We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food - Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruno Bistro Gourmet

Bruno Bistro Gourmet
Ranked #40 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you don't mind paying for really good food, you won't mind paying for the delicious food at Bruno Bistro. Service was excellent and atmosphere delightful......open air or inside....your choice. Friday fresh mussels. Yummy!!1

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jrey492003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I like the fact you mention that good food, prepared freshly and at the moment as a cost. Some customers are forgetting the difference between gastronomy and fast food...
Hope to see you soon.
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place for perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friends took us out for an evening. Bruno bistro Gourmet was the most perfect celebration that we could have imagined. the host the food and the wait staff where just perfect. I do not know why we had not discovered it earlier. But we will return with more friends to show them one of the best restaurants in Merida. if you are here already put this place on your things to do. If you are planning your trip make sure it is at the top of your list for thing to experience. It is a can't miss-place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much Scott for your comments. As you surely know we are in a tough business and your message is our reward. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
151 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“nivel option, attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Pretty space with indoor and outdoor seating. Classy but with reasonable prices. We tried a delicious grilled vegetable appetizer, a tasty pepper cream soup, and a very cheesy (gorgonzola) pasta. We enjoyed the wines they recommended to accompany these dishes. My only complaint is that while it is nice to be greeted by the owners, they overdid it a bit, visiting our table several times. We also appreciated the homemade bread. We will visit again for sure to sample more of the menu (we ate very light - we weren't hungry enough for some attractive sounding recommendations)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank profegringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Between Christmas and NYE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We haven't been to Bruno's for sometime so decided to visit with friends who were leaving town for NYE back to the US. Five of us in all and we all ate different starters and main courses. Like most French cuisine the sauces are quite complex. The starters were delicious and not too filling so left plenty of room for the main course. They arrived and were all beautifully plated and I must say my choice was great, my wife's pasta was a little too rich for her so she could not finish it and took the rest home and had it for lunch next day. Everyone agreed that the food was excellent along with the service and the attention of the owners. Just one thing of note we found that the wine selection though limited tends to be on the expensive side for the particular wines on offer. All in all a very nice place to spend a relaxing evening with friends

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propriétaire at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for your visit and your time to post your comments. They are very important to us, as in this business there are always things to improve. We hope to see you back soon. Bruno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The French touch in Merida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

if you are looking for great French Cuisine in Merida, you found it.
It is possibly one of the best French Cuisine in Mexico.
Personal attention of the the owners, recommending the "Plat du Jour".
Food is done with French traditional recipe, with a touch of the Chef.
Presentation of each plate is a delight for the eyes, before eating them.
Service is outstanding.
The hot Brie as a starter is a must.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lechilango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoBistro, Propietario at Bruno Bistro Gourmet, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your comments. My wife and I are very happy you enjoyed your dinner and hope we'll have the pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno Bistro Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Bruno Bistro Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing