We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Peregrino(Merida)(Great Value!)
$58
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casa Lucia(Merida)(Great Value!)
$90
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$282
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Casa del Balam(Merida)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa San Angel(Merida)(Great Value!)
$121
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveler rating
946
111
16
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
111
16
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscold beers in the fridgecommunal kitchenpoolside roomwater dispensercomplimentary tequilacoffee makerowners and staffperfect locationfew blocksthe main squarefavorite hotelsanta lucia parklarge roomcharming hotelsmall poolcommon areashome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
633 - 638 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed here last year and returned because it was so nice. The room we got this time was even better then last year. A private entrance. It had a bedroom, a balcony, a bathroom and a kitchen room. Quite large for the same price as a smaller room we had last year. I felt like they gave us this room because we were return guests. They are so nice here. Really. It is close to everything and friendly staff. They arranged for us to take a trip to Celestun and helped me get tickets to the Juanes concert. When in Merida, you will be foolish to not take here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

First trip to Merida & stayed at Luz - thanks to numerous wonderful reviews. Believe the superlatives! Our room was on the 3rd floor, a bit of a hike step wise, but once on our private terrace - it was perfect. We had total privacy sipping wine & listening to the music from nearby St. Lucia Park. The location is just fantastic. We walked everywhere. Great restaurants all around. Tom and his staff are incredibly helpful. Tom arranged to have Jose drive us to Uxmal (fantastic) and to Celestium to see the flamingos. The Luz is just a delightful place to stay with several charming rooms. We peeked at some & each one had its own unique features. The fridge & water were a great plus. There is also a communal kitchen if you want do some of your own cooking.
It is our intention to return to Merida & definitely return to the Luz.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Luz has loads of character and is very spacious with a variety of different communal spaces including a small pool and garden at the rear, an internal courtyard, a communal kitchen and dining room and internal areas to sit and relax, which are all beautifully presented. It is also well located in walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Merida.

We had the Palacio room (we were late in booking and it was the last available room). Palacio is one of the more expensive rooms which is very large with 3 beds (2 x queens and 1 single), shower room, full kitchen, and large private terrace with chairs/table and hammock overlooking the pool/garden. The beds were comfy and the shower is one of the best around!

Luz also has lots of nice touches - a couple of beer in the fridge on arrival; coffee and water in the room; complimentary tequila and other spirits outside the reception (which we didn't make the most of!); and a Luz prepared information/recommendations sheet is provided on arrival.

We had a nosey at a few other rooms too and if you don't need a full kitchen (there are communal facilities) I'd go for one of the other rooms with terrace/patio overlooking the pool (particularly the ones at pool level), which from our perspective represented the best value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

An unexpected and delightful find. The owner and staff do everything to make your stay comfortable and interesting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elgefrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

After reading all the glowing remarks about this hotel how could we not stay here.believe me ,we were not to be disappointed.wow what a place.it is in the prime location in merida.an easy walk to centro or the montejo.charming churches in the surrounding streets.we were greeted warmly on arrival and give fact sheets with to dos and restaurants suggestions.from the sweet little one across the street for breakfast to the romantic courtyard yucatan amaro,all were perfect.we were looking to rent a monthlong vacation home next year and hotel owner tom was very helpful with our contacting agents.after a busy day of sight seeing we swam in the beautiful pool and had a bottle of wine on our terrace.it does not get any better than that.thanks tom for a lovely getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggy34bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews