We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Admirable Effort”

Cassandra Bistro Bar
Ranked #564 of 756 Restaurants in Merida
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A wonderful place with a lovely patio as well as an air conditioning area.One costumer said, "Wonderful addition to Merida. Good food, wonderful service and lovely atmosphere. I´m glad you are here" Visit us and you will be delight.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Admirable Effort”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We looked forward to our Saturday night reservation at Cassandra. Unfortunately, the rain washed out our wish to dine in the courtyard but undaunted we were seated inside and began to check the food and wine offerings.
We had read the few glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and cautiously anticipated a new dining experience in Merida. Well, apart from free parking across the street (at the owners notary offices), the friendly greeting from the lovely hostess, who offered her umbrella as we entered the courtyard and the earnest service, our food was relatively uninspired and over cooked. We noticed our food was ordered through a small window at the rear of the restaurant (seemingly connected to the kitchen which was in a separate building. Our waiter then had to deliver it by coming in the front door. We drank beer with our meal, so we cannot comment on the wine list but the prices by the glass (a pet peeve of mine) were reasonable.
The interior of the restaurant is decorated with a motley array of antiques collected by the owner's wife during her many travels.
What is surely an admirable effort by the owners, Cassandra may need more work on it's menu (ex. more inspired menu items, more quality ingredients, some vegetarian options) to encourage us to revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The best restaurant experience we've had in Mérida since we arrived three months ago. Delightful melding of Eureopean and Yucatecan inspired cuisines. Gracious staff and owner host. Great Santa Ana location-worth the trip if you're not close by. Can't recommend highly enough. Salads, appetizers, entree, desserts, and coffee were all outstanding. We don't drink, but wine list looked very reasonable too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_in_Woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and consider it the finest that we have visited in the Yucatan. The service is a great mixture of formal and courteous, yet friendly. The chef is well trained and it is a pleasure to enjoy his food. The atmosphere is comfortable, open and with beautiful decor. You must visit at least once and I guarantee that you will return again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuck123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant only opened in January, so it's still relatively unknown. Go there now. Great service, interesting food, small but good selection of wine, reasonable prices, nice ambience in both the more formal dining room or outside on the patio.

Loved the spicy pasta with shrimp, the stuffed mushrooms were delicious. This is fusion cuisine without intending to be fusion - such as putting their chile relleno in puff pastry instead of deep-frying it. If anything, the portions are too generous. Only 1 more week left in Merida, and this restaurant will definitely be on our list to go back to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank illyrias47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great new restaurant in Santa Ana”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely new garden restaurant a few blocks west of Parque Santa Ana. Excellent food and wine. Great ambience, with mature fruit trees and many wind chimes. We will definitely go back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksknight44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassandra Bistro Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cassandra Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing