We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earning itself a well deserved first place”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Earning itself a well deserved first place”
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The first place status on Tripadvisor is well deserved.

We arrived after a long bus journey from Tulum and were met by Tom, who was incredibly helpful and courteous. We were shown to our room which was a suite with a kitchenette. In the fridge waiting for us were two cold beers, fresh coffee and an information sheet listing places to go, things to see and the best places to eat for every meal of the day with genuine personal recommendations. We found this absolutely invaluable and it was well used during our trip. As an aside the kitchenette was the best equipped we came across and has more than enough to prepare breakfast or a simple dinner. The downstairs communal kitchen didn't seem to be used much as there are so many great places to eat in Merida but is very well equipped.

Whilst the room was relatively simple the communal areas are quite beautiful, particularly the pool area which was a great place to enjoy a Modelo or two at lunch time as Merida seems to have plenty of air conditioned bars but not so many places to sit and enjoy a drink outside in the sunshine. There's also the benefit of the free tequila bar where guests are (is enouraged the right word?) to help themselves to a shot of one of two types of tequila, rum, xtabentum (which is a Mayan liquer that smells somewhat like sambuca or pernod, although I didn't sample) and a variety of other spirits which I thought was a great touch. free wifi can be picked up by the pool and in most of the rooms, and the signal strength is very good.

The location, right next to Calle 60 also can't be beaten, as this is pretty much Merida's main street.

My only minor gripe was that despite there being mosquito netting at the windows and it being winter I still seemed to get bitten at night so if you're the proverbial honey pot like myself I suggest putting on some extra repellent before bedtime.

I think this was my favourite hotel from all of those I stayed in whilst in Mexico, and it was extremely bargainous to boot.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellieaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The owner, Tom I believe was so courteous and welcoming. Free tequila bar in the lobby. Beautiful rooms, cute pool, many rooms with patios and hammocks. The reason I put just a good for sleep quality is because some rooms are internal and have windows to the entrance way with a lights that don't fully turn off at night. Just don't get the least expensive room if possible (don't worry, you'll only spend $60 or $70 a night!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puzzleboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed five nights--loved it. Tom was always super-helpful and friendly. I didn't want to leave.

I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Unbeatable price and service in a great location, with friendly ownership and a feeling of seclusion. Great rooms, great atmosphere, great pool, kitchen, amenities, and of course the beer in the fridge when you arrive and filtered water in the room. Loved the ambiance and the layout of the hotel. Close to everything. Don't miss this one!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonthepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I stayed at the Luz and some friends joined me. We thought Tom and Donard and staff were great. The location is perfect. Everything is clean and beautiful. Nice people stay there, too! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gringa04915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

My husband and I have been back from our trip to Merida for almost a week, and are still basking in the warm glow of Luz en Yucatan--a true home away from home, and just as comfortable and hospitable as all of the reviews here have stated. With reviews this good, one might assume they had been written by the owners--not true, as this place really lives up to its reputation. We stayed in the top-floor "penthouse," which is very roomy and includes a semi-outdoor kitchen equipped with a gas stove-top, sink, small fridge and everything you need to make breakfast and other basic meals. The unit has a king-sized bed with firm mattress; a bath with large, glass-tiled shower; separate sink and counter space; and chairs for lounging. Best of all: a good-sized terrace with table, chairs, and one of Merida's signature hammocks (big enough for two). The room also has beautiful stained-glass windows: we loved the cobalt-blue glow of light filtering into the space as dawn rose over the city.

We didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool (too cool), but it's in a lovely setting in a courtyard surrounded by terraces and potted plants. The hotel is in a great location near St. Lucia Square, and only blocks away from the main plaza, the bustling heart of this charming, friendly city. Co-owner Tom was helpful and attentive, recommending restaurants and vendors and booking us a day-trip to the ruins of Uxmal, one of several "musts" for anyone visiting here--just like Luz en Yucatan itself.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Spent nine nights at Luz en Yucatan, stayed in three of their 15 rooms and cannot say enough positive things about the hotel, the staff, the other guests, the location etc. etc.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviainMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing