We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of splendour and elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A place of splendour and elegance”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A wonderful experience would love to of stayed longer! Staff helpful and pleasant even gave me a birthday cake and a bowl of fruit to celebrate. The location was perfect for exploring Merida and if I was to return to Merida this would be my choice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience in Mansión Mérida on the Park, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay, amenities and birthday with us! I will personally let the staff know your kind comments about them.

We look forward to welcome you in your next visit to the charming Merida for a longer stay so you can get to know another places in the Yucatan.

Best regards,

Carolina Molina
Marketing & PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    25
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
21
59
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is charming, with spacious, high-ceiling, rooms (with A/C) opening on internal courtyard or pool. Very well kept. Breakfast is served outside on charming square. Good location near zocalo and city center. Very friendly staff. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LaurentMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Laurent,

We appreciate you took time to share your experience with us! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mansión Mérida on the Park, i will let the staff know your comments about them.

We look forward to welcome you in your next visit to Merida!

Best regards,

Carolina Molina
Marketing & PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The restaurant here is excellent and the outdoor cafe is a wonderful place to enjoy the square, the atmosphere and the food not to mention the service! No elevator to the registration on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Lynne,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at Mansión Mérida on the Park, we are very happy that you enjoyed the restaurant, the food, the service and the Park Bistro with the great atmosphere of the square. We don't have elevator since our building it's a property of 19th Century and it's protected by the INAH (Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia).

We look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida!

Best regards,

Carolina Molina Marrufo
Marketing and PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a truly historic mansion magnificently renovated in a beautiful all-suite boutique hotel. You cannot find a better location to visit this remarquable colonial city in the heart of Mayaland. Well worth the price and good restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlainSimard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Alain,

Thank you very much for your sharing your wonderful post, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mansión Mérida on the Park. I will let the staff know your kind words regarding the restaurant, amenities and the service.

We look forward to welcome you in your next visit to Merida!

Best regards,

Carolina Molina Marrufo
Marketing and PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I must first say that I owned and operated a AAA Four Diamond inn and restaurant for 22 years.
That said, I hope this review will not only help the traveler but also be of some use to the hotel management and staff.
Christmas Eve was to be a very special dinner for 6 of us at this very elegant hotel's restaurant.
We made reservations weeks in advance selecting the table that we wanted and even double check with the hotel several days prior to Dec. 24th. We selected this hotel restaurant baised on the beautiful dining room settting and even went over the dinner menus being presented that evening with the hotel front desk. We were told that the dinner would be seved to the table ( ie. not a buffet style service).
We arrived early only to discover that they did not have the reservation for our group. The table we had reserved had some other name on it. It took a little effort to make someone understand that we had mad reservations way in advance. Once we were able to get seated at our table, we learned that the menu had changed and was being served "buffet style" on the portal. So much for fine dining!!! The food was not bad, but not what we had looked forward to eating. The service was okay, but removing plates and poring wine is not what I call a fine dininng experience. It was too late to make any changes for Christmas Eve dinner so did our best to make the evening fun but felt sorry for the waitstaff who were totally confused. The hotel manager tried to make amends and sent us each a glass of sparkeling wine. The chef also sent a single complementary plate of food while we were already having dessert.
All in all, the hotel is a beautifully restored building, the rooms are very elegant with high ceilings and well appointed bathrooms. They could use some staff training, espically in the bar and dining room. Drinks and wine are slow to arrive even when they are not real busy....we have had lunch and cocktails on their park terrace during the day.
Having someone on staff that can assist people in more than one language would be helpful if they expect to attract more american tourist. We had spanish and french speaking staff at our inn and restaurant so we know it can be done.
I rarely even offer a bad review, but an average rating is about all I can offer for now. Time will tell and this could hopefully make some changes for the better. I wish the hotel and the restaurant all the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at Mansión Mérida on the Park, i personally appreciate all the feedback from our guests and clients but this case is more special due you operated a AAA Four Diamond Inn and Restaurant. I am really truly sorry and owe you a big apologize if there was anything we could have done to make your Christmas Eve dinner better.

I look forward we can make it up in other ocassion because I will love to welcome you again in your next visit to the beautiful Merida,

Neverthless i owe you an apology and please feel free to contact me at: mercadotecnia@mansionmerida.com if you consider us again an option when you comeback to Merida.


Sincerely,

Carolina Molina
Marketing & PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I rarely write a negitive review and this is a mixed situation. We had made dinner reservations the first week of dec. for christmas eve for 6 persons. The menu was not published nor was the price for the evening listed, but based on the friendliness of the staff and the very lovely dining room we made the reservations. We went back a week later and were given a menu with 3 different prix fix menus with prices from $255 to $355 pesos. We liked the $355 menu for 5 courses and made plans for that evening, even going back to pre-select a wine for dinner.
We arrived about 7:30 for the 8 pm reservation, we were not listed on the reservation list, nor was the table we had selected with the very kind waiter earlier available. After much confusion, we were seated and then realized the menu was changed to a buffet for $399 pesos. When we made our reservation we had given our contact info so we could be notified of any problems. We told the staff if this was a problem we would go elsewhere since this was christmas eve and we wanted a pleasant evening and meal. We were asked to stay, they said we could pay the price on the original menu of $355, received a free glass of sparkling wine and a special plate from the chef. The special plate was a very excellent beef carpachio, however it was served with dessert? Anyway, the staff tried, we tried to accomodate, and had an average meal. A buffet is not a served meal nor fine dining. We did tip in excess of 20% in cash.
The hotel is very beautiful, the dining room has a wonderful ambience and decor, even nice crystal and china. Organization is missing and the food lackluster, both of which changes can be made. We hope to return to see the restaurant able to meet its very fine potential.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review, we appreciate all the feedback from our guests and clients and your is truly important. We are very sorry that the Christmas Eve dinner was not what you expected. All the staff is really apologized with you and looking forward to serve you in the future with excelence.

I hope we can make it up in other ocassion when you visit again the beautiful Merida, Neverthless i owe you an apology and look forward to welcome you again in our boutique hotel.

Best regards.

Sincerely,

Carolina Molina
Marketing and PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

To begin with, look up www.mansionmerida.mx. The photo at Trip Advisor with yellow bedspread has nothing to do with the carefully decorated, lovingly restored luxury hotel to be found in the heart of the historical district of Merida. What first caught my eye while in Merida scouting for the best accommodations for VIP international guests, were the amazing chandeliers, the restored mint English tile floors and the hand-pained walls. This mansion cost a fortune to restore and almost 5 years of work! We booked the complete hotel and received royal treatment! Our guests from Canada and the US spent many happy hours watching people go by at the terrace Bistro right on the park. There was live music often. We thank the owners for allowing us a taste of Merida of the Belle Epoque. Staying at Mansion Merida was more than anything, a sensorial experience, starting with the more than 26 feet high ceilings! Mansion Merida has set a standard difficult to surpass.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenGomezMontAvalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina M, Gerente de Mercadotecnia & Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Carmen,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Mansión Mérida on the Park, what a lovely words! From now i will be following up the valious feedback of our guests and clients, as you can see i've already upgraded the photos and the information of our boutique hotel.

We are really happy that you and your guests from Canada and USA had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcome you soon in your next visit to Merida!

Best regards,

Carolina Molina
Marketing and PR Manager
Mansión Mérida on the Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.0 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
1.0 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#20 of 103 in Merida
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boutique bytheMuseo
Boutique bytheMuseo
#25 of 103 in Merida
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#42 of 103 in Merida
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park

Property: Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
Address: Calle 58-a 60, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Mansion Merida's fourteen newly restored and redecorated guest suites are different in configuration and decor. Yet they all feature Merida-style extremely high ceilings (ranging in height from 22 feet to 16.5 feet), and smooth, colorful floors of crafted geometric-design tiles, an art form unique to Yucatan. This architectural land decor combination provides an airy and cooling effect. The handcrafted meticulously restored mahogany double-door windows feature soundproof outer glass. They open to wrought-iron balconies overlooking Parque Hidalgo or the adjacent 17th-century (1618) Iglesia del Jesus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing