We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay in Merida”
Review of Las Arecas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Arecas
Ranked #24 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel included two clean and quiet rooms, cool people and filtered drinking water.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actualman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed for a week and found Las Arecas to be comfortable, clean and convenient. At their bargain prices accomodations are plain, but commodious. Walked everywhere with main plaza (city center) only 5 or 6 blocks. Going the opposite direction, a neighborhood park surrounded by retail and restaurants provided a more relaxed environment. Common kitchen is available and central courtyard allows private outdoor enjoyment. Prime benefit is meeting the owner, Raul, who radiates old world charm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed 6 nights in Las Arecas and it was all pleasure. The Guest House has a very central location and even though quiet.
But first of all it is a beautiful colonial house with a garden/patio full of plants, a welcoming host and a nice kitchen to sit and have chat in. A cat is on guard, if not sleeping and a lively dog is just running around if out.
I stayed in a big room, almost two rooms and it worked out perfect. Don´t come if you are looking for TV and things like that. There is WI-FI.
I got a lot for the price. Thank you. I know where to stay if coming to Merida again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at Las Arecas for several nights and loved it. The colonial interior is truly impressive, and gives a real sense of history. It is very centrally located, but the cool, high-ceilinged interior rooms are a world away from the street outside. My room was spacious and clean, and free wifi and use of the kitchen made it very good value for money. Mauro and Raúl are relaxed but attentive hosts, who didn't hesitate to assist when I locked myself out of my room (!), and when I need help with my luggage. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We had the best time,

the room was clean and has a lot of space...the house is beautiful, The location is mucho bueno because it is close to the stores and restaurant. People is nice and they are very helpful...Love it! I am going back this summer!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracie520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This little guest house felt like a home away from home and I totally agree with other reviewers that have found Las Arecas a great place to stay in the city. The house probably dates from the Colonial period and is a good example of how city homes were laid out historically. It's rich history is a real bonus.
I want to point out that one review that should be taken with a grain of salt as it stated that he/she did not actually stay at Las Arecas but chose to rank all of the services and amenities very low anyway. Sounds like sour grapes because of the missed communications which would perhaps have been cause for a poor review.
In addition to the amenities mentioned in other reviews, there is Internet access in the sitting area and it is nice to be able to make coffee to have with goodies from a local bakery in the morning. Friendly people, history, city access, and comfortable accomodations can't be beat for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Don't believe any of the less than enthusiastic reviews for this place, it's a treasure! And so are the managers--Mauro the owner, worked with me through some unexpected travel delays due to health reasons, and he gave me a very fair deal after months of back and forth emails. Raul and Pepe provided us with fresh towels (towels are an issure everywhere in Mexico!) Just steps from Santiago church, plaza, and mercado--you can live very inexpensively, or walk four blocks to the Plaza Principal and dine with the tourist crowd. The hosts helped us find taxis during a recent taxi strike and made other recommendations for our time there. Roomy and clean accomodations--a lovely shower with lots of hot water. We had adjoining rooms for the price of one! The house itself is lovingly cared for, but it is old--18th Century, with two front parlours and a patio with a kitchen in the back. It is very quiet at night--this is rare in Merida! Go--you'll love it! Its the real deal...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquatic-cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marionetas
Hotel Marionetas
#15 of 86 in Merida
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 105 in Merida
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#34 of 105 in Merida
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arecas

Address: Calle 59 #541 between Calle 66 and Calle 68 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: $19 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small colonial guest house located in the Centro Historico of Merida, Yucatan, just three blocks from the Zocalo. Quiet, clean, economical rooms centered around a lovely inner courtyard and include a continental breakfast. Each room has a private bath and some have kitchenettes. Guests have complete privacy, as well as use of gardens and common rooms. Wifi is available for guests as well. Mauro is a Yucatecan who is hosting you in the house that has belonged to his family for generations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing