We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fatastic Place to start your Yucatan adventure”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
tucson, az
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fatastic Place to start your Yucatan adventure”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We flew into Merida late Saturday night, and we were greeted by Tom the owner, cold beer and a welcome shot of tequila...ole!

The small hotel has a perfect location, absolutely walking distance from everything you want to do in the centro. Do not miss Domingo en Merida, a fabulous celebration of food, music, dancing and handcrafts in the Plaza Principal, which is located a few short blocks from Luz.

We enjoyed the hammocks in the room (inspired and a great place to nap if you don't want to mess up the bed), and the pool was great. We really enjoyed the different mix of guests staying here, people from all over the world, which really makes a hotel a "home" when you connect with a traveling "family". We ended up joining a few other guests for excursions and meals.....it was great.

Luz is very friendly, funky, comfortable, a great place to stay. They provide a sheet of "Luz-ful suggestions" on check-in which was invaluable. They arranged side trips to Mayan ruins, suggested activities, and restaurants. It was like having your own little apartment in the city. The worst thing was having to check out, we did not want to leave. We will be back.

Room Tip: Poolside, lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juleskTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
174
524
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We staued in the 3rd floor room (not the penthouse the other one) for 4 nights and loved our stay.
The location is perfect especially for sundays when calle 60 is closed. The room great - fridge, microwave, coffee maker, filtered water, an awesome patio that was completely private with hammock, table, chairs with umbrella.
Checkin and checkout really simple and staff really friendly.
Hotel very quiet day amd night.
The only feedback I would have is that they could have more chairs by the pool ( pool awesome otherwise) and the curtains in our room did not block out any light (but it meant we we were up early enjoying the fab city).
Used the tour ageny at end of street at calle 58 - very good.
Would not want to stay anywhere else in Merida.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Arrived at Luz without a reservation and luckily I was given room #12 with view of the pool and inside court. Also had a beautiful little patio with hammock chair & small table/2 chairs. I stayed 3 nights and loved everything about it! Lupita was the wonderful lady who booked my room. Also met the owner, Tom, who was also very helpful with some Spanish language & excursion to Celestun. Both provided good tips on Merida.

Hotel is truly beautiful, small, intimate, clean and quiet. My room had a mini fridge, a very comfy bed and a beautiful bathroom with shower with excellent water pressure & hot water at any time of the day. There is a beautiful kitchen super full equipped where you can prepare small & larger meals, store some food in the fridge and help yourself to fresh morning coffee. Also there's a beautiful large dining table.

The grounds are very well kept and the pool is maintained daily.

I felt totally safe at the hotel as well as walking around Merida, day and night. I will definitely return to Luz on my next trip to Merida. Thank you to everyone at Luz for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingmercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay at Luz for a couple days in April, and I can't say enough about the hotel. We had the "penthouse" suite on the 3rd floor with an outdoor kitchen/beautiful terrace and couldn't have been happier! I did peek in a couple of other rooms, and they looked very nice as well. I think this place really bridges the gap between "cool/funky/fun" hotel and "super fancy/too expensive." What I mean is that backpackers who typically stay at hostels would love this place as a splurge, yet travellers who typically stay at really boring/sterile (but very nice) hotels like the Mariott or Hilton will still be very comfortable here, and they'll actually enjoy how interesting the place is. The owners and staff are super friendly and laid back. It's a very hands off hotel, but in a good way. And the pool area is one of my favorites in Mexico. So necessary for those hot afternoons. Anyway, your search is over--go here!

Room Tip: write them an email explaining what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clockkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Best little hotel to stay in Merida: cozy, home-feel, very friendly staff.
We had a kitchenette, a small private terrace with hamoc. There was also a small pool. Very nice stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor better than ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alsmedic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

when walking up to the hotel the outside appearance is not grand. However, one you step inside the building and grounds are beautiful. Plenty of space and seating and even a community kitchen should you decide to make a meal while your out.

My wife and I had a room overlooking the pool.The hammock chair was during our stay.

I would return to this hotel over any others in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Over look the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Luz was our favorite hotel over a two week trip throughout the Yucatan. We stayed there in the three days just before Easter, and there was so much going on in Merida, we were always tired and very happy to be returning to "our" room at the end of the day after sightseeing or just wandering around the city streets. Great location, near the zocolo and museums, easy to get around on foot. We did have a rental car, so made a few daytrips, but Merida has much to offer.

The hotel is a calm and thoughtfully set out gem ... from the cold "welcome beers" we were offered when we checked in to the information and advice given by Tom, Augustino, and Lupita whenever we had any questions regarding our plans for the day, we always felt at home.

The pool was a great place to regroup and cool off after venturing out into the heat of the day, and our room was cool and inviting. Lovely collection of art and local crafts throughout the hotel, and there is a full shared kitchen in case guests wish to eat in. We loved the local restaurants so much, we never used the kitchen other than to borrow a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine one night, but it looked very clean and well equipped.

Merida is a great city, and Luz is the perfect hotel. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trencita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#20 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#7 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing