We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time and we love it even more!”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

You really can’t beat Luz en Yucatan when you’re in Merida. We were passing through for 3 nights on our way home from a trip to Peru and Chile and we originally thought that it would be nice to try a something new and find a different place to stay in Merida . Easier said then done, when we consulted Trip Advisor the other highly rated “cool” hotels either didn’t have a pool (you have to have a pool in the Yucatan in August!) or were way to expensive. I have to say I’m very glad we ended up back at Luz. This is our third stay and it felt like coming home. Tom, the owner, was helpful and friendly as always and the hotel is, if anything, even nicer. You get a great room with AC, water, (beer in the fridge!) comfy beds, big hammock and a pool all at a good price. This is now officially “our place” in Merida and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good but pool side is my favorite.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gusonthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for Luz En Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I literally signed up to TripAdvisor only to review this place. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Luz for 2 nights and had a fantastic experience. The place is really well kept, the location couldn't be better, and the price was more than ideal, especially since Tom agreed to give us an awesome deal for our stay. I absolutely recommend this hotel when you travel to Merida!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P1ch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had two families stay 6 nights in Hotel Luz en Yucatan and Casa Luz (the guest house a block away). What a great time we had staying here! Not only were the staff and owners very friendly but we met several other guests all of whom had stayed here before. They said they wouldn't stay anywhere else. We had the large suite closest to the street, which was surprisingly quiet. It had two rooms, a full size refridgerator, kitchen counter and sink, hammock and really comfy beds. The location is great, next door to Sta Lucia and only about a 5 minute walk to the main plaza. The staff gave us great directions to Uxmal and handy info for stores, banks and where to buy the best quality hammocks. The hotel was full, or nearly full the entire time we were there but it was so quiet it felt like we had the place to ourselves. We used the pool daily to cool down after sightseeing in the mornings. Lastly, I have to mention, on our last night there, the owner of the hotel contacted their former nanny for us, to watch all 4 kids while the 4 parents went out for dinner and drinks. That was a great night out. Needless to say I highly recommend this hotel, as well as the guest house.

Room Tip: Casa Luz guest house is a great bargain if you need two or more rooms or have a family.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I loved the Luz! I was just now looking over some other hotels, their locations, amenities, and prices. What a great value Luz En Yucatan is. Clean, spacious rooms. Great location. Wonderful Mexican ambiance. Clean and lovely pool and patio. Very nice host. Economical. Really, there is a reason it is consistently rated so highly. Not luxury, but really nice. I wish them continued success!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djaaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This sweet hotel is convenient to everything in the historic area. The room was not fussy, but it was nicely decorated and comfortable. The owner is a laid back guy who is really helpful in making recommendations for activities. We were at the hotel for 5 nights and felt it was just the right place to use as a home base. We felt very safe and the room had everything we needed.

Room Tip: The Shaman Room was a great value for the money.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuintanillaSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a lovely hotel! The Luz en Yucatan is right in the center of Merida in a quite street next to a church. We stayed in a pool room which was gorgeous. The room was very big, it had a fridge, a big bottle of water, coffee making maschine, air condition and a TV. We had a nice terrace just opposite the pool. The pool is not big but it looks ever so pretty. The whole hotel is very pretty and very clean. As far as we saw all the rooms look different, but we liked our pool room most. You are at the Zoncalo within a few minutes, so it is perfectly located. Upon check in you also get a map of Merida and a suggestion which restaurants are worth a visit nearby. We had free WIFI in the room and on our terrace and there was a free secured car park across the road. The staff all spoke perfectly English and everyone was very attentive and helpful. We would definatley stay at this hotel again as this was one of the best hotels on our trip through Mexico.

Room Tip: The pool room is very nice, quite and really big.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny260467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Luz en Yucatan is a unique establishment. It's much more than a hotel;it's a concept, an urban retreat. The owners are cool and personable. The place has a laid-back feel. The entire staff has bought in to the concept, providing genuine warmth and help. Each of the rooms has a special character. Luz has been designed with great care. We have stayed at Luz seven times and have never been disappointed. It is centrally located and is an oasis in downtown Merida, a city that is eminently worth visiting.

You have to reserve well in advance for major holidays.Luz is very popular, for all sorts of very good reasons!

Room Tip: Reserve the Penthouse, but reserve it early!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 106 in Merida
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 106 in Merida
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#3 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing