We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
949
113
16
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
113
16
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscold beers in the fridgecommunal kitchenpoolside roomwater dispensercomplimentary tequilacoffee makerowners and stafffew blocksthe main squarethe location is perfectfavorite hotelsanta lucia parkcharming hotellarge roomsmall poolcommon areasgreat city
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed back in the summer of 2010, and everything about our stay was AWESOME. Attractive grounds, spacious and squeaky clean rooms, stellar service and complimentary tequila when you arrive. What more can one say? Oh, it was very affordable too and in a great location. I am writing this review almost two years later without difficulty because our stay was so memorable. BOOK EARLY to get yourself a spot!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari-mariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Luz for 10 days in early June. We have two young children, ages two and five, and wanted to explore Merida at a leisurely pace (as well as Progreso and other locales within an hour or two). After long days of touring and driving it was a welcome respite to come back to such a comfortable, "homey" hotel with a lovely pool. We used it every afternoon before dinner (along with the tequila cart a few times), and can't imagine staying at a hotel that doesn't have a pool. Other guests felt the same way and said how nice it was to hang by the pool in the Merida heat. Oh, and the kitchenettes are fabulous for families! We always ate breakfast in our room and could store leftovers for later! The staff is friendly and helpful and always had sweet words for our children. And the location - fabulous! Would recommend without hesitation!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rwillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Luz from May 25th to 29th. We arrived late evening by car from Izamal where we had been touring earlier in the day after Chichen Itza and Valladolid. Our first week was spent in Playa del Carmen, so we wanted a change of pace and thought Merida would fit the bill. Our friend dropped us off out front and we rung the buzzer to be let in. The hotel is very nondescript from the outside, with a very small sign/plaque...you can very easily miss it if you didn't know it is attached to the Santa Lucia church. Inside, though, is another story...it is so beautiful and opens into a series of rooms and corridors.

Check-in was a breeze. We had booked a poolside casita, but since the hotel wasn't full we were asked if we wanted to see another room. We didn't, and were very happy with the poolside casita in the far back of the courtyard on the left just up a few stairs from the pool.

The casita is very unique and split into a few different rooms/areas. As I said, you walk up a few steps to the entrance which is the kitchenette area. Here you will find a small fridge (with two complimentary beers), water cooler, countertop with some dishes and utensils. The only thing missing is a sink. There is also a small table. My only complaint about the water cooler is that it's not cooled, so the water was luke warm. We would fill our water bottles and put them in the fridge so they were cold. To the right is the bathroom which is really funky. Very nice tile work. There is a very large walk-in shower, toilet, and beautiful sink area. Loads of room. They provide lots of towels, too.

Back through the kitchenette, to the left, you open sliding doors to the semi-covered patio. Here there is a table, two chairs and a comfy hammock. There is also an outdoor ceiling fan. The roof covering is great when it rains so you can still sit outside. Continuing left, though a glass/metal door is the small bedroom.

The bedroom is small, but cozy. There is a comfy queen bed, night stand, wooden dresser, tv, and a/c. There are two windows, one that faces toward the pool, and another round window. The room can be a little dark because the windows are shaded by palm trees, but it's not too bad.

The pool is small but very clean and refreshing. We always had it to ourselves. The staff told us we can use it any time, even late at night, as long as we didn't make too much noise! Usually hotels close their pools by 7 p.m., so this was nice. There is some seating around the pool, as well.

There is a kitchen in the main house that is available for all guests to use, though we never saw anyone actually using it. It appeared well stocked, and there was also a large dining table available. There is also a liquor cart by the office so you can have a complimentary drink if you like. The main part of the house has beautiful tile work and furniture, very well done.

All the staff we encountered from management to cleaners were very friendly and pleasant. We met Tom on our second day and he was very nice, and gave great info. We were also given an info booklet when we checked in with info about the hotel, emergency info, restaurant recommendations, places to see, etc. It also has a map of Centro Merida which was handy. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Centro - just a few blocks in either direction to one of the many parks and squares. We felt very safe walking around Merida day and night, and never had any issues...other than the heat! It was sooooo hot, with May being the hottest month of the year.

We ate at the restaurant directly across the street for a pretty good breakfast, very affordable too. We also ate at Los Trompos by the square, Hennesey's Irish Pub and a couple other places I can't remember right now. We also took a horse & carriage ride around town, as well as taking in the various evenings of entertainment in the squares.

All in all our stay in Merida, and particularly at Luz en Yucatan, was amazing and we cannot wait to come back...this time for longer! There is so much to explore here. We will definitely be staying at Luz again and cannot wait to re-book!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newfiegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Esteban in the middle of the night, since our flight was significantly delayed. He showed us to our beautiful poolside room and introduced us to the complimentary liquor supply. The rooms (we stayed in a different one upon returning from Chichen Itza a few days later) were clean and comfortable. The staff - especially Esteban and Lupita - were extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction around town and in arranging transportation to and from the bus terminal for our trip to Chichen Itza. The hotel is located in a perfect part of town - close to the main square, but on a quiet street. Next time we go to Merida, we will not waste time looking for any other hotel. This is it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Luz en Yucatan was like being in an apartment studio. Our room had it's own kitchen with fresh bottled water and all the kitchen ware we needed. Tom (the owner) supplied us with maps of the city as well as places that are a must visit when in Merida and was avaible on site every day. Every detail of the place was clean and taken care of. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool with a hammock and a table in chairs that was perfect for relaxing and having a beer with friends. The hotel was located within walking distance of all of downtown. If I ever visit Merida again, I will book at Luz en Yucatan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews