We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitable, attractive, clean, reasonable...everything you could want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitable, attractive, clean, reasonable...everything you could want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We loved our three-night stay at Luz en Yucatan! The small details such as the cold beer in the fridge when you arrive and the complimentary tequila and assorted liqueurs were such a nice touch. The office staff and owner, Donard, were so friendly and helpful. They always were available for advice and conversation. Another small detail that was so typical of their hospitable and thoughtful attitude was directions out of town to a variety of destinations! The hotel was charming and comfortable...the pool was very inviting...and everything was very clean.
We loved Merida and the area around the hotel was picturesque and interesting. We went to an outdoor concert in the park on the next corner and were so impressed with the mix of locals and tourists. It seemed "authentic" and was very charming! Yes, Luz en Yucatan was a wonderful experience and we would recommend it highly to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheChanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    97
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
171
520
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Luz en Yucatan lived up to its reputation. We stayed for 3 nights with our 3 kids in what I think is their biggest room, with 2 doubles and a single bed. Having the full kitchen was great for us, so we could eat breakfast on the balcony before venturing out for the day. The pool is not huge, but is plenty big enough for parents to relax in and for the kids to have fun. The staff were all warm and welcoming, and happy to provide recommendations and information for whatever we needed. The information sheet provided listing restaurants etc. was also very useful. Hotel is a couple of blocks from the main square, but all the rooms are at the back of the building overlooking the courtyard, so very peaceful. The hotel is clean and everything seems very well-maintained – plumbing, A/C and electricity all worked perfectly throughout our stay. Secured parking just opposite, for $5/day was also very friendly and welcoming.

We hit Uxmal (kids liked it better than Chichen Itza), toured the caves at Loltun (they were spectacular, the guide less so), and had a memorably good meal at Casa de Frida (don’t miss out), but generally spent a lot of time wandering the streets and taking in the ambience of this charming, colonial city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeedhamFamily93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We traveled around the Yucatan for two weeks and were thrilled to have a recomendation for Luz by my two aunts, who stayed there this past spring. Be sure to stay at least 3 days so you can enjoy the refreshing pool, patio and sights of Merida. We had a room with two double beds plus a single bed, well equiped kitchenette, pool view patio with table, chairs and hammock. The ceiling fans and air conditioning were so refreshing as was the dip in the lovely pool.This is not a "fancy" hotel, but more like a super-comfortable home. Merida has so much going on and is a wonderful location for Mayan sites and the beach at Progresso. We found a wonderful little shop on Calle 59 x 60 called Miniaturas where I purchased hand carved and painted wooden masks and animals for good prices. The owner is a lovely woman named Alicia Rivero. Our teenagers loved Merida and Luz en Yucatan. They said it was the most unique place we visited on our trip. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeacherTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Luz en Yucatan lived up to all the hype you will read on Trip Advisor. Clean, unpretentious, trusting, and kind. Wonderful mix of the familiar and the new for our kids. A great pool and hidden nooks and crannies with tables and chairs for pastries and coffee were terrific. Free tequila in the lobby doesn't hurt either!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank General-Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

This charming hotel with its tasteful, but at the same time pleasantly simple rooms, the most surprising one I have ever encountered. The rooms were good value for the money, and the staff was so friendly, helping trusting that it almost seemed to good to be true. Freee beers on the house at arriving, very clean rooms, a nice little cooling pool in the cosy back yard with palm trees and flowers.. The excelent wriitten information we received at arriving with nearby recommended places for eating, laundry, sightseeing and getting around, with a map included, was a true winner. The location was close to the city centre. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tromsolenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

One of the most fantastic places we stayed on a four-month trip and also one of the cheapest! The Luz certainly deserves to be #1. The website is hilarious, Tom is fantastic - informative and friendly - the rooms are beautiful, as is the pool, the rest of the place is filled with lots of interesting and eccentric decorations. Free wifi and coffee, your choice of beverage when you arrive (a cold Corona after a long, dusty drive is a beautiful thing!), not to mention a little self-service bar, a great kitchen, a little library - the Luz has everything.

Merida is under-rated, we were told to only stop-over there, but found many reasons to stay. Just sitting in the main square (which is a free wifi zone!) and people watching is well worth the trip, as were the various conversations struck up with the friendly locals. If you're a vegetarian in Merida, Amaro restaurant serves some of the best veg food we have ever eaten and the waiters are incredibly lovely.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We spent 4 nights at Luz En Yucatan the end of June. What a great place!! After a long bus ride from Chiquila (Holbox) and a hot walk from the bus station, we were thrilled to find such a comfortable, cool place. And having a door leading directly to the patio and pool was an added benefit. The pool refreshed us so many times after our exploring in the city, the management was outstanding, the cleanliness extraordinary. Merida itself is a find, especially with all the weekend activities and fun places to eat. Luz en Yucatan is in a class by itself as far as comfortable, reasonable, and eclectic lodging is concerned.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#6 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing