We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best out of 8 houses in 7 countries from...”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool at night
Pool and terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Pool at night
Pool and terrace
Front
Master bedroom door to terrace
View from master bedroom
View from master bedroom
Master bathroom
Master bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Acces to front bathroom from bedroom
Front bedroom
Front bathroom
Kitchen and acces door to terrace
Kitchen and acces door to terrace
Kitchen
Dinning room
Living room
Acces to front bathroom from living room
Entrance room
Pool and backyard
Pool at night
Outside dining room
Interior terace from master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Merida, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dana S
Satna Fe, NM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best out of 8 houses in 7 countries from around the world”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Who we are:
A married couple in their early 70s who have, since 2012, stayed in 8 different homes for 3 months each in 7 different counties around the world. This self catering homestay is the number one best accommodation we have experienced due to Sophie's attention to detail.

PRO
The pool (12 x 24) was both beautiful and practical. We used it to cool off. Wonderful!
Sitting out on the exterior covered terrace napping, reading, studying Spanish
Very spacious. High ceilings, large rooms, comfortable furniture
All the support staff were very professional, polite and patient with our limited Spanish. Janice met us at the house at midnight on New Year's eve. Housekeeping staff called the water and gas companies for us to schedule deliveries. The house felt and smelled clean after their weekly visit.
Quick response to inquiries from Sophie. All our questions were responded to in a very timely manner.
We grocery shopped at three major supermarket and settled on Mega Balcones, a 75 peso cab ride away.
The three bus stations for out of town day trip were easily accessed.
Consistent and fast Internet access

CON
We live on two acres 15 miles from the plaza in Santa Fe, NM. Quiet, Dark skies, Dirt roads. Merida is a low rise city of 800,000 people, most housing connected to each other. After walking a few times to the plaza (about 15 minutes) we starting taking taxis. It was easy to hail a cab a half block from the house. We felt the walk to the plaza was unpleasant due to the traffic noise, crowds of people, narrow and pocked sidewalks. The cabs are very inexpensive, clean, a challenge for me at 6 foot 4 inches, so I sat in the front. We never did figure out the local buses.

We are very heavy users of the Internet when we travel. The only place where the house WiFi signal was spotty was where we spent the most time at the house, sitting in very comfortable chairs on the terrace overlooking the pool.

As we were there for three months, we cook most of our meals at home. Shortly after we arrived, due to the lack of a microwave oven, we bought one. We left it there for future guests.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the terrace by the pool
Liked least: Spotty WiFi Internet access on the terrace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the quiet, the space.
Liked least: 2 blocks closer and it would have been perfect (but more expensive!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laval
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
smartytri...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved the yard, pool and hammocks!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This rental was within walking distance of the Grand Plaza, a long walk mind you. e The area around it is quiet, with a few other rentals and family homes close by.

The house is very traditional looking. It is beautiful. The fans in the main rooms keep the house just cool enough to be tolerable for us Canadians. The bedrooms have air conditioners so they can be cooled more, if needed. I found them a bit too loud though.

I enjoyed using the kitchen and then eating out on the rustic table on the patio. The yard was my favorite part of the house. The pool was wonderful to have and the pump issue that they had was fixed quickly. The patio is huge and stays cool with the ceiling fans. My favorite spot was on the patio lying in a hammock.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay and like to walk to explore than this place is great!

Date of stay: November 2013
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pools and the hammock.
Liked least: Having to wait for housekeeping to leave when we first arrived.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT...living in Maracaibo, Venezuela
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Date of stay: March 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Central Wisconsin
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Date of stay: March 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2013
Hello Bob and Jeanne,

Thank you for posting a review. You are right we began renting our house last summer and you where our 5th guest. We will consider all your comments to make our house more comfortable for futur guests. We just returned from Merida 2 days ago and as you said, we added some items. We installed a new TV and DVD player, some lounge chairs and kitchen tools. Unfortunately, we did not have time to buy a microwave...maybe next time. Regarding the internet sevice, we changed the rooter and it now works in each room of the house, we also get the signal outside. Thanks again for taking time to write a review.
Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing