We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
131
27
8
3
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
27
8
3
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 180 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2009

This hacienda is the perfect place for a holiday: it lies outside Merida ( buses pass by all the time and taxi's are available to get you into town in 20 minutes). Robert and Caroline Franck are such wonderful hosts, friendly, informal and they anticipate on everything you might me needing. Caroline is also a very good cook, she mixes french, creole and mexican food into very tasty dishes. The other staff is very good, they love what they are doing and that's all centered on giving you a good time.
We were there during the Xmas-holidays for 11 days; we were there with our family of 8 persons ( 6 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 9) and we really didn't want to leave. We all travel a lot and are critical people, but our conclusion for once was unanimous: this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in!
The hacienda has 2 pools, a big garden, a spa and rooms ( all different) scattered on the premises, so you have a lot of privacy. We stayed in 2 suites, those were huge with incredible bathrooms ( never seen such big baths) and private terraces.
Everything was very clean and lovingly restored in a beautiful mixture of old and modern style. We really couldn't think of anything that needed changing, but the most wonderful thing remained the atmosphere of staying with friends.
Robert and Caroline speak fluently english, spanish and french, a bonus which helped in arranging trips to everything interesting the Yucatan has to offer.
If you want to have a holiday in which you are spoilt rotten in beautiful surroundings, go to this perfect place!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank valkjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We spent a few nights at the Hacienda Santa Cruz and could believe our luck in finding this place. This hacienda is located on a large property that has been completely renovated by the French owners. There are only 9 rooms but they have been beautifully renovated with all of the modern conveniences. The food is prepared by the owners wife and is amazing . They pair it with wines from Argentina.

We enjoyed the place so much we discussed having our daughters wedding here!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vancouvertopvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hacienda Santa Cruz is a truly special property and anyone traveling to Merida should consider staying here. The hotel has not yet made it into U.S. guide books, an omission that I hope will be corrected in forthcoming editions.

The owners, who acquired the property just seventeen months ago, left their lives in Paris to run this hotel, and their dedication and commitment are evident throughout. The rooms are apacious and the decor is stunning, with gorgeous fabrics and furnishings. The bathrooms are magnificent- large and luxurious. The public areas are beautfiful as well.

The grounds are a delight. The casitas open on to a lovely courtyard, each with its own small balcony and hammock. There are two refreshing pools and a beautiful garden enclosed by high stone walls filled with orange trees and other flora.

The food is terrific. We had splendid meals each night on the patio. The desserts, in particular, were phenomenol. The owners also provide a continental breakfast (included in the price) and fresh eggs. The bread is excellent, and on the last day included homemade cinnamon doughnuts.

The location is incredibly convenient -- near Merida, but much quieter. We visited Uxmal, which is easily accessible, as well as Celustun (to see the flamingo preserve), both of which I highly recommend. We could easily have filled several more days with other jaunts.

Hacienda Santa Cruz is also a wonderful place for families. We were there with four kids, who simply fell in love with the property, especially the wonderful dogs, Daisy and Negrita, who are such a delight!

The owners, Frank and Carolina, are so gracious and such marvelous hosts, and we very much enjoyed meeting them.

All in all, an absolutely first rate experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our one week stay at Santa Cruz was beyond perfect! The hacienda is beautiful and quiet, yet in a convenient location in regards of the airport, Merida and most touristic attractions. The place is gorgeous, the renovation is very tasteful, respecting the historical beauty of the construction while adding tasteful decor and modern conveniences (fabulous bathrooms and silent AC). The garden, full of trees and exotic birds, is a great location for a wedding or some other event, and the swimming pool is just perfect, not too hot, not too cold. Breakfast consists of delicious home baked croissants and brioche + exotic fruit juices, and the possibility of having a delicious dinner that is not traditional Mexican food is great (the kitchen at the hacienda offers French Creole food, you do not want to stuff yourself with Yucatecan delicacies all the time!) Robert and Caroline, the owners, are very friendly and helpful, we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ABNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2006

Hacienda Santa Cruz was the highlight of our Yucatan visit. The grounds were lovely, and the small pueblo just outside the gates was charming and genuine. We felt like we were in a “real” part of Mexico, not just some park designed for tourists. The owner was a lot of fun and quite a character; it’s worth picking her brain for ideas on what to do and where to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrailBlazer1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews