We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Luz!”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Casa Luz!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The four of us: parents and 2 grown (20's) children stayed over Christmas. It was lovely. We (parents) stayed on the first floor and our daughters stayed upstairs in the two double(?) or queen beds. They had the spa bath but we were very happy with our bathroom as well.
The house is very attractive with all expected amenities. The kitchen is especially well appointed, particularly for North Americans like us who like to cook in a well designed and easy to clean kitchen.
Tom and his staff are excellent--very helpful.
We parked across from the hotel in their secure lot and did day trips to Celestun (flamingos!), Uxmal and Progresso (beach.) Other days we explored Merida or rested or went to museums.

The house is close to the main square and many good restaurants. Buses are inexpensive as are cabs, and both are plentiful.

If you are planning to rent, some recommendations: 1) The second floor would be tough with young children or anyone with difficulty climbing as it accessed by a circular metal stair. The washer dryer are on that level as well. 2) The street noise can be loud so if you are very sensitive to it this house may not be for you. 3) Keep the doors closed (windows open) and you will not attract mosquitos, 4) Refrigerate anything that might attract ants. 5) The pool does not get sun and does not have a cover so it is cool--great for summer--and not safe for children.

Have a great time!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLawrencelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I loved staying here for many reasons. The location is great the property is fantastic and maybe the best part is that the management has managed to weed out all the little annoying problems with a standard hotel or even other boutiques seem to provide. There's an open bar for customers beer water and coffee in the rooms. Also alot of time putting together a list of things to do ,go eat ,or buy
From years of experience in the area.
Thanks for a superior stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daaawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Luz from the outside is very unassuming, in fact you would walk right by it and never see it.
It is just a small door along the buildings that run along a moderately busy one way road, and has a small tile arrangement beside the door stating Luz.
Once you pass through the door however - like many classic buildings in Merida, you open up into a very nice colonial foyer and entryway, and beyond that into a small courtyard.
The room price was reasonable, the rooms a decent size, clean, and with amenities that met our needs (bar fridge - even stocked, ac, tv, and wifi).
The quality of the place, its location, and the price charged are all good enough factors to recommend this hotel, but there is one significant plus I have not mentioned and that is of the owner (Tom?) - and the others there. Super friendly, laid back and very helpful. He offered up recommendations on where to eat, how to get to those places, and some insight into the options. He also aided us with information about logistics to/from Uxmal and other attractions/shopping we were interested in doing while there. They even have a little print out about some tips, a map and things to be in mind of (like the hawkers and thier claims)
I would certainly stay here again. It would be my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TantheManBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband & I vacationed here with another couple, and found Luz en Yucatan a little gem. Our hosts were gracious, and assisted us in anything we needed whether it be reservations for a tour, offering us a cocktail from their very generous cart, or sitting with us to chat. The pool area is quite relaxing and cozy, and we were able to view most of the rooms between guest check-out. There is something for everyone here from very economical to the Penthouse we stayed in with its spacious outdoor kitchen with patio for 4. The counter bar area was great for morning coffee, and checking emails, as well as watching local parades during our stay. The wifi is top rate. We'll definely return to this lovely city and another stay at The Luz.

Room Tip: There's really something for everyone from pool area to rooftop. Interior rooms have no view so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette83858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a wonderful hotelito to stay. From the moment we walked in, we felt we were at home. We loved everything about the hotel. Especially the location. So close to everything in the historical part of town and the buses and collectivos are at the corner, just a few steps away. The hotel is very safe, comfortable, and has everything we needed except bring your own hair conditioner. Tom and his staff are all so nice and very helpful in anything we needed. We like the quiet outdoor patio and refreshing pool to rest after a long day in the city. The provided drinking water in the room, mini refrigerator, and free coffee facilities in the room was a big plus also.

Room Tip: We liked the pool view room with the balcony upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the "Casa de la Luz", which is confusingly listed on the website as: "Two Bedroom Colonial Home", starting at $150 USD per day. The other rooms and units at the main hotel range from $50-94 USD a night.

"Casa de la Luz" is fabulous. It's really more like a town house than a "colonial home," but you won't care what they call it if you can call it home while you're in Mérida.

You'll feel like you have your very own pied-à-terre in the historic central district of Mérida. The courtyard pool and covered terrace is lovely, and the kitchen rocks. If you're a spoiled American, you will get way more bang for your buck, with a designer ambiance, and the space and privacy you know you want and love, especially compared to booking rooms or a suite at a corporate US brand name hotel or a luxury hotel.

I just checked the Luz En Yucatan site and they are now running a "2012 End of the World Special Package." It appears that they will takes 50% off at end of stay, but you'll have to click through to check it out.

I'd book asap. They seem to get booked up quickly and well in advance, since the hotel has a limited number of units. The main hotel's common areas also have a boutique but down to earth feel similar to the "Casa." At Beaver Creek/Vail we called it: "casual elegance."

Walk to everything in the heart of downtown Mérida from your front door. Convenience store, atm, and Santa Lucia church are right next door. There's a delicious little restaurant right across the street that prepares a yummy breakfast with fresh juices. Eat well for $2-4 USD in local restaurants like this one. Sorry, can't remember name, but the managers at Luz will know. They eat there too!

This hotel is particularly good for English speakers who don't know much Spanish, and for Americans who don't want to rough it, but also don't want to stay at the Hyatt.

Basically, the "Casa" is a 2-story, 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom townhouse-like apartment with a full modern kitchen, a balcony with Whirlpool washer and dryer, a courtyard with private pool, a covered outdoor dining terrace, and a jumbo jetted jacuzzi tub in the upper master bedroom.

The only thing I would mention by way of caution is that the access to the upper level is by visually pleasing spiral staircase that may present a challenge for some people. I'd say it's best for less mobile seniors and the jumpy little ones to stay on the first floor.

FYI - they don't take credit cards, but it's totally worth it. Call them if you need help. The time zone is like US Central Time.

I will be sending my friends and family to Luz en Yucatan when they come to visit.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter. The most basic rooms are not much less expensive than the nicer and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is close to perfect. The owner, Tom, is a diamond and after 16 years working as a tour guide he has crossed all the T's and dotted all the I's. The attention to detail is brilliant with complementary beers in the fridge, free bottled water in the rooms (Ive always struggled with that), free coffee facilities and even a free Mezcal/tequila stand in the lobby. The atmosphere is completely relaxed, staff know the area backwards and with their excellent english are only too happy to give tips on where to go. Probably the best Mayan food is about 100m from the hotel and the breakfast cafe across the road makes great coffee. A great location, a pool and secure parking seals the deal. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#3 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing