We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orchestra Symphonica de Yucatan Excels”

Ranked #30 of 113 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Orchestra Symphonica de Yucatan Excels”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and symphony performance at the Teatro Peon Contreras. A lovely house, very airy with a large, open terrace for intermission. We purchased tickets online before we left the states, good thing we did as it was a packed house and sold-out performance of Smetana's The Moldau, Mozart's Bassoon Concerto and Dvorak's New World Symphony #9.
My husband, a collector of operatic recordings, was pleased to see , among others, a portrait of the great tenor, Nicholas Urcelay hanging in the main hall. Adjacent to the opera house is a nice cafe with both indoor and outdoor seating. Overall a wonderful way to spend the afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PapillonHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    33
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicaago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Symphony”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The theatre is something to behold. It is beautiful and well worth the trip. The symphony of the Yucatan is excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rjmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this musical gem”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the 2nd year to Merida, and both times the Teatro was high on our list of places, for both the symphony and to sit in a beautiful building. If visiting this great city with all of its activities, don't miss this gem

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank skihockeynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old theater”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We did not see a performance at the Teatro, but I did ask to come in and take some photographs. Lovely architecture and the upstairs gallery looks across the street to the beautiful main building of the university.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go ONLY to the Free Events”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The theater is beautiful and well worth a visit.
The ticket office is a disaster:
Sometimes they do not have tickets until three days before an event.
Sometimes they accept credit cards, sometimes they do not.
Sometimes they are open during the posted hours, sometimes not.

Buying tickets for an event is extremely frustrating.

I suggest that you only go to free events there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank salsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Peon Contreras also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Peon Contreras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing