We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I found Luz On Trip Advisor and stayed last year. The rooms are incredible, the hotel is fabulous and the Pool is a well needed sanctuary. it was a great place to escape the big city surroundings of Merida, which we loved as well. It is a must, to experience this Hotel. I say try it and it won't be your last visit....Please note that-Our visit was Feb. 2012, it would not let me select this date

Room Tip: I really found to have a room around the courtyard of the pool, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewBrunswickJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
174
524
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

You could not ask for a better hotel anywhere at such a reasonable price - every detail is perfect and you feel well cared for. When you are a real traveler and in Merida, this is where you need to spend a night or a month.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry10244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ullm, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed at Luz five times now. If you want a first rate experience around a helpful staff and at a very reasonable price, this is the place. Any information you may want to learn about the area is given out freely by owners Tom and Donard. A relaxed atmosphere in the heart of centro. Merida is a good take off point for ruins, cenotes, haciendas and eco tours to see flamingos. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool or with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had a wonderful four night stay at Luz En Yucatan. I stayed in the standard room with patio on the third floor. The best aspect of this room is the patio that includes a hammock and a table with chairs. It is absolutely delightful to wile away an afternoon lying the hammock when it is breezy out. I appreciated the privacy, but also enjoyed talking to other guests in other common areas, of which there are plenty. The staff was remarkably friendly and helpful, and took care of booking my tours to Chichen Itza and Uxmal with ease upon check-in. They gave restaurant recommendations, and included a two page info sheet with a map and listing of almost everything you might need. The room was kept well cleaned by the housekeepers and included a large shower with excellent water pressure. There was an air conditioner in the room that I found very adequate and tried not to use too much--there is also a fan in the room that helps circulate the air. There are two beers in the fridge upon arrival as promised which is a very nice touch. Each room has purified water. I really have no complaints--everything was wonderful! I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights during the Merida Carnival and were not disappointed. Tom made our stay wonderful and we are coming back. The pool was warm, the beer cold and the other guests made great conversation.

Room Tip: Upstairs over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my second monthly stay at Luz En Yucatan and now that I have returned home I am missing the hotel and the staff. Last year after staying for a month at the hotel I rented a three bedroom colonial home w/pool for a month. It was lovely but it did not offer the experience of the Luz. The staff at the hotel is truly exceptional, they do every and anything to be helpful. Why, I believe it is due to the training given by the hotel owners. The guest are the most important part of their job description, they all treat you like you are a close family friend visiting their home. I love all the little extra's that the hotel provides, but their true value is priceless, becoming part of a culture unlike my own but greatly enjoyed with the help of Luz En Yucatan. The hotel has many room types, basic standard rooms that offer refrigerator, coffee pots and large bathrooms. My favorite room has French doors ( screened) and large window, both face balcony with garden. In the morning I always waken to Doves calling each other and get a wonderful morning breeze through the French doors. I have been in some of the other rooms with galley kitchens, I like to use the main kitchen on the first floor, being a food lover I can spend a whole day at the mercados and return to the Luz to prepare my finds. The hotel gives you a two page orientation sheet to help guide you through Merida, unlike many past experiences this list is really based on facts not who is your uncle or aunt. Tom, one of the owners has a wealth of travel information he is willing to share and helps travelers not only with Merida but other areas of Mexico.

Room Tip: The pool rooms seem to be favorites but I like the upstair rooms for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Luz for 3 nights last month on our trip to Merida. I found the hotel online and chose it due to low prices and great reviews. We were NOT disappointed. Tom and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, and the rooms were spacious and very nice. The first night we stayed in a regular "standard" room, which was fabulous, and we couldn't believe where we were for the price. The help-yourself-bar out in the hall was a nice touch, and my husband enjoyed having some tequila before bedtime. After the first night, we had to move to another room because they were so booked up and had new people coming, but it wasn't a problem, as their staff moved our luggage for us. The next room was a bit fancier than the first and just as nice. It had an outside kitchen, a terrace, and a hammock as well as the usual amenities. We were very pleased with everything and are planning to stay there again in a couple of weeks when we take our kids to Merida. We are very excited to be staying at this hotel again, and we have already recommended it to other people we know who may be visiting Merida. Definitely a great value, plus the location is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#20 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#7 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing