We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you should pay what you owe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #30 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I booked this hotel on hotels.com and made the mistake of not paying until I aarved. When I did so I was told I owed over 600 pesos more than the official hotels com email. Even after showing the front desk person the e mail he shrugged and told me I SHOULD e mail his company and it wasnt his responsibility. It took me 7 calls to hotels.com- who also did nothing until a decent dedicated man Robert finally called hotel and set them straight. Overall it cost me hours of hassle, stress, and about 25$ u.s. to fix this. And when I payed the bill the woman at the front desk hadnt gotten the NEWS and called her boss all ever again. For a place that says it is cool and hip, it needs a lot of work in the human interaction department. Also, it says non smoking at front door, but lets people smoke in common area. And you can smell smoke. This place can be very nice if it just gets its act together.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Art 57 Boutique Hotel. We are very sorry about the inconveniences you had told us in your comment. This type of problem is not usual, so we are investigating with the staff of the hotel and we will resolve the inconvenience.

Thanks again for chosen us and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We really liked our stay there. Great location, clean rooms, nice Mexican contemporary style and what you need for a good price. Close to Mercado Santiago and from the tourist area in downtown. Paty is the best, she helped us with amazing recommendations of places in and around Mérida. They have a good parking lot for free.
Overall we would be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guillermo,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Art 57 Boutique Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel, and specially the location of it.
Patty and all the staff want to thank you for your kind words and for chosen us.

We look forward to welcome you very soon in beautiful Merida!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed in the F. Castro room. The location was central, the price was right, and the staff were kind & helpful. The city is very safe and walkable. As a single gal, I had zero concerns, despite walking back late a few nights. The only 'unsafe' feeling is that the hotel is in the middle of the block, and the rest of the street is empty or closed after hours. It just 'feels' sparse. (but don't let that stop you).

I echo the other reviews on Trip Advisor: it is indeed quiet, the room layout is nice, the A/C is fabulous, and the staff are great. Each room has a ceiling fan plus an A/C unit. This is a good "home base" hotel if you're going on day trips and out much of the day, and need a solid place to touch down at the end of the day. But if you spend more than 1-2 hrs a day in your hotel room or in a chair outside, doing work, surfing the net, or lounging, you'd be more comfortable elsewhere. The dim interior room lighting made it difficult to read.

To clarify, the hotel is quiet re: street-noise, but you can hear inter-room noise. You can hear through the walls: sneezing, coughing, toilet flushes, hair dryers, and bedroom "happy couple-times". (Enough said about the latter). During the day from 8am to 10pm there is piped-in Muzak in the hallways. It's atrocious, as all Muzak is, but the staff will turn down the volume if you ask.

The downs: breakfast was not free, the cleaning was spotty, the rooms are dimly lit, and there is no air vent or A/C into the bathroom. So your bedroom is crisp, but the bathroom remains humid. It's not a deal-breaker, but if you hand-wash anything, don't hang-dry in there. There is a lounge area on the 2nd floor, but be careful, the stairs are quite slippery when wet. (It rains every afternoon). The anti-slip strip on the stairs are not gritty enough to prevent a fall. Tip: for a far better breakfast that actually includes a protein ingredient (and is 10 pesos cheaper), walk down the street to Chaya Maya.

The colorful walls kinda make up for its slap-stick construction. Overall, it seems hastily put together. (Caulking gaps around the sink; evidence of a water leak above the shower; phantom holes/missing fixture; no closets--just two horizontal. bars with 6 hangers on each).
I wasn't displeased. For the money, it was solid. I paid ~61 Pesos/night with a Hotels.com special. If you're easygoing about details and can roll with the punches, it'll be fine. Eduardo at the front desk is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HangDryThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Art 57 Boutique Hotel and specially for all the details you had mentioned in your review. All the comments of our guests help us to improve our daily work, but if the comments are not so good, they are better for us because we can work hard to resolve each problem.
We will take account of all you had mentioned and we look forward to welcome you again very soon to offer you the best quality of service and facilities of the hotel.

Thanks again and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel and while some things were very good, other aspects especially cleaning dropped the note down.

Extra points to the receptionists who were all really friendly and helpful and informed us on events happening in Merida everytime we saw them.

Good points -

Great location, a short walk from the main square, restaurants and attractions
Very quiet location
Beautiful public areas with art work, plants and water features.
The roof top area with a couple of sun loungers and chairs and the little plunge pool on the ground floor
The bed was very comfy and the room large and decorated nicely - We were in the Juan O'Gorman room
A/C worked really well and the big flat screen tv was cool


The room was lacking a table - we had 2 chairs but nothing to sit round

Bad points

The cleaning was very patchy - There was a paper ball on the floor in the bathroom the whole time we were there....
The soap dish was never cleaned, we did it ourselves when we came back everyday after the maid had been in
The floors were dirty, if you walked barefoot you could feel the grittiness

We paid 3600 pesos for our stay, this was a promotion price with 40% off booked online.

Would stay here again at this price as the good points were really good but I wouldn't stay here at full rate

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charliehonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel.

We are very happy about the good points you had commented on your review and we are worried about the bad points (cleaning specially). We are very sorry to hear that and we will investigate what had happened.

We would like to thank you again for chosen us for your stay in Mérida and we look forward to welcome you very soon in Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel again!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We slept 2 night at the Koox Art 57 hotel.
The room was really clean, the air conditioning was working very well.
It was raining in the evening so we could not enjoy the pool but it looked also very clean.
The staff was very helpful when we had questions.
Great place to explore easily Merida and the west of Yucatan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchieWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed all the services and facilities of the hotel.

Thank you for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel.

Best regards!!

Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is just great, it is new, the design has a lot of personality. The rooms are very clean with a comfortable bed, AC, big tv, We have stayed here a couple of times, the first time in the first floor next to the little pool- more a jacuzzi, they have great gardens around but the first floor room was much more smaller than the second time when we have stayed in the second floor, I really recomend second floor much bigger and more private.
The staff is nice and helpful, specially Paty she even recomended some places to visit in Merida.
The only thing i did not like was that expedia mentioned free breakfast and it was not for free not even coffee, and they dont have a parking space but they seem to have a contract with a property around the corner (which they did not offer the first time we were there) they only have like 3 parking spaces so if they are full you will not propably get one I hope they can fix this parking issue. Besides that I recomend this place I hope they keep it up with the cleaning, the prices and the modern rooms!

Room Tip: second floor is better more private and bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapa_ciudades_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel.

We are very sorry for the issues you had mentioned about the breakfast and the parking, and we will investigate what happened.

Thanks again for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,

Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice hotel and great room, located near downtown and excellent staff were very helpful. The room was very cozy, has plenty of space and is a nice, modern style. Greatly enjoyed my stay and would happily stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 355kmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Sirs!

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you very soon!!

Thanks again and best regards!

Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#28 of 105 in Merida
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 105 in Merida
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koox Casona de las 3 Marias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel

Address: 57 por 66 y 68 # 543-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Art 57)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $47 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art 57 boutique hotel is ideally located in the historic center of the city of Merida, near the district of Santiago. It has 16 rooms with air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, private bathroom with hot and cold water, LCD HD TV with 50 cable channels, bottled water, alarm ipod Dock with MP3, dryer, iron and board, box safety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing