We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa del Tio Rafa
Ranked #10 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“The perfect host”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Rafael's earlier hostel, back in 2006, and am happy to recommend him. He is a very, very good host. From what I understand and have seen about his new place its even better than the one he had before. Enjoy your stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KOlafur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
7
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was referred to LAdTR by a friend of mine who stayed a week or two prior to my visit. Upon arrival I was greeted by the owner Tio Rafa very late in the evening. Instead of pushing me out into the street to find another hostel he took me in and booked me for the next two nights. Every morning he starts your day with a smile, a breakfast, and a hug-perfect way to start my day. Rafa keeps the hostel VERY clean and organized. There are lockers in room for your using, just bring a lock. The beds are comfortable and clean, also. The outdoor living area is available for relaxation or just casual hanging out before a day/night on the town, which is situated a short 10-15 minute walk away. While staying, any questions about attractions or direction on traveling, Tio Rafa is well equipped with much knowledge to point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungGalaxxY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Safe. Clean. Affordable. Most of all: Welcoming. Stayed here with mostly non-Spanish speakers and staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Good advice about where to go and how to play it smart while in Merida.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MostFungi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at "La Casa del Tio Rafa" several times on diferent trips through Mexico.
It´s such a great hostel. The rooms are good, the free breakfast is delicious and freshly prepared by Rafa for you and the wonderful garden with pool is the best place in Merida to relax. What it makes so special "La Casa del Tio Rafa" is the atmosphere, thanks to Rafa you feel less like in a unknow hostel and more like in a house of a friend, who also gives you usefull advice about Merida and Yucatan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

La Casa del Tio Rafa is a cheap and lovely place to stay. You need 10-15min walking into the city centre, therefore it’s quiet. The owner Rafa actually provides his house for travelers to stay over. The 6-bed dormitory is small but nicely furnished and decorated. He also offers one double and one single room. The kitchen and bathroom would need some more cleaning. You may use the washing machine and dryer for 40 pesos. Wi-Fi is available.
Rafa is awesome! He can give you lots of information about Mérida and its surroundings, he prepares breakfast and has dinner with you. He made the two days we spent in Mérida incredible. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyKitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Rooms are very nice and the hostal is located in the centre of Merida.The kindness of Tio Rafa makes the place much more, and better, than just a hostal: you can learn to cook mexican, be informed on local custums and traditions, be advised on the better place to visit or where to eat. Places where locals would go. And if you get "home" late, Tio Rafa will feed you with is specialties and won't ask for a dime. All of this is a very much welcome added value!

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for the room in the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I met Rafa years before i had ever stayed there. We met at another hostel while i was traveling and finally after moving to mexico i went to visit him and stay at his hostel. when me and my girlfriend arrived we fell in love with the place. It's not the traditional hostel, its like being inside his home, which is nice change from the traditional hostel. The hostel is located in the city center just 3 blocks away from the bus station. Rafa is very inviting and makes you feel at home right from the start. His memory foam mattresses are super comfortable (I use the same ones in my hostel now) and he makes a great breakfast for you in the morning. Big spacious lockers, a nice garden with a small pool which is nice to hang out in during the afternoon being as it is so hot. There is a nice spot to hang out on the roof at night and have a few drinks. He is very knowledgeable about Merida and the surrounding sites around including local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Zocalo
Hostal Zocalo
#1 of 73 in Merida
571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nomadas Hostel
Nomadas Hostel
#2 of 73 in Merida
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Ermita
Hostal La Ermita
#6 of 73 in Merida
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Tio Rafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Tio Rafa

Property: La Casa del Tio Rafa
Address: 65#589 X 72 y 74 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural or language differences are not barriers in Merida, they're opportunities to open doors. Come on in!In its first year hostel "La Casa del Tio Rafa" has made itself known as an intimate, non- classic hostel with maximum capacity of 15; you won`t be overwhelmed.The hostel is situated only minutes from the ADO bus terminal and the main plaza in Merida. It's easy to make yourself comfortable with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa del Tio Rafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing