We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Wyndham Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Merida
Ranked #32 of 103 Hotels in Merida
newyork
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is quite new and the reviews were very good. We were very disappointed. I understand it was not the hotel fault that there was a huge outdoor party next door with incredibly loud music, but they made no effort to try to move us to another room or even to keep us informed (it tooks us an hour to find out there was no other room available, although the hotel seems pretty empty).
Don't eat there if you can avoid it: the service in the restaurant is poor, slow, the waiters couldn't care less.
positive points:
- Diego, the bellman, was very helpful, nice with the kids, quick to answer
- We got excellent recommendation from the front desk for restaurant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    107
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
120
115
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You'll feel like one of the neighbors at this terrific new property just off the commercial path. An old abandoned house across the street looks a little haunted, but Doubletree's restored mansion is one of the more interesting hotel experiences I've ever had. The staff is very friendly, accommodating and genuinely interested in taking great care of its guests. The pool, outside patio areas, library and the rooms themselves give a real feel of estate living - more like staying in a large house than a hotel. I suspect this was Doubletree's vision when redeveloping this historic property. Well done. I hope to make a return visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is very new, very elegant and it was a genuine pleasure to be a guest there. It is located about 1,5 miles from the center of town. Taxis are not familiar yet with this hotel and many drivers have trouble finding it. Every time we took a taxi we went to the hotel through completely different streets.
There were some problems. You have to ask for the cookie but you can ask many times and the cookie will be given with a smile! Most problems seems to be in the restaurant. The breakfast menu seems to be under construction - sometimes the continental breakfast includes fruits and jucie, sometimes only juice but no fruits. The amount of baked goods that you get for two people will be also the same for one person. The business center is upstairs but nobody told me about it until I had a a question and was led upstairs to use the computer there. The hotel is great, with small problems here and there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staying at over 30 hotels in Merida has given me a broad perspective. The DoubleTree is the nicest hotel that I have seen in Merida; however, it was not a perfect stay.

I had to ask to receive THE COOKIE. I stayed for a week and only received one, which was a disappointment because it was really good.

The room service and restaurant share the same menu. The menu is very limited. There are less than 10 main course options, only 2 soup options, and no side options.

I ordered what is called a creme soup, which ended up being a bowl of microwaved dehydrated black bean mix, which was very watered down, with a small chunk of cream cheese in it, for 65 pesos. I could tell it was microwaved from the dried edges and cold spots throughout the beans. It was obviously leftovers that were reheated.

Internet access at this facility is password restricted and you must pay 130 pesos per day to use the internet. This was a huge disappointment a huge knock on the Hilton brand. Internet should be free in this age, especially at a perceived premium hotel.

The last thing that disappointed me was that when I went to the front desk to pay for another week, they told me that the rates had gone up over $400 pesos per night. I told them that the online calendar had showed the same rate through the entire month, they said no, this is the new rate, take it or leave it.. So I left it and went to stay somewhere else.

It baffles me that they would rather have an empty room and get no money, than an occupied room, with a tenant paying the rate that they were charging the previous week.

Another note is that they provide a 355 ml bottle of water in the room, but it has a hanger around it that says, enjoy this for $25 pesos. Absolutely ridiculous that a premium hotel charges for water.

If you want a nice hotel and are willing to be nickel and dimed during your entire visit, please make your reservation today.

There are definitely better values in Merida though.

Awesome beds with superb linens

Awesome fitness room. At least there is free water in there.

Beautiful courtyard and pool area.

Room Tip: If you get a room that faces the inner courtyard, you don't have to listen to road noise all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Doubletree in Merida and found it to be very nice and affordable. The hotel is in a new location on Avenida Colon, close enough to walk to the grand plaza in the heart of the city. It was also close to highways to get to Progresso and the airport. The staff was very attentive and held up to Doubletree standards in the US. Restaurant and Bar were very good and the prices weren't bad. I will use this Hotel again the next time I visit Merida!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side were a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ron649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Merida

Property: Wyndham Merida
Address: Avenida Colon Esquina con Calle 6 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly White Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the City of Merida was built in 2012 the Wyndham Hotel restoring an antique mansion of the early XX century. The hotel is conveniently located on Colon Avenue, 5 minutes drive from the Historic Center of the City of Merida, walking distance from Paseo de Montejo and a few steps away from the International Congress Center of Yucatan. The Wyndham Merida Hotel has easy access to the International Airport. Wyndham Merida offers 100 fully-equiped guest rooms and suites, highlighting the great comfort of its beds, flat-screen TVs, coffee makers, large desks with MP3 and high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing