We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Wyndham Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Merida
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Merida
California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a recently renovated hotel, very modern and nicely done. The rooms are great and very comfortable and contemprorary. We stayed there for one night and it was not bad. It is walking distance from ADO bus station, great if you take a bus to Cancun. The room for one night cost us around $100 so not cheap. The only issue was the bathroom, they have no tub there and the sink was clogged which was a problem. Also in the morning we were checking out at 6 am and there was no one at the reception to check us out.

However it is a good hotel, well kept and since it is new they are pretty keen on doing a good job.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs not at the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoMartinez1416, Director General at Wyndham Merida, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest:


I appreciate your preference to stay with us as well as the time spent to send us your comments. I offer an apology for any inconvenience we mentioned, I will meet with my team to avoid happening again

See you soon in Mérida.

Happy new year.

Eduardo Martínez
Director Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    114
    34
    6
    8
See reviews for
128
119
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izu, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This relatively new Hotel has very nice, not to big but very cozy and comfortable, clean rooms. Ideal for business trip, free Wifi with a good signal, free parking, near Paseo Montejo and the International Hotel zone. This Hotel we have visited already the second time. Friendly staff. The Restaurant is comfortable, the food not extraordinary, but we must admit, that we visited the Restaurant only on our first trip and therefore should give them another chance next time. If you visit Merida on the Yucatan Peninsula, we believe that the White Town Hotel all in all is a very good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoMartinez1416, Director General at Wyndham Merida, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest:


I appreciate your preference to stay with us as well as the time spent to send us your comments.

See you soon in Mérida.

Happy new year.

Eduardo Martínez
Director Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the White Town Hotel and was really dissapointed with the restaurant. Service was good but the food does not match up with previous reviews I've read on tripadvisor. The menu boasting to serve both 450g rib eye and 800g tomahawk steaks, I assumed the chefs would be experienced in cooking the steaks to rare, medium or well done, but this was not so. The 2 steaks my partner and I ordered came out well done, even though I requested 'rare' and my husband requested 'medium rare'. I stupidly sent mine back to the kitchen to be recooked and a new steak was returned blue with a cold centre. I then asked for it to be cooked for an additional minute. Finally when it was returned, it was covered in grill debris with the occasional crunch. Feeling a little concerned and unsure, I pretty much left my meal as it was. Paid and left. After a little research, it seems that Mexicans eat their steak well done, with little variation. Had I known this before, I would have chose another less expensive type of meat. But alas I though the hotel restaurant that is part of Hilton group would have trained its kitchen staff to meet international standards. But lesson learn. Don't order steak in Mexico, or perhaps do your research. The sides and entree were not very favourable either. The mash was chunky and the meals did not meet any menu descriptions. Maybe the main chef was away, but I suggest, if you stay at the Hotel, give the restaurant a miss unless you are lookin for a medioca experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happidaiz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoMartinez1416, Director General at Wyndham Merida, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to this beautiful city. Your comments are much appreciated by us to improve day by day.
I offer an apology for not fulfilling a basic requirement as the cooking of steaks, I'll check with our chef personally to prevent this from recurring in the future.

We hope in the near future in this home in Merida.

Eduardo Martínez
Director Hotel
WT Hotel
White Town Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed three nights at the White Town hotel in Merida. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the room was very comfortable, with all the amenities. We especially liked the numerous empty electrical outlets (often hard to find) for charging our devices. The free WiFi was excellent, too.

While it is not that close to the center of town, it is possible to walk and the taxi ride is only about 40 pesos. The neighborhood is safe for walking, and even after midnight walking to the Oxxo convenience store about 4 blocks away we felt safe.

We found breakfast to be a little slow and not extraordinary, but it was fine, and a lunch we had was very nice.

One note - at this writing there is no sign with the hotel name, but the covered "Doubletree" sign shows lit at night. Taxi drivers don't know White Town, but tell them Hilton or Doubletree and they know just where to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoMartinez1416, Director General at Wyndham Merida, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
ear Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to this beautiful city. Your comments are much appreciated by us to improve day by day, really appreciate the time it took to send it.

We hope in the near future in this home in Merida.

Eduardo Martinez
Director Hotel
WT hotel
White Town Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spend tree nights at this hotel, the staff it´s just amazing; my girlfriend prepare a surprise for my birthday and they help her in every detail. We also highly recommend to try the restaurant, the executive chef Carlos Olvera and his team surprise us with a real gastronomic experience: the fusion of local Mexican food with an European touch. Gracias a todos!

Room Tip: Ask for a street view or to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pandushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Beautiful DoubleTree Merida Hotel and was very pleased with our room and service. The room was very nice and clean with flat screen tv. The entire grounds was kept immaculant. The staff was truely amazing and very helpful with local advice that turned out to be great, just as they described. They truely made you feel at home. It is close to centro Merida, downtown market, shopping and places to eat within walking distance. We had room service several times and was very pleased with the food and service. We already talking about a return trip soon and DoubleTree Merida will be our choice again. Thanks for a Wonderful stay!! The Fontana's

Room Tip: Our room #327 faced the front of the hotel overlooking a cool old home. We enjoyed the room and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctfontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The first thing that will grab you is the warm welcome you receive from all staff. The hotel is very quiet with comfortable rooms and a very nice bathroom. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The hotel is a bit far from the city centre for walking but taxis are cheap and this is a VERY safe city. The hotel has a nice bar area and nice pool. There are restaurants walking distance from the hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#16 of 103 in Merida
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Merida

Property: Wyndham Merida
Address: Avenida Colon Esquina con Calle 6 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly White Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the City of Merida was built in 2012 the Wyndham Hotel restoring an antique mansion of the early XX century. The hotel is conveniently located on Colon Avenue, 5 minutes drive from the Historic Center of the City of Merida, walking distance from Paseo de Montejo and a few steps away from the International Congress Center of Yucatan. The Wyndham Merida Hotel has easy access to the International Airport. Wyndham Merida offers 100 fully-equiped guest rooms and suites, highlighting the great comfort of its beds, flat-screen TVs, coffee makers, large desks with MP3 and high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing