We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
131
27
8
3
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
27
8
3
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 180 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hacienda Santa Cruz is a truly special property and anyone traveling to Merida should consider staying here. The hotel has not yet made it into U.S. guide books, an omission that I hope will be corrected in forthcoming editions.

The owners, who acquired the property just seventeen months ago, left their lives in Paris to run this hotel, and their dedication and commitment are evident throughout. The rooms are apacious and the decor is stunning, with gorgeous fabrics and furnishings. The bathrooms are magnificent- large and luxurious. The public areas are beautfiful as well.

The grounds are a delight. The casitas open on to a lovely courtyard, each with its own small balcony and hammock. There are two refreshing pools and a beautiful garden enclosed by high stone walls filled with orange trees and other flora.

The food is terrific. We had splendid meals each night on the patio. The desserts, in particular, were phenomenol. The owners also provide a continental breakfast (included in the price) and fresh eggs. The bread is excellent, and on the last day included homemade cinnamon doughnuts.

The location is incredibly convenient -- near Merida, but much quieter. We visited Uxmal, which is easily accessible, as well as Celustun (to see the flamingo preserve), both of which I highly recommend. We could easily have filled several more days with other jaunts.

Hacienda Santa Cruz is also a wonderful place for families. We were there with four kids, who simply fell in love with the property, especially the wonderful dogs, Daisy and Negrita, who are such a delight!

The owners, Frank and Carolina, are so gracious and such marvelous hosts, and we very much enjoyed meeting them.

All in all, an absolutely first rate experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our one week stay at Santa Cruz was beyond perfect! The hacienda is beautiful and quiet, yet in a convenient location in regards of the airport, Merida and most touristic attractions. The place is gorgeous, the renovation is very tasteful, respecting the historical beauty of the construction while adding tasteful decor and modern conveniences (fabulous bathrooms and silent AC). The garden, full of trees and exotic birds, is a great location for a wedding or some other event, and the swimming pool is just perfect, not too hot, not too cold. Breakfast consists of delicious home baked croissants and brioche + exotic fruit juices, and the possibility of having a delicious dinner that is not traditional Mexican food is great (the kitchen at the hacienda offers French Creole food, you do not want to stuff yourself with Yucatecan delicacies all the time!) Robert and Caroline, the owners, are very friendly and helpful, we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ABNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2006

Hacienda Santa Cruz was the highlight of our Yucatan visit. The grounds were lovely, and the small pueblo just outside the gates was charming and genuine. We felt like we were in a “real” part of Mexico, not just some park designed for tourists. The owner was a lot of fun and quite a character; it’s worth picking her brain for ideas on what to do and where to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrailBlazer1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2005

This Hacienda is not for every traveler, but for our family it was one of the best places we have ever stayed.
- Location: the Hacienda is located about 20 minutes from the center of Merida. It is easy to find and get around. It is located in a quiet village -- we awoke each morning to roosters crowing (way too early) and hundreds of birds singing. You feel like you are off in the country, not near a major city. We felt comfortable driving at night back and forth from Merida.
- Acommodations: We stayed in the larger of the 2 casitas. It was enormous and very pretty. It easily fit our 2 boys and my wife and I. There was a patio out back as well. There were no other guests, so we felt like we had the place much to ourselves. You should be aware that you can't lock the casita up -- this didn't bother us, but might bother others. The buildings and public areas were all very beautiful and wonderfully restored. The pool was somewhat cold and deep all around. If you travel with small children, this might be an issue. The only negative I had about the setup was the lack of comfortable outdoor furniture -- by the pool and in the backyard patio -- there were only some really uncomfortable wooden chairs.
- The hosts: Fiona and Alfredo were very nice -- but gave us plenty of space -- this is not the sort of place where the innkeeper is looking to be your new best friend (mercifully). That being said -- Fiona is a really interesting person and gave us excellent insight into the local culture as well as excellent touring suggestions. Fiona also could not have been kinder to our children.
- The food: breakfasts were fine -- fresh fruit salad, strong coffee, cereal, muffins, french toast, etc. We arranged for dinners 2 nights, both very good.
- Why it won't work for everyone: this might be to quiet a place for some. It did feel a little odd to be the only guests. I think a large group traveling together might be the perfect arrangement, taking over both casitas. The location out of town might be a turnoff for others as well, although we found it quite convenient for some of the sights (Uxmal, etc.).
- Overall: the hacienda is a place of great peace and beauty. If you are after this kind of serenity in the Merida area, you could not make a better choice.

3  Thank MrK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2004

Hacienda Santa Cruz is a carefully restored 17th century hacienda, with baby ostriches (our children loved them), a pool (everyone loved it), wonderful food, and convenient location (close to central Merida and in visiting distance of major Mayan ruins. We stayed 7 nights and loved it. The owner is as helpful as you wish her to be in advising on sights and local culture, and the hacienda is an oasis of peaceful beauty.

4  Thank Daydream24882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews