We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptinal dinner for 10!”

Bruno Bistro Gourmet
Ranked #41 of 840 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our Dinner of the Month Club visited Bruno's again, simply because 7 of us were so enraptured the last time that we had to go again. Three new friends joined us. We were not at all disappointed.

Our reservations were for 7 pm and they were ready for us, with Fran greeting us at the door, followed by her partner, Bruno. Both are very congenial people! As the last time, we ordered the escargots as an appetizer (fresh made upon order by Bruno). They were outstanding as was the French Onion Soup and the shrimp Adriana. Marvelous!

The wait staff this evening spoke very little English, but Bruno and Fran were there to assist and double check that everyone's orders were correct. Drinks were served in a very efficient manner along with the house tapenade and loaves of bread which we devoured.

We ordered a variety of entrees . Some ordered the chef's features, while others ordered from the standard menu. Among the dishes we had were lamb chops dusted in panko crumbs and whole grainy mustard in a nice mustard sauce, medallions of pork in a similar sauce, salmon with a wasabi cream sauce, mahi-mahi, shrimp and scallops Provencal. The pasta of the day was a large order of penne with a Putanesca sauce with chicken. Each entree was accompanied by a spear of asparagus, crisply cooked vegetables, a wonderful baked mashed potato with caramelized onion sauce, a single Cambray potato half with a dollop of goat cheese. The scallops and shrimp Provencal came with fresh greens.

Too stuffed for dessert, we received our bill when we requested it (another Mexican tradition). Upon leaving we were thanked by the wait staff and both Bruno and Fran. Will we go back? You have to be sure!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank RegD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. As you know it's always a pleasure to see you in Bruno Bistro and we all are very pleased you enjoyed your night with us. Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent & personal service, delicious food and beautiful presentation. Absolutely recommended, we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mahahualmexio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to Bruno's tonight with a friend - 3 of us in total. Our friend made reservations. We arrived at 7:30 p.m. to find them open but barely, with chairs still tilted on their legs. Staff were welcoming however and we got seated. We ordered wine and our meals. Although we were already seated a blonde woman came up and welcomed us. We said thank you and that we'd been looked after. After we'd begun to drink the bottle of wine we'd ordered, my friend who is very sensitive to loud music (difficult trait in Mexico) asked the owner and the blonde woman who were seated at a neighbouring table if they could choose a different piece of music as the one they had on was giving her a headache (very repetitive - not exactly appropriate for fine dining in my experience). I agreed with her. We were told by the blonde woman that there was no alternative...that it was preset. OK. We proceeded to drink our wine and after awhile my friend indicated to the blonde woman and the owner that the music was giving her a headache and could they please turn it down. Then the blonde woman turned on us, stating in no uncertain terms that this request could not be accommodated (despite the fact that we were the only diners there). She indicated that there was something wrong with us to not like this music as everyone else (??) loved it and that to be dining at this unseemly hour (by Mexican standards) we should basically put up or shut up. I announced that we could very easily have gone across the street (Villa Italia - much better restaurant) and she responded with the fact that maybe we should have - our choice. I asked her if she was French and she said she was not at which point I told her that her arrogance was truly French. The staff took over, and the owner, finally, and turned the music down. By this time I was almost ready to leave, but I felt the owner shouldn't be left with the bill for the entrees we'd already ordered since it was this woman who was giving us a hard time, so we stayed and ate. The food was good but not spectacular. This is the last time....my husband reminded me that the same thing happened the last time we were there, last year. We agreed....never again. I feel sorry for Bruno. I don't know who this woman is but he should ditch her.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank LuluandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013
Google Translation

Acabo de leer sus comentarios y aqui son los mios : soy un chef frances, abri mi restaurante en Merida hace 18 meses y sin pedir nada, recibi muy buenos comentarios aqui en Tripadvisor. Segun usted todos los franceses son arrogantes... tiene derecho de escribir su opinion. Yo guardare mi opinion sobre 3 canadienses que vienen a cenar en un lugar publico y empiezan a pedir de cambiar el tipo de musica ( era latin lounge, no heavy rock ) y bajar el volumen ( que no era muy alto ) Tengo un lugar muy acojedor y si se sienten como en casa, no significa que esten en su casa! Para su informacion personal los franceses son arrogantes con las personas desagradables, pero creo que esto es internacional. Ahora me comentaron que los restaurantes que tienen demasiado buenos comentarios, reciben la visita de gente muy muy muy insatisfecha, por cualquier motivo. Si es el caso, buen trabajo!!
Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We decided to spend one of our two evenings in Merida in this restaurant and were especially pleased that we did so. Although it was a 15 minute (but very cheap) taxi ride from our hotel, it was every bit as worthwhile as previous reviews had suggested. The waiting staff are knowledgeable and attentive, and Bruno and his charming wife both worked very hard to ensure that our whole dining experience was successful.
The food was exceptional: our hardest decision was what exactly to order, and this was one occasion where the waiter's description was even surpassed by the standard of cooking and wonderful flavours.
The fusion of World and Mexican food was sublime, and although some previous reviewers have commented on the cost, my only comment is that I've so far paid just as much in other restaurants in Mexico without any of them coming near the dining experience and quality of food that we enjoyed: Don't miss it!

2  Thank ArthurAvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013
Google Translation

Hola buenos dias, quiero, en el nombre de mi esposa y de mis empleados, decirle muchas gracias por su visita y sobretodo por sus comentarios. Trabajamos todos fuerte en Bruno Bistro para satisfacer a nuestros clientes, y sus buenas opiniones son nuestra recompensa. Gracias. Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you don't mind paying for really good food, you won't mind paying for the delicious food at Bruno Bistro. Service was excellent and atmosphere delightful......open air or inside....your choice. Friday fresh mussels. Yummy!!1

2  Thank jrey492003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. I like the fact you mention that good food, prepared freshly and at the moment as a cost. Some customers are forgetting the difference between gastronomy and fast food...
Hope to see you soon.
Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno Bistro Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Bruno Bistro Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing