exploring wonderful Merida! A wonderful place to stay and spend your vacation!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2006

I have stayed at Las Arecas many times in the last 4 years, and the old colonial home just keeps getting better. A recently paved garden spot is loaded with local flora and a calming little reflection pool. On this trip, the bananas had several stalks of ripening fruit, and I was sorry that I would not be able to be there for the harvest as I have in the past.
No sweeter banana exists than one ripe from the tree at Las Arecas.
Sit around at night in the front salita (little living room) and you may feel like you're a part of a 1940's movie.
I wouldn't call this a "luxury" guest house, unless one enjoys a clean, comfortable colorful place to stay where every attention is paid to making one's stay a good as possible.
Mauro, Raul (who speaks several languages), and Pepe (Mauro's nephew)make sure that everything is right with your Las Arecas stay.
Two new rooms have been added since my first visit, and the spacious original 3 room suites are a delight to experience.
I can make no comment on the continental breakfast, as the city is so safe, I was out very late every night and slept in!
¡Buen viaje!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Centenario
Hotel Gran Centenario
#43 of 84 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Escaleras Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#5 of 84 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Trotamundos
Hostal Trotamundos
#14 of 72 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arecas

Property: Las Arecas
Address: Calle 59 #541 between Calle 66 and Calle 68 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small colonial guest house located in the Centro Historico of Merida, Yucatan, just three blocks from the Zocalo. Quiet, clean, economical rooms centered around a lovely inner courtyard and include a continental breakfast. Each room has a private bath and some have kitchenettes. Guests have complete privacy, as well as use of gardens and common rooms. Wifi is available for guests as well. Mauro is a Yucatecan who is hosting you in the house that has belonged to his family for generations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing