We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Spectacular”

Ranked #30 of 113 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Spectacular”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I expected it would be similar to the old theater in Manaos - Brasil
It has good accustics and is kept in very good shape.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    33
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
361 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Lovely grand old tropical theatre”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a grand and splendid building with a lovely unique open air veranda upstairs for intermissions. The interior is crowded with plaster cherubs, life size!
Tickets are inexpensive so make an evening out of it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A taste of the old world”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nothing quite like watching "Swan Lake" ballet in 100+ year old theater, sitting on velvet chairs in a box close to the stage for $15 U.S. a piece!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Del L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre, great option for lovely evening”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We purchased tickets for a recent performance....box seats for the equivalent of $7.00 US for a wonderful evening of classical music featuring the premier pianist from Mexico. It was a beautiful venue, historic, lovely, intimate, and terrific acoustics. There are regularly scheduled concerts, check at box office for schedule and tickets. Nice little gallery off the lobby too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank juleskTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Orchestra Symphonica de Yucatan Excels”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and symphony performance at the Teatro Peon Contreras. A lovely house, very airy with a large, open terrace for intermission. We purchased tickets online before we left the states, good thing we did as it was a packed house and sold-out performance of Smetana's The Moldau, Mozart's Bassoon Concerto and Dvorak's New World Symphony #9.
My husband, a collector of operatic recordings, was pleased to see , among others, a portrait of the great tenor, Nicholas Urcelay hanging in the main hall. Adjacent to the opera house is a nice cafe with both indoor and outdoor seating. Overall a wonderful way to spend the afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PapillonHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Peon Contreras also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Peon Contreras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing