We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of trip to Merida”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Luz for Carnival in Merida, 2013. It was a fantastic experience. The owner Tom was super helpful in giving us all kinds of information for our trip. He is a fantastic host. All the staff at the Luz went above and beyond to be helpful and make our stay there really enjoyable. The location to the main square was perfect, just a short walk away. We enjoyed the Santa Lucia neigborhood alot with it's beautiful church and square. The hotel is beautifully restored with lovely vintage art deco pieces to admire. Clean, comfortable rooms with excellent hot water showers with great water pressure.

The cold beer on arrival and big water jug in the room were muchly appreciated. We had an excellent time and we can't wait to go again. The only thing we will do differently is spend more nights at the Luz as it was our favorite part of the trip! Thanks Tom!

Room Tip: Tell Tom what you are looking for in a room, (ie proximity to the pool, most private room, need a ki...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Luz En Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

we made a big mistake by not staying longer at this gem of a place.
It had all a traveller needs including fridge, coffe maker, ceiling fans,
and good beds and a great central location with a great local restaurant
a stones throw away.

Room Tip: the name of the room is osso you will not be dissapointed
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just stay here. That's all. They anticipate all your needs fridge in the room - a bottle of beer waiting. A vat of water with a tap in your room . A map and how to find all the things you might want Laundry services ATM etc. help with any problems.A friendly family atmosphere and a free drink to toddle off to bed with and a few minutes from the central plaza. it's true there's no breakfast, but you can walk a few yards, surely! If you stay in the penthouse you can cook for yourself. I had it at a special rate because it was the only room left. ( thank you, Tom) I also stayed in one of the rooms off the main hall and liked it a lot.

I

Room Tip: Penthouse is huge! Not a great view but greet accommodation. rooms off main hall are good too.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good location (less than 3 minutes from the main Plazza)
Although all the comments are fabulous on this hotel, nothing really special for such a price
No breakfast !! You need to cross the street or find a place every morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Thanks to a last-minute decision we recently spent a night in Merida, staying one night at Luz en Yucatan.

What a find! Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance; the hotel itself is a creatively remodeled colonial building which was probably part of a former convent; and the owner, Tom, is the perfect host - welcoming and knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Merida.

And the room was about $70 for the night. A steal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stay Here! Amazing place to stay in Merida. Perfect location in historic district. Reserve the penthouse room with rooftop outdoor kitchen, deck and hammock if available. Super clean and comfortable. You'll feel right at home.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a fantastic holiday in the Merida/ Western Yucatan area, and were fortunate enough to stay on 2 separate occasions at Luz. I fully agree with all of the positive comments about this Hotel. Although it seems nondescript from the road, it is a small paradise inside. Everything you may need, or information required, is provided by Tom and a superior staff, who are always available but never bothersome. This is an excellent facility, and my wife's comment about it sums it all up: when we returned for our 2nd stay (after being in Campeche for 3 days), my wife said about Luz: "It is like coming home again". We hope to return soon to the beautiful city of Merida, and Luz is where we will plan to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 excellent rooms, but preferred #7 (Standard Room) even though it didn't have a ki...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skihockeynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#17 of 106 in Merida
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 106 in Merida
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#3 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $57 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing