We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great value boutique”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My 5-star rating is to a large extent about the excellent value for money. The prices when I stayed here were extraordinarily good for this very congenial and pretty little boutique hotel which makes a lot of other places in Merida look ridiculously over-priced. But altogether I would have been happy even if I'd been paying more because it's in any case a very satisfying place to stay, even if it has some limitations. The name of the hotel points to the theming of its rooms...Mexican art....and there are several interesting and quirky art pieces as part of the decor. The pink and ochre walls shouldn't work, but they do, and the hotel is generally very attractive. There's a nice open terrace area on the top of the building, and a very small pool (you won't actually swim in it , but it will do the job of cooling you). My room was small, with little furniture (you more or less have to live out of your suitcase), but nicely designed and efficient. The queen bed and the bedding are especially noteworthy...extremely comfortable mattress with high quality bedding that I'd say is way beyond the price-point of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. There's no breakfast offered (but a vat of free coffee and some juice every morning in the pool area). The staff are very personable and efficient (and tolerated cheerfully some comings and goings "en la madrugada"). The hotel is located on a relatively quiet backstreet, just a few blocks from the central plaza in one direction and the interesting market at Parque Santiago in the other.

Room Tip: the rooms around the pool area are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul,

Thank you for your review and your kind words of our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoy your stay with us and you appreciate little details of our Koox Art 57, such the art pieces, little swimming pool and our helpful staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mérida.

Kindest regards!
Koox Art 57 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    111
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
13
180
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Hotel is small like a boutique and nice, Everything is clean, and although there is no breakfast, they offer coffee and orange juice.

The problem is the staff, on one hand they are not properly informed about the surroundings, they are late (promised coffee at 8am but we had to remind them at 8:10am that we counted on that coffee, it was finally ready for 8:40am).

There is no safety box and "someone" checked in our luggage while we were out, I had hidden some money inside but it seems it was not hidden enough and it was stolen. The personel didn't react when I talk about the issue ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Carolina776,

Thank you for your review of your stay in our hotel and we are happy to know that you enjoy it, in spite of the issue with your luggage.
We would like you to know that we are very sorry about the situation you had told in this review and this is not usually in our hotel. We will investigate more about it and we look forward to welcome you soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The bed was by far the most comfortable I have slept in anywhere in Mexico – with a proper mattress, a light quilt and quality bedding. The room was huge, light and spacious with double glazed floor to ceiling windows, that let the light in but kept the noise out.

But part of the reason the room was so airy was that the bedroom was just that, it had a bed but nothing else other than the air. No chair, no sofa, no desk, nothing. There was a luggage area off the bathroom, but you couldn’t sit there and you don’t always want to sit on the bed, particularly if there are 2 of you.

No breakfast either – in a couple of replies the manager claims it’s being worked on – well not when I was there it wasn’t. A huge boiled tub of coffee and a jug of processed ultra-brite orange juice was it. However a block and a half to the right is the divine La Flor de Santiago (worth visiting even if you are not staying here) and in the other direction are the old and new sites of the Chaya Maya (good for breakfast and dinners).

Staff, excepting a rather clueless one when I checked in, were friendly and helpful.

Overall 57 lacked the attention to detail that a resident owner would bring. The basics are there but there is still work to do and it wouldn’t take much to make it so much better. Until then, I’d recommend the bed but will seek out another one the next time I’m in Merida.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a better quality room, if you need 2 rooms ask for Diego and Rivera
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Le BistrolUK:

Thanks for your review, just inform you that we have no breakfast, coffee and juice is a courtesy to guests is offered free of charge. So we offer the service at the restaurant on the corner " La Flor de Santiago".

We hope to see you again in Ko´ox Art 57 Boutique Hotel.

Jordi González
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

WELCOME HOME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in one of the ~600 MEX a night rooms. VERY small. As in, barely room for your bag in the room. But they are air conditioned - a must in Merida. The bathroom was fine. Just slept there. Said "double room" but there were definitely not two beds. We had one tiny double bed between the two of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Trim Tran:

Thanks for your review, the hotel has bigger rooms with 2 double queen size beds , but this rooms are not available in the offer ( 600 MN p/night).

We hope to see you again in Ko ´ox Art 57 Boutique Hotel

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

WELCOME HOME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Room was really nice. Tranquil. The service was above and beyond. The best I have ever experienced. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone. The location is very convenient for good food and getting around.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jntbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, General Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear JntBecker:

Thank you for recommending us, we are happy to serve you as you deserve.

We will be waiting for you again in Merida.

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

WELCOME HOME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is located about 6-7 blocks off the main plaza which is easy to get to. This is also on the same street as La Chaya maya ( great breakfast/ lunch place )The staff offered a map at check in. There is also parking around the corner at another hotel. Our room was very nice, we did not get the King bed we wanted but we also knew the bedding was not guaranteed as we used a wholesaler to book. The bathroom is huge and while the hot water can be lacking I think it may be more to possibly everyone using all the hot water at the same time but It was so hot and humid in Merida I took a cold shower which was refreshing. The wifi is free and although spotty, it never let me down. I using that same wifi to write this review. The place is clean but we had these tiny tiny ants crawling in our room. Not a lot of them but they are so tiny i didnt want to bring a visitor with me to my next destination. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGotravelGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, General Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Michael T:

We are very happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope to see yoou again in Merida or in our hotels in Playa del Carmen and Mahahual.

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We could only stay one night, but could not be happier with our choice at Hotel Art 57!
Great spot, close to the Zocalo and great restaurants
Staff was very helpful in pointing us to good eating spots- and the hotel had a design flair that made it special.
Larry & Julie
Phoenix, Arizona

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, General Manager at Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Amanda:

Thank you very much to your input. Is nice for us to know that you liked our hotel and enjoy with our friendly staff

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

Welcome Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.3 mi away
Koox Casona de las 3 Marias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel

Property: Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel
Address: 57 por 66 y 68 # 543-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Art 57)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art 57 boutique hotel is ideally located in the historic center of the city of Merida, near the district of Santiago. It has 16 rooms with air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, private bathroom with hot and cold water, LCD HD TV with 50 cable channels, bottled water, alarm ipod Dock with MP3, dryer, iron and board, box safety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing