We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz En Yucatan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luz En Yucatan
Save
You added Luz En Yucatan to your Saves list
Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
toronto canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here at the end of May this year - 3 nights in the Casita by the pool and 3 nights in a poolside room, both of which were very clean and comfortable.
Tom, the owner, was very helpful recommending places to eat and suggesting things to see, and all of the staff were extremely pleasant.
Thought the hotel was very charming, great value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again the next time we are in Merida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place is owned by an American, so it was easy to ask him and staff for advice on attractions. They were very knowledgable about the city and events and they gave us a list of places they recommended to eat. Outside, the area looks run down, but inside, the hotel is beautiful. They even give you two free beers in your fridge and a water dispenser! That's not typical and a very nice surprise :) But the best part was that we paid $55 for our room and that is UNBELIEVABLE for a beautiful and high quality hotel room.
The city itself was sort of dirty and people tried to rip us off at the souveneir shops, but the hotel was a very refreshing change from all of that. Merida can be a great city to visit, but do your research first! And as for hotels, I highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galaxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had our eye on this hotel from the moment we first began discussing a trip to Mérida and couldn’t have been happier with our choice. As the former convent to the next door Sta. Lucia church, it’s a charming, colonial-style building with a courtyard in the middle. The hotel proved to be a bit larger than we expected but is laid out in way that disguises its size and occupancy and we had all the privacy we wanted, even with a poolside room. The location midway between the zócalo and the Paseo Montejo was perfect for exploring the city on foot.

Each staff member we dealt with was friendly and helpful, especially the owner/manager Tom, who as a former tour director has a good idea of what travelers need, and was always there to offer suggestions or advice without being overbearing. The moment we set foot in our room, my wife declared it to be “the coolest room we have ever stayed in.” In keeping with the colonial style, there was even a hammock one could spread out and hang should one feel the desire for an even more authentic experience. Of course, we had to see what it looked like and tried it out.

As an example of the level of service we received, one day we mentioned to Tom that our shower seemed to be draining slowly and that as a result we were flooding our bathroom. This wasn’t a complaint on our part, just something we thought he should know. We returned later that same day to see that the drain had been worked on and a new shower head had been installed.

Luz en Yucatan is charming, beautiful and so comfortable that we immediately felt at home. Little touches like loaner umbrellas (which proved valuable) and a complimentary shot bar (where we fell in love with Xtabentún) completed the experience. In discussing the hotel with fellow guests, we all agreed they could easily double the $69/night price and nobody would blink an eye. We have found our Mérida hotel and would not even consider other accommodations on future visits.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the poolside room.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DMartin216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've stayed at Luz twice in two years, first coming all the way from London and the second time from Mexico City. Both times I've been convinced this is the best place to stay in Merida (at least for that price - there's no other hotel that comes close).

At Luz you truly feel at home, every single one of the staff is friendly, from Tom the owner right through the women who clean the rooms. Whether you need recommendations on places to eat, haciendas to visit or things to see, they will sort you right out.

The rooms are exactly what you need - comfortable & clean, but not luxurious (you won't want to spend much time in your room anyway). Most rooms have a lovely balcony or terrace with hammocks to hang out & the pool is exactly what you need in such a hot place.

The location couldn't be better. While you're a 5 min walk from the Centre & Zocalo in Merida, you're far away enough from the hustle & bustle. Across the road is the famous Sta Lucia square, where twice a week you can enjoy traditional Yucatecan dance and which now also hosts some of the nicest restaurants (seafood & Italian).

For this price, you can't ask for more!

Room Tip: Any room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marureds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed two nights here in Merida - it's a great spot with parking right in the centre of town and was really good value in comparison with similar places. The owner was lovely and had a long list of recommendations of activities and restaurants etc. for different tastes, which were really useful. Our room was very nice - one bedroom and one living area with hammock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiebrown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and and was definitely not enough!

Hotel's location is great. Can walk everywhere. Facilities are wonderful; clean, comfortable and the hospitality first class.

Strongly recommend this place if you are visiting Merida.

Owners and staff are Fantastically helpful and great hosts! Thank you for the hospitality and we will see you very soon! (Thanks for the tip on the cenote! It was awesome!)

Room Tip: My guess is that any room will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Luz en Yucatan for 10 nights on my first ever trip to Mexico, and I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel itself is beautifully restored, and feels welcoming and relaxed. The pool outside is gorgeous and an absolute necessity in the Yucatecan heat.

However, the best part of staying at Luz is Tom, the owner, who help us plan daily itineraries for our various jaunts around the Yucatan. If you have a car and are feeling adventurous, ask him for directions to his secret cenote.

I'll definitely be back to Luz, we had an amazing time.

PS. Also, I can highly recommend the breakfast joint directly across the road. Get the chilaquilles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 89 in Merida
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#27 of 89 in Merida
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Fiesta Americana Merida
#13 of 89 in Merida
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#15 of 89 in Merida
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#34 of 89 in Merida
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#6 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing